We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb setting”

Captain's Club Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 155 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Club restaurant is open for all day dining and offers a single menu encompassing a range of exciting dishes all to two AA rosette standard. A team of twelve chefs look after your every need and we cater for vegetarians and vegans too. We offer a shipmates junior menu for our younger guests. Beautiful views of the river and alfresco dining on the terrace during the summer months. Breakfast served from 7.30am, last orders for dinner are taken at 9.30pm.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Superb setting”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

A great place to spend a sunny Saturday afternoon, excellently situated next to the river, so you can watch the people messing about on the river. Loads of tables in the fresh air, we sat on an inside table but with floor to ceiling windows we kept the chill away but kept the view, excellent food, 6 care vetted with superb dipping sauce with hand cut chips, washed down with Rekoderlig strawberry & lime cider, will certainly be back, the restaurant looks great for dinner too. Lots of choice on the menu & some menus of the day, try it, location, location, location, just about sums it up.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank therealcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    192
    88
    41
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Lovely view and tasty food”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We booked a 2pm lunch and were surprised at how many people were still there - many didn't finish lunch until 3.30 so the place has a real buzz.

I tried the Tuesday ham special which was rather good.

The views are delightful too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanandGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“lovely location”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

What a great afternoon, a warm Sunday afternoon on the edge of the River. Very busty, but staff told us exactly what delay to expect, but seated and served us before the designated time. Food was very good, bit pricey for what it was, reasonable selection of draught beers and lager. Pressecco at £7 a glass. Booked a table for May bank-Holiday.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NickWyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Vic. Australia
Level 6 Contributor
489 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Should be, could be so much better”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We checked in with the front desk and told we could sit where we pleased. Then we were given drinks menus and then we were forgotten for almost quarter of an hour.

There were plenty of staff, and they were all very pleasant, but somehow it seemed less than organised.

The food we are was average. The wines were nice enough.

This is a great looking place in an equally great location, yet it seems to misfire unfortunately.

The proprietors, in the past, have seemed to know what they are doing. Right now I am wondering what has happened with this place.

On another day, I expect that I might be raving about this place as it seems to have much to offer. On this visit it did not make the grade sadly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blossom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible service, average food”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We booked the Captains Club for my Aunt's 60th birthday (this special occasion should have been obvious to the staff as we had a 60th birthday helium balloon on the table).

The day started off outside as it was sunny and the waiter took our drinks order which then proceeded to take more than half an hour to arrive. We had to ask twice where the drinks were and when they did finally arrive, the waiter had not brought any glasses for the sparkling water ( we had requested 3 when ordering - so three of us sat there without a drink) and had to wait another 5-10 minutes for these to arrive. Straight away you got a sense of how amateur the staff is and worse was to come. The waiter then took our food order and had to re-check it about three times and the whole thing took ages. In fact everything about the experience was lethargic and lacking in energy.

We headed inside to our table as our starters were ready, all of which were very nice, but empty plates sat there for more than half an hour after everyone had finished. We wanted to order wine and getting the wine list was tricky too. The 'sommelier' came over and asked us 'what wine would you like?' Kind of tricky to order wine without the wine list..... In most restaurants I go to the wine list is the first thing you are given. I know it was busier than usual as the sun was out but the waiting staff (of which there were many) floated around in no rush whatsoever. Eventually our plates were cleared and the long wait for the main meal began. The chicken and the salmon were fine but the roast beef was inedible. The horseradish sauce was brought out and spilled on someone's dress then it was taken away again. We had to ask two separate waitresses to bring it back for the others, that also seemed to take ages. Two people in our party could not even cut through the beef with a knife let alone chew it so most most of it was left on the plate. We made a complaint to the waitress but she didn't bother passing the comments on to her manager.

We then waited another half hour with dirty plates in front of us and by this point we all just wanted to leave. Not once did the staff ask how we were all getting on and if the birthday girl was having a nice day. It was as if we weren't there. After our plates were cleared no one came to take our pudding order.... I had to catch the attention of who I believe was the restaurant manager and make it very clear that we wanted to order right now. Then came another epic wait - the longest yet. We waited and waited and waited. The manager just kept walking past not once asking us if everything was alright when it clearly was not. It didn't seem to occur to him that we had been waiting a very long time for our puddings. Eventually someone on our table asked him and it transpired that he himself forgot to give the order to the chef. We finally got our desserts but the atmosphere was starting to get strained. None of us wanted to get too annoyed this was my Aunt's birthday meal and we did not want to ruin her day.

When the bill arrived we did complain and they removed the roast beef and the desserts (we shouldn't have had to ask to be honest) but really they spoilt the day by their incompetence. The manager was apologetic at this point but really it was too little too late. It was the most long, drawn out lunch experience I have ever had. The staff are so green, disorganised and amateur and that really lets the Captains Club down as the food, on the whole, was OK.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Veeveebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Club Hotel & Spa also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to Captain's Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing