We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Christchurch
Post
Inbox
Search

“Christmas Party then a sting in the tail”

Captain's Club Hotel & Spa
Ranked #25 of 175 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Club restaurant is open for all day dining and offers a single menu encompassing a range of exciting dishes all to two AA rosette standard. A team of twelve chefs look after your every need and we cater for vegetarians and vegans too. We offer a shipmates junior menu for our younger guests. Beautiful views of the river and alfresco dining on the terrace during the summer months. Breakfast served from 7.30am, last orders for dinner are taken at 9.30pm. The on-site parking is free to all residents (cars must be registered at reception on arrival) and paid parking for all other patrons using the bar and restaurant.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had our second work Christmas party in succession at this hotel. When we booked the meal there was no mention that there was no free parking at the hotel, even though the previous year there was. Upon arrival at reception, greeted with a cocktail, again no mention of parking charges for 'non guests'. Please be aware that even though you are a guest and paying a lot of money for dinner and drinks, you are not classed as a 'guest' of the hotel. The night/disco overran and there was a queue for toilet, I was picked up by my partner. Lo and behold a week later, a penalty charge of £100 was sent for not paying for parking!! We overstayed (by waiting in the car) by 4 minutes apparently. The hotel has totally wash their hands of this and won't even entertain an appeal directly, you have the go through a third party parking company, who really don't care as they get their money but at the detriment of the hotels reputation. The hotel are of the opinion that they have done everything for their patrons. BEWARE

    • Value
    • Service
Thank JoanneM934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyLloyd, Other at Captain's Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that your partner received a fine while he was waiting in the car park for you finish your party night. The car park has been pay and display since the summer because as the last free car park in Christchurch, it had become so abused that patrons could not even park on party nights last year! There are 10 signs in the car park and as well in the function and main reception area detailing that charges are in operation. All our residents are offered complimentary parking and many of our other patrons are genuinely pleased that we have introduced charges as at least now they can park close by. There is a grace period of 30 minutes after which a ticket must be purchased so your partner must have been waiting 34 minutes in total. All the disco's finished by a few minutes past midnight and only then because on a few party nights, people were having such a great time that they asked for one last song, otherwise he finished bang on. The toilets are available all night for use so it seems a real shame that we are blamed when it seems your partner was left waiting. We do hope to welcome you back to the Captain's Club in the near future and in the meantime wish you a wonderful 2020. Kindest regards...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 787 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2020

As we were staying at the hotel for a couple of days just before Christmas we had dinner in the restaurant both evenings.
The first night we had the a la carte menu - really could not fault all three courses.
The second night (celebrating a 60th Birthday) we decided to try the festive set menu - it was absolutely superb. To finish a lovely understated extra dessert for the Birthday boy. Great food and great service.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 007jands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyLloyd, Other at Captain's Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

A very Happy New Year to you and thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you had such a fabulous time with us and belated Happy Birthday greetings from all the crew at the Captain's Club Hotel. We hope to see you again very soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

I've been to this hotel a number of times, had my hen do here a few years ago now and loved it! Have returned many times since to meet friends for coffee and have been involved in their Xmas shopping evening too which is great. However, since the parking is now chargeable I won't be returning unless I can do so on foot. Whilst I understand the need to discourage people from abusing the parking I really think if you are spending money in the hotel then your parking should be free. There is another problem with the payment service too in that you can pay over the phone but because the reception in that area is very sketchy it doesn't register your payment. You can work out what happened but despite appealing I'm still £60 lighter for the privilege of a coffee (lovely as it was!) as my phone didn't have enough reception to let the payment go through. Be warned!! Take change with you.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank annewithane428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyLloyd, Managing Director at Captain's Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Thank you for your review Anne and I was delighted to read that you love coming to see us here at the Captain's Club Hotel. Very sadly, there was no way to manage the car park being abused even for patrons of the Hotel as some would come for a drink or a coffee and then leave their cars for hours while they went shopping or to events on the Quomps or sometimes (even weekends on Mudeford Spit!) I am sorry however that you received a fine and unfortunately we do not issue the fines so are unable to revoke them. Parking at Mayor's Mead or Willow Way car parks which are both 150m from the Hotel are £1 for two hours so very reasonable if you don't wish to pay the £2 with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Captain's Club Hotel again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020 via mobile

Too many mistakes by the waiting staff and the most uncomfortable restaurant chairs! But nice location and decent coffee.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Nortico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyLloyd, Managing Director at Captain's Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Thank you very much for your review after your recent visit to us and please accept my sincere apologies if your meal was in any way marred by errors from our floor crew. Our aim is for every guest to leave us happy and if this has not been your experience, I trust that you spoke to one of our managers who would have done their utmost to put things right for you. We have three different types of restaurant chair to ensure that all our guests can experience comfort when they dine so please ask for a different one next time if you would prefer? We very look forward to welcoming you back to the Captain's Club Hotel in the near future and wish you a wonderful 2020 until then... Kindest regards...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020 via mobile

Light lunch , friendly service and nice atmosphere.
Really enjoyable time.
Will be returning,next time for an evening meal

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 909grahamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyLloyd, Managing Director at Captain's Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Thank you so much for your kind review Graham and a very Happy New Year to you. We look forward to welcoming you back for dinner at the Captain's Club Hotel very soon. Have a wonderful 2020 until then...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Club Hotel & Spa also viewed

 
Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to Captain's Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing