We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pre-Christmas meal”

The Kings Arms Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 155 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $41
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Alex Aitken from Le Poussin, Limewood and The Jetty, is now in charge of the food and menus at The Kings Restaurant.The Restaurant serves the very best local and seasonal food – with sophisticated simplicity and a unique and charming English setting, overlooking the Kings Arms Bowling Green and historical castle ruins.The Kings Restaurant is honoured to introduce the new 'Josper Grill', a technique that imparts a distinctive charcoal flavour to all the local and handpicked ingredients placed upon its coals. The delicious menu makes use of the very best local ingredients either caught, grown or prepared close to Christchurch from the New Forest and the waters of the South Coast.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great pre-Christmas meal”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Thanks to all at the Kings Arms restaurant - our pre-Christmas meal with friends was perfect - great food, well-served in a lovely setting. We all chose the "15" menu - that's a 3-course meal, with ingrediants sourced with within 15 miles, for £15 - we were pleasantly surprised it was offerred for dinner...looking forward to visiting again in 2013...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnfrisbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. The team finds great reviews very rewarding to read and this gave them a much deserved confidence boost. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    171
    95
    51
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good menu, good service, excellent atmosphere”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Since the refurbishment a few years back and the short 'Rhodes' residency - I had not heard of anyone who had dined here. Nothing - good or bad or indifferent. Our friends booked the restaurant for a pre-xmas get together.

The welcome was OK and we were directed to the bar where we had some cocktails and Ringwood Boondoggle - all good

The menu was localised and diverse - We had the nibbles selection to start which was great and a different selection. The bacon popcorn is surprisingly good !

I had the whitebait for starter which was excellent and plenty of them too.

For main course I had the pork which was great and the pannacotta for desert - light and dreamy !

The service was tailored to our table and attentive but not fussing

All in all a very good meal

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback towards our restaurant at the Kings, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience and quality of food. We look forward to welcoming you again to the restaurant in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“SUPPER CLUB FANTASTIC”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Josper Grill at the Kings in Christchurch is a great place to eat and only just off the town centre. The restaurant itself has an interesting layout with old photos and a great atmosphere. The food is reasonably priced with the kitchen coming under the guidance of local celebrity chef Alex Aitken. The 15 mile menu in particular is really good value with all of the ingredients sourced from within a 15 mile radius. Once a month this excellent hostelry features a supper club where for £25 a head you can watch a demonstration of each of three courses being prepared in front of your eyes by Alex Aitken himself and the bonus is that you even get a different wine served with each course included in the price. You must visit the cocktail bar for an amazing array of fantastic drinks, its worth just popping in here if only just for a drink before going on elsewhere. The new manager is trying really hard to make this a popular venue for locals and hotel guests alike. Try it, you wont be sorry!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here at the Kings Arms.
I have passed your message to the team and delighted that your Supper Club experience here was a good one.

Look forward in seeing you in the next one.
Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Local Hero”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Had the 15 mile menu - most ingredients are sourced from within 15 miles of the hotel and was only £15 for 3 courses. In my opinion, a bargain for what is top quality restaurant food over-seen by a chef who knows how to get a Michelin star. Had previously eaten here when it was under different restaurant names and thought was average but now would class it as excellent.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank friars17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here at the Kings Arms and giving us a great review. I shall pass your message to the team and look forward in seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Just what Christchurch needs”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have recently revisited this Restaurant for lunch with a colleague who had been asked to Judge 'The Best in Show' at the new art exhibition. We had a really great lunch with wonderful food and very attentive service. Then a few nights latter was back again for the Private Preview of the Art Exhibition and again enjoyed a wonderful evening of good food and compny. The Kings are now running a continuous Art Exhibition in The Georgian Room which gives one a good excuse to pop in on a regular basis not that one would need an excuse. The food, atmosphere and service make any visit a great pleasure. Well done the Kings Team.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cmjm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here at the Kings Arms.
I have passed your message to the team and delighted that your experience here is a good one. We look forward in seeing you in the near future.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to The Kings Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing