We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a shame!!”

The Kings Arms Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 155 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $41
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Alex Aitken from Le Poussin, Limewood and The Jetty, is now in charge of the food and menus at The Kings Restaurant.The Restaurant serves the very best local and seasonal food – with sophisticated simplicity and a unique and charming English setting, overlooking the Kings Arms Bowling Green and historical castle ruins.The Kings Restaurant is honoured to introduce the new 'Josper Grill', a technique that imparts a distinctive charcoal flavour to all the local and handpicked ingredients placed upon its coals. The delicious menu makes use of the very best local ingredients either caught, grown or prepared close to Christchurch from the New Forest and the waters of the South Coast.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My previous experience at the Kings Arms has been so good and we have eaten there regularly BUT ....it only takes one bad experience ! We went to lunch at the Kings Arms and as we have done so many times before went for the offer of two courses for £10 including a glass of wine.
We both had a glass of white wine - which was served very warm and were given a 'cooler' replacement after a certain amount of embarrassment , The main course was only mediocre. We then decided to have a desert which was ok but tiny and cost us £6.50 extra. So the advice is ...if you go for the two course offer DON'T have a third course as an extra !
Unfortunately after many visits we will now go elsewhere - such a shame as we were good customers.

Thank CazWr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

I apolagise that your meal did not go as expected from the past experience that you have had with us. We value all our guests feedback and since your review there has been a few changes that we implemented. Consistency of cold beverages is a priority and steps have been taken to ensure that. Regarding the promotional offer of two courses and a drink for £10, we have now added that you can upgrade to a 3 course meal and a drink for £15. We do listen to our valued customers and hope that by these steps made, we hope to see you in the near future.

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
There are newer reviews for The Kings Arms Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 522 of 662 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

7 of us went for Sunday lunch (did not stay over) and were greeted and seated promptly in a dining room with somewhat odd furnishings and atmosphere. 3 courses for £15 was a fair price and the main dish - mostly roasts of lamb or pork were generally good. Starters were not very appetising and the puddings strange. Many of us had an upside down banana soufflé, served in a chunky and very unattractive kitchen glass. It tasted OK, but looked like something you might get at a seaside cafe. The service was friendly and swift. All in all we only went there on the recommendation of an out of town friend who had read a positive review! We had never been there, despite being local, as all the reports we had had, were as summed up here. There are many better places locally for a Sunday lunch and we are unlikely to return. One reasonable main dish is not enough to warrant it.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank paxpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review experience here at the Kings. I do apolagise that your meal was not up to the standard that your party was expecting but all your comments are taken on board. We aim to offer a range of local produce with your tradtional Sunday lunch dishes and hope to see you in the near future in convincing your party and yourself that your previous experience was a one off.

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We dined at the Kings 22nd Oct 2013 and enjoyed an excellent meal from the 15 mile menu, the meal was made even better by the excellent service by Pedro who made us so welcome and is a real asset to the hotel, he was out of the room when we left and even took the trouble to chase after us to say goodbye and thank us for eating there, a very enjoyable evening will definetly be going again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Antony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for writing a fantastic review regarding your experience with us here at the Kings Arms. I will pass your praise to Pedro and look forward to your return.

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

There's always an good value menu sourced from within a fifteen mile area, offered both lunch and evening time. There's also an excellent value tasting menu. The "A la Carte" is much more expensive but the food is excellent and cooked to order. Enthusiastic staff.

Thank mlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here at the Kings. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy our wide selection of menus and why not come and try our Fizz and Chips night every friday. Our Fizz and Chips nights offer a different selection of fish and chips with a glass of bubbly with every main course you pick. We get fantastic feedback regarding this special menu and hope to see you very soon to try it out.

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Had a great meal here for our wedding anniversary, the staff are very polite an friendly and the food superb, finished off our wine on a big comfy sofa after, definitely recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank louise p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

I am delighted that you chose The Kings Arms for your wedding anniversary and very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us. We look forward in seeing you in the near future.

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to The Kings Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing