We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value £15 menu”

The Kings Arms Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 157 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $41
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Alex Aitken from Le Poussin, Limewood and The Jetty, is now in charge of the food and menus at The Kings Restaurant.The Restaurant serves the very best local and seasonal food – with sophisticated simplicity and a unique and charming English setting, overlooking the Kings Arms Bowling Green and historical castle ruins.The Kings Restaurant is honoured to introduce the new 'Josper Grill', a technique that imparts a distinctive charcoal flavour to all the local and handpicked ingredients placed upon its coals. The delicious menu makes use of the very best local ingredients either caught, grown or prepared close to Christchurch from the New Forest and the waters of the South Coast.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Visited this restaurant twice lately once in the evening with 5 friends and one Sunday lunchtime with 3 friends. Both times the food was really good. There is a lot of choice on the starters, mains and deserts. Alex Aitken has devised the 15 mile menu as most of the food comes from within a 15 mile radius. I think it is very good value for £15 a head. The drinks can be expensive but they will supply jugs of tap water on request.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Weekenders49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. Here at the Kings, we always try to exceed expectations in terms of food and service. Feedback is very important to us, and we are delighted that you both enjoyed your meal. We look forward in seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

617 - 621 of 666 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

We visited the Kings Arms Restaurant mid week for a birthday celebration lunch The food was excellent, the staff were extremely welcoming, attentive and helpful, we were so impressed with the menu and the delicious food that we have already booked for a return visit this month! An excellent venue for any occasion - thank you everyone ! Ignore the moaners this is a great place to dine I have 18 years in hospitality so think I know a great deal when I see one

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank will f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. The 15mile menu has been a big hit since it first started here and now, we constantly update the menu to offer a variety of local produce to our regular guests. Hope to see you in the near future.

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and enjoyed a couple of days in Christchurch and were not disappointed by this place! Excellent Sunday lunch, attentive staff and a pleasant dining environment! Not many places you can really enjoy a well cooked 3 course luncheon with a bottle of wine plus tip for £70 that's for sure...we also enjoyed a spectacular meal at the Jetty, the following night...will be reviewing that separately of course! Can't wait to return!

1  Thank Biggles0376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. Here at the Kings, we always try to exceed expectations in terms of food and service. Feedback is very important to us, and we are delighted that you both enjoyed your meal. We look forward in seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I visited The Kings Arms Restaurant in Christchurch on Wednesday evening and once again had a very enjoyable time. There was an extensive menu and the food we chose was delicious, the service was prompt and friendly, the wine good, in fact we couldn't fault it in any way. We eat out regularly and this has to be one of our favourite restaurants - well worth a visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joanie307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback towards our restaurant at the Kings, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience and quality of food. We look forward to welcoming you again to the restaurant in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Having had a few family Sunday lunches here we are always delighted with the quality of the food. However, we are disappointed to see the recent introduction of supplements on certain dishes. Why, for instance, would a supplement of £2.50 be applied to Buck Rarebit (cheese on toast with an egg, as far as I know) whereas I would imagine Gravadlax or Pork Terrine more expensive to produce and yet they carried no supplement?

On our first visit there were no such additional costs and cheese and biscuits were offered as an alternative to dessert; now it carries a £4.95 supplement for a fairly meagre portion which seems to negate the £15 value menu.

The lunch is delicious and good value, but it would be better, in our opinion, to keep all dishes within the advertised £15.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank spanishflea77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for sending us valuable feedback via TA. I am So glad you enjoy Kings and your comments are noted we, under demand of many regular guests added more dishes to the menu with some more expensive items due to the fact that the A la Carte menu is not available Sunday lunch. I do agree that the bucks rarebit should not of been supplemented. Previously we offered cheese on toast as an alternative to dessert not cheese and biscuits due to the high cost of local artisan cheeses.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to The Kings Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing