We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

The Kings Arms Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 155 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $41
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Alex Aitken from Le Poussin, Limewood and The Jetty, is now in charge of the food and menus at The Kings Restaurant.The Restaurant serves the very best local and seasonal food – with sophisticated simplicity and a unique and charming English setting, overlooking the Kings Arms Bowling Green and historical castle ruins.The Kings Restaurant is honoured to introduce the new 'Josper Grill', a technique that imparts a distinctive charcoal flavour to all the local and handpicked ingredients placed upon its coals. The delicious menu makes use of the very best local ingredients either caught, grown or prepared close to Christchurch from the New Forest and the waters of the South Coast.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We visited for a special occasion as we had been encouraged by previous posts, unfortunately we were disappointed. The bar service was polite although it took longer than it should have done for the lone barman to acknowledge that we and others were waiting to be served. The restaurant has a nice atmosphere and the service was polite and attentive, we decided to choose from the a la carte menu. The starters we had were nice, but nothing extraordinary considering the price - cheese souffle and crab on toast. My partners main course was very good and served piping hot, unfortunately the mashed potato and jus on my dish was lukewarm at best, and cold by the time I was halfway through the dish. The lamb however was tender and beautifully cooked, with a lovely herb crust. I think the desserts however were the biggest disappointment of the evening. My partner chose chocolate fudge brownie with ice cream. The ice cream and brownie was very nice but the raspberry based sauce was a little tart. Now if you had been able to soak the sauce with the ice cream this would have worked well but the whole dish was served in what can only be described as a thin jam jar and you had to eat all the ice cream to get to the brownie, and then all the brownie to get to the sauce. This is a presentation mistake and should be corrected. My dessert was a lovely vanilla pannecotta which was unfortunately served with fruit mush rather than the advertised fruit salad - the mushy strawberries were a real let down on the dish. The meal for 2 came to £87, and while some elements of the food we had were lovely, some were a real disappointment and not worth the price - I was left wondering whether the usual chef had the evening off?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jayce67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the restaurant, I apologise that you did not have a postitive experience at the restaurant, I have passed on your feedback to our team so they can look into the factors needed to improve so we can continue to create a happy and memorable experience for our customers.

We hope to see you returning to the restaurant in the near future so we can show that we do aim to achieve the highest quality and service.

Kindest regards
Lukasz Dwornik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
There are newer reviews for The Kings Arms Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

576 - 580 of 662 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stay at Kings quite a lot and have never had a bad experience. Rooms are lovely but I like those on 1st floor best. Very spacious with excellent beds. Food is good and at a reasonable price, especially as everything is locally sourced. We experienced the knife skills lunch this year and it was very useful. Also did the chocolate workshop with Des who was great! But the best thing about this hotel is the staff. Nothing is too much trouble no matter if its reception, bar or restaurant. Which is why I keep going back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank george6070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, I shall pass on your praise to the rest of the team and we hope to see you back again to the Kings in near future.

Kindest Regards
Lukasz Dwornik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have visited the Kings many times; the £15 15 mile menu is unbeatable value at just a couple of quid more than a mass-produced tasteless pizza from a chain down the road you can enjoy fresh local food prepared by Alex, Ian and their team and then served by Lukas and his excellent restaurant staff.
If there is a criticism it is the lack of a little bowl of nibbles on the table in the bar to be enjoyed with a pre-meal drink.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for your review, we take every comment into consideration and shall pass your praise onto the team, in addition we excel to ensure every guest has a high quality experience and enjoyable time. We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Kings.

Kindest Regards,
Lukasz Dwornik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I went to the Kings Arms Restaurant, Christchurch, last week which was holding special events as part of the Christchurch Food Festival. The evening we went was the Supper Club where Alex Aitken showed us how to cook the different dishes on the evening's menu. The dishes chosen for us were really delicious, the cannelloni of smoked salmon and avocado salsa was simple to make yet had a wonderful taste. My husband is still talking about the slow cooked beef which, accompanied by onion jam, melted in the mouth. We were so pleased to be able to talk to Alex and tell him how much we enjoyed the evening. Thanks to the waiting staff who were really busy but got it just right. We've not attended a Supper Club before but we enjoyed ourselves so much we're looking forward to returning in the near future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joanie307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we are very please to hear you enjoyed the supper club, and hope you consider returning to our future events, we have a supper club event planned for each month until december.

We look forward to seeing you return again.

Kindest regards
Lukasz Dwornik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great food, great service, excellent value for money. Been to a few supper clubs as well as beer masterclass. Would highly recommend. Restaurant manager is always a pleasure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wyskidmoreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for writing a review regarding our restaurant, I have passed on your praise to the team and look forward to seeing you return in the near future.

Kindest regards
Lukasz Dwornik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to The Kings Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing