We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Sunday Lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #32 of 149 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant/Pub
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stunning Sunday Lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We returned to The Ship with high expectations and were not disappointed! Sundays can be a little hit or miss in restaurant land but, The Ship maintained standards. Friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere and stunning food once again! The roast was a little pricey perhaps but, still represented value for money and the reduced menu was well thought out and had something to please everybody. We shared a salmon plate to start, the highlights being a delightful smoked salmon and beetroot pate and the sharp sweetness of pickled fennel against a piece of lightly poached fresh salmon. We both then had roasts. The beef was lovely, tender and pink. The roast potatoes had been cut in to little barrels and were perfectly crisp, the Yorkshire puddings were tasty and well cooked and the gravy was meaty, dark and not too salty like some. We then shared a desert where we made our only complaint. There wasn't enough of the delicious coffee parfait to go round!!! We should have ordered 2! Another great day out. The Ship, thank you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pambcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    92
    34
    18
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The food is good, the decor is smart, I would go again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I have not been here in a few years and was surprised in the refit the place has had, it's been done well, looks smart and tasteful.
The staff were very pleasant and took our order very quickly and kept coming back to make sure we were ok.
The menus is quite extensive with some typical gastro pub favourites, and a few new things. The specials board was also very good with what looked like some seasonal specialities. I had the fish and chips, the batter was a bit heavy for me but the fish was enormous. Overall the meal was good and great value at £11.95. I went with family and they had the duck and the plaice fillets both were really well presented and the plaice was off the bone which was very nice to see.
I would go again as it was good food, well priced and a nice place to relax.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBegley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent!!! A refreshing restaurant experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Driving through Christchurch and finding ourselves hungry, we decided to stop for an impromptue dinner. We went to The Ship and having not been for a couple of years, we were expecting a reasonable hight street pub meal but nothing particularly memorable. We were wrong and pleasantly surprised.

The atmosphere on the night we visited was lovely. Relaxed, friendly and very comfortable. The service we received was the same. The drinks selection was good although, appeared a little lacking for the beer drinkers out there..?...and the prices were very reasonable for the area-Especially the food where every dish was priced under £15.00?!

...under £15.00 for food which turned out to be spectacular!

We both had scallops for a starter which came with braised lentils, bacon and an anchovy dressing. The balance of flavours was just right and the scallops were obviously cooked by somebody who knew what they were doing with good quality seafood.

We then had a pan-roasted duck duck dish with figs and a balsamic dressing and oven baked hake which was flavoured expertly with lemon and bay. Flavoured, not overpowered! Both dishes were again cooked with obvious skill and were a delight.

We finished our meal sharing a stunning chocolate dessert which consisted of a marquis, a chocolate pot and a couple of homemade biscuits. A definite hint of alcohol!, what a treat.

Finisihing with coffees, our impromptue bite to eat had felt more like a well planned celebratory dinner!! Thank you The Ship, we will be back time after time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FilNil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Piano Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

And the piano's back!!!! Don't know where it went for a bit, restoration or something, but it wasn't the same without it. Had a yummy bowl of sweet onion and thyme soup sandwiched between two glasses of champagne for a tenner. My kinda lunch!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maisie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great staff & good wine choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Friendly , & good to have a separate seating area for food
Love to come here in a larger family group

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing