We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice coffee and cake stop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheese & Alfies

Cheese & Alfies
Reserve with OpenTable
Cheese & Alfies is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 148 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice coffee and cake stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for coffee and cake this afternoon. All the food coming out of the kitchen and cakes on display looked lovely. Would return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Learmonthwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    131
    50
    21
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely find...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Went here on a Friday evening based on previous reviews and we were not disappointed. Informal cafe feel with great food and wine and not over busy so service was good. We enjoyed all different starters and then sampled the burgers - pulled pork, cajun chicken and beef. Enjoyed by all and very filling. Enjoyed a couple of bottles of wine and admired all of the fresh cakes and cookies on display! Would recommend this place for day or evening - only thing missing from the menu was mac n cheese! Overall very nice meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alisqr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A nice but average visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

A spontaneous visit was made to this restaurant today. We were greeted by a nice member of staff who checked upstairs if there was a table for us on this busy Saturday lunch time. Lucky for us there was. Not a tremendous amount to choose from on the lunch time menu but we hoped that quality over ruled quantity. First we had the Big Dipper to share, the dips, and bread were very nice, a little disappointed with the bread sticks as they tasted stale rather than crispy and for £9.50, a bit shocking. The main course made up for it and we all enjoyed them, I would recommend the Pulled Pork, spot on and the fries were nice too.

Overall a nice meal although the waitress was not over enthusiastic, maybe it was the end of a busy lunch for her. The food is fresh made and it was nice to get a frosted glass with my bear!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

on a weekend down in the new forest we found this great little gem. really relaxed atmosphere, great service and lovely food. the risotto starters were great and burgers as well as pulled pork sandwich cooked to perfection. the only downside was we were to full to have a pud! be aware they cook the food fresh so if it's busy you may have to wait, but it's all part of the experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

on a weekend down in the new forest we found this great little gem. really relaxed atmosphere, great service and lovely food. the risotto starters were great and burgers as well as pulled pork sandwich cooked to perfection. the only downside was we were to full to have a pud! be aware they cook the food fresh so if it's busy you may have to wait, but it's all part of the experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheese & Alfies also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to Cheese & Alfies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing