We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Engaland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have just returned from our 3rd visit to this hotel. We normally have a king room but this time we had a queen room. This was still a very nice room just a little smaller and the bed was a little softer. Would probably go back to the king room next time just for a firmer bed. Only a couple of niggles , I had to wash up the cups and get the teapot changed in our room as they were dirty. Unfortunately we had a couple of niggles in the restaurant, on our second night it was their josper grill night and my husband being a head chef himself said we should order steak as they were meant to be so much nicer cooked this way. Unfortunately this wasn't the case. We had to send them back on two occasions as they had over cooked them. This was the only downside to our stay. But I have to say the staff are extremely friendly and very helpful . Especially Carlos the restaurant manager who dealt with our problem very well. Very professional and very helpful and friendly. We will look forward to seeing him again when we return later in the year.

Room Tip: If you like a firmer bed king room 106 is probably better. Courtyard rooms are quieter , road side c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam-Aaron-Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your comment about your recent stay at The Kings Hotel in christchurch.

I am sorry to hear that you experienced a couple of issues whilst staying with us, we will ensure this does not happen again.

However, i am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were of help to you.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    205
    61
    22
    5
See reviews for
110
413
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a great little find. Offering a great deal on rooms with a excellent breakfast in the morning.
The restaurant is really nice. Not cosy but it is fine. The food certainly makes up for it. Lovely
fresh fish and nothing is too much trouble for these people. A very very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: The loft rooms are good. Try to avoid the front of the hotel as it is on a busy street especially i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the food in our restaurant.

We hope to be seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stay here for two nights, and had our wedding here.. It's a great hotel, serving great food.. our wedding was great Karen and her team pulled out all the stops to give us the wedding we wanted.... Our room was luxurious, great views over looking the bowling green, lots space in our room and the bathroom was amazing... We would definitely stay at the Kings again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment.

Congratulations on your wedding!

I will pass on your praise to Karen and her team and i am glad to hear that you thuroughly enjoyed your special day with us.

We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards

Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed at this very comfortable hotel for one night. The staff were very obliging, the room was compact but very nicely appointed with a luxurious bathroom. "Gin o'clock" between 5 and 7pm was great with well prepared and interesting cocktails for £5 served by a very friendly and efficient barman. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel as we were attending a party elsewhere but the menu looked to be interesting and reasonably priced. Two very minor negatives- our room had a (locked ) interconnecting door through which it was possible to overhear clearly the conversaion of the occupants of the other room and which programme they were viewing on tv. We felt we had to talk very quietly when we returned to our room at night for fear of disturbing them. Secondly, our party was last down for breakfast though it was only 9am and although the waiter was attentive, he seemed anxious to get the tables prepared for lunch later in the day. Our cooked breakfasts were a little on the cold side. Despite this, I would definitely stay here again and would like to try the restaurant.

Room Tip: No external noise could be heard from the room at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your comment on your stay at The Kings Hotel.

I am glad to hear that you found your stay comfortable and that you were able to expereience our fantastic 'Gin o Clock' menu.

I apologise for any few problems that were experienced during your stay.

We hope to see you again for 'Gin o Clock'!
Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here now on various occasions & have never been disappointed. We always go to the bar first which is always very warm &inviting. The staff have always been polite & knowledgeable of the menu. I had the shin of beef & the bread & butter pudding which was amazing. Brilliant value for money, and always a relaxing night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment.

I am glad that you have enjoyed your visits to the kings on more than one occasion.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at the Kings Arms hotel for 3 nights. We had a loft room which was stylish with a very comfortable bed. We had a large walk in shower room almost as big as the bedroom. From the moment we walked through the door of the hotel on our first night until we day we left the staff were both friendly and efficient and we were made to feel very welcome. We ate in the restaurant on one evening and the food was delicious and the waiting staff very efficient. We stayed at the Kings Arms hotel a few years and thought it was very good then but it was evn better this time. Definately the best hotel we have stayed in in this country.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmother1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your double loft room.

I will pass your praise on to the staff of the hotel.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Having read an excellent review in the Compass Magazine we decided to try The Kings Arms for lunch on a Saturday. There were three of us and we all chose to eat from the £15 menu. The starter was pretty ordinary (kipper pate on rather tough toasted bread), my main course was lambs liver and it was virtually raw, bloody and spongy - I could not eat any of it. I was offered a replacement main meal but declined and just had the dessert. We had also ordered a side dish of bread but were told it had not arrived (?) Strange!
We did not have to pay for my meal which was something I suppose, although I would have preferred to have a nice lunch with no problems.
This was our first visit to the Kings Arms and although this was a disappointing visit we could see that the atmosphere of the restaurant was good and hopefully the food will improve!
Maybe in the Summer we will call in again. At the moment however I am not sure that we would recommend it to our friends although I would very much like to have done. What a shame....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandi S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments with regard to your recent visit to our restaurant. We strive to ensure that each and every guest enjoys their time spent at our hotel and restaurant, however on this occasion we clearly fell short of the mark. I will ensure that your observations are passed on the the relavant team members for action and hope that you will see fit to try us on another occasion. If you do so, please contact me direclty and I will do my utmost to ensure that your visit is a pleasant one. -JD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.3 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients and is proud to have been awarded Michelin Bib Gourmand status for three consecutive years. The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty, historical town discoveries and stunning scenery, all with a comfortable place to relax after a day's adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Christchurch
The Kings Arms Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing