We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!”

The Kings Arms Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Kings Arms Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 149 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $8 - $41
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Alex Aitken from Le Poussin, Limewood and The Jetty, is now in charge of the food and menus at The Kings Restaurant.The Restaurant serves the very best local and seasonal food – with sophisticated simplicity and a unique and charming English setting, overlooking the Kings Arms Bowling Green and historical castle ruins.The Kings Restaurant is honoured to introduce the new 'Josper Grill', a technique that imparts a distinctive charcoal flavour to all the local and handpicked ingredients placed upon its coals. The delicious menu makes use of the very best local ingredients either caught, grown or prepared close to Christchurch from the New Forest and the waters of the South Coast.
Southbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We dined at the Kings Arms the day after Valentines Day, hoping the restaurant would be quieter as most places are busy and booked up on the 14th itself. The Valentine's sharing menu was still on offer, so we opted for it. The starter was a platter of charcuterie & smoked salmon with garnish & bread, a good start. This was followed by a souffle of smoked haddock and cheese-an unusual dish but very tasty. We chose the sirloin and chips for our main course. This was excellent, the steak tender and flavoursome and the chips supreme. If anything was lacklustre it was the 'trio' of puddings- a brownie [a little stodgy] jelly and ice cream [?!] and cheesecake [which was the best of the three]. We had an extremely delicious red wine [Herault] with our meal.
The service was at just the right level, unobtrusive but engaging.
There are a lot of tables and it did feel just a little cramped, with the neighbouring table very close. The decor is pleasant, a mixture of modern and antiquity.
We felt that overall the price was not too over the top for such good food and therefore good value. I would definitely go again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geriatrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. Here at the Kings, we always try to exceed expectations in terms of food and service. Feedback is very important to us, and we are delighted that you both enjoyed your meal. We look forward in seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    166
    93
    49
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Valentine's Day meal”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

It might not be unique but to have a Sharing Menu for an evening meal on Valentine's Day was a great idea and certainly helped to add romance.
Clearly it was a popular idea as the restaurant was full ... if anything rather over-full... but space was at a premium as all tables had to accommodate couples!
The restaurant is cleverly angled, well proportioned and has an interesting décor in the way of shelves of Kilner jars and bottles with varied 'foody' contents, at one end of the room ... even the breakfast ketchups were made into a creative, colourful display!
There was a choice from the A la Carte menu or the reasonably priced 'sharing' menu'; we went for the later.
The Kings Arms were very accommodating and replaced the cured meat and nibbles platter with a fish one, as I do not eat meat. It was generous and the smoked salmon, prawns and salad/crudities were very tasty. A smoked trout mousse might have made it into a really great dish; but perhaps that is a little unkind as a fish-platter wasn't originally on the menu.
The whole lobster with chips, we chose, was a nice touch, and thankfully prepared for ease of consumption. Romance might have evaporated if we had had to share a lobster-cracker!
The three-sweet shared pudding was a well thought out combination of a chocolate brownie, a passion-fruit cheesecake and a 'home-made' raspberry jelly and ice-cream which was a lovely palate refresher at the end of a very enjoyable meal.
There is a good [if a bit pricey] wine list ... however our Pay-de-Herault, Old Vine Carigan was unusual to find, not expensive and a good choice for us.
The service was good, with well-trained, friendly young staff.
This is a restaurant which prides itself on quality, locally sourced ingredients and good cooking. I am looking forward to returning very soon, with a group of friends, to try the '15 mile' menu at lunchtime.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. The team finds great reviews very rewarding to read and this gave them a much deserved confidence boost. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ringwood hampshire uk
Level Contributor
154 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“15 mile menu”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

four of us enjoyed a mid week meal here last Thursday. Beautifully decorated bar and restaurant with excellent service a very original menu. 3courses for each of us nicely proportioned and everything cooked to perfection. We will definitely visit again soon

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aliwoollacott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback towards our restaurant at the Kings, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience and quality of food. We look forward to welcoming you again to the restaurant in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“wonderful locally sourced food at a bargain price”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Have just got back from The Kings Restaurant for my birthday meal and after it being the first time we've been i have to say i was very impressed,
we booked online and when the 7 of us arrived the table was all set up waiting for us,
most of us ordered the 15 mile menu which at £15 for 3 courses is an absolute steal! i like the fact it's all locally sourced as at least you know what's on your plate!

i picked the ham hock terrine to start which was lovely with the piccalili and fresh bread accompanying it, the loin of pork for mains was melt in the mouth and a good sized portion served with a mix of parsnips, sweet potatoes, carrots and roast potatoes and a very nice oregano gravy.
The sweet was syrup sponge and custard which doesn't need any words for me as i love sponge puddings! light fluffy sponge, lovely syrupy top and lovely thick custard.

the waiters/resses were all very helpful, friendly and efficient and the service was very quick apart from desserts which took a bit longer to arrive but they had just had a big influx of people in so can forgive them for being busy with orders!

I had a fabulous birthday and will definitely be returning to the Kings just me and my husband for a romantic meal. I can recommend it 100%

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ros3y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here at the Kings Arms.
I have passed your message to the team and delighted that your experience here is a good one. We look forward in seeing you in the near future and once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
220 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Very nice evening”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We received a very warm welcome upon arriving, we opted to start our bottle in of wine in the bar prior to dining, a very friendly atmosphere. Tom, our waiter was very friendly and polite, without being servile, he was efficient, and came up with a suggestion or two. We found the food to be very good value, and the restaurant had plenty going on around us. We will return, I forgot to add the menu had a great choice, as indeed did the wine list.Thanks again to Tom, I feel you are a bonus to the restaurant .

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrandmrsDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. Here at the Kings, we always try to exceed expectations in terms of food and service. Feedback is very important to us, and we are delighted that you both enjoyed your meal. We look forward in seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms Restaurant also viewed

 
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to The Kings Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing