We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply fab”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stay here for two nights, and had our wedding here.. It's a great hotel, serving great food.. our wedding was great Karen and her team pulled out all the stops to give us the wedding we wanted.... Our room was luxurious, great views over looking the bowling green, lots space in our room and the bathroom was amazing... We would definitely stay at the Kings again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your comment.

Congratulations on your wedding!

I will pass on your praise to Karen and her team and i am glad to hear that you thuroughly enjoyed your special day with us.

We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards

Lukasz Dwornik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
There are newer reviews for The Kings Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 756 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed at this very comfortable hotel for one night. The staff were very obliging, the room was compact but very nicely appointed with a luxurious bathroom. "Gin o'clock" between 5 and 7pm was great with well prepared and interesting cocktails for £5 served by a very friendly and efficient barman. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel as we were attending a party elsewhere but the menu looked to be interesting and reasonably priced. Two very minor negatives- our room had a (locked ) interconnecting door through which it was possible to overhear clearly the conversaion of the occupants of the other room and which programme they were viewing on tv. We felt we had to talk very quietly when we returned to our room at night for fear of disturbing them. Secondly, our party was last down for breakfast though it was only 9am and although the waiter was attentive, he seemed anxious to get the tables prepared for lunch later in the day. Our cooked breakfasts were a little on the cold side. Despite this, I would definitely stay here again and would like to try the restaurant.

Room Tip: No external noise could be heard from the room at the rear of the hotel
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your comment on your stay at The Kings Hotel.

I am glad to hear that you found your stay comfortable and that you were able to expereience our fantastic 'Gin o Clock' menu.

I apologise for any few problems that were experienced during your stay.

We hope to see you again for 'Gin o Clock'!
Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here now on various occasions & have never been disappointed. We always go to the bar first which is always very warm &inviting. The staff have always been polite & knowledgeable of the menu. I had the shin of beef & the bread & butter pudding which was amazing. Brilliant value for money, and always a relaxing night.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your comment.

I am glad that you have enjoyed your visits to the kings on more than one occasion.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

Lukasz Dwornik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at the Kings Arms hotel for 3 nights. We had a loft room which was stylish with a very comfortable bed. We had a large walk in shower room almost as big as the bedroom. From the moment we walked through the door of the hotel on our first night until we day we left the staff were both friendly and efficient and we were made to feel very welcome. We ate in the restaurant on one evening and the food was delicious and the waiting staff very efficient. We stayed at the Kings Arms hotel a few years and thought it was very good then but it was evn better this time. Definately the best hotel we have stayed in in this country.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandmother1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thank you for your kind words.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your double loft room.

I will pass your praise on to the staff of the hotel.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards
Lukasz Dwornik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Having read an excellent review in the Compass Magazine we decided to try The Kings Arms for lunch on a Saturday. There were three of us and we all chose to eat from the £15 menu. The starter was pretty ordinary (kipper pate on rather tough toasted bread), my main course was lambs liver and it was virtually raw, bloody and spongy - I could not eat any of it. I was offered a replacement main meal but declined and just had the dessert. We had also ordered a side dish of bread but were told it had not arrived (?) Strange!
We did not have to pay for my meal which was something I suppose, although I would have preferred to have a nice lunch with no problems.
This was our first visit to the Kings Arms and although this was a disappointing visit we could see that the atmosphere of the restaurant was good and hopefully the food will improve!
Maybe in the Summer we will call in again. At the moment however I am not sure that we would recommend it to our friends although I would very much like to have done. What a shame....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Mandi S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for your comments with regard to your recent visit to our restaurant. We strive to ensure that each and every guest enjoys their time spent at our hotel and restaurant, however on this occasion we clearly fell short of the mark. I will ensure that your observations are passed on the the relavant team members for action and hope that you will see fit to try us on another occasion. If you do so, please contact me direclty and I will do my utmost to ensure that your visit is a pleasant one. -JD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Every Bride's Father hopes that for his daughter her wedding day will be memorable. There are a number of components that go to make this up but the Wedding Reception venue is possibly the most important. This is where the day is won or lost. We chose the Kings for a number of reasons; Location, Perceived quality and it seemed the perfect fit for our smallish event of 40. We were not disappointed and can honestly say that our expectations were met then exceeded. The event coordinator Karen was efficiency itself, the room looked beautiful complimented by the hotels quality china, glassware and cutlery and most importantly the food was delicious. Service was paced- well not too quick not too slow and attentive. I am a hotelier based overseas and therefore I am critical but I rate the Kings - Five Star based on our experience.
Thank you to Karen and all her team and CHEF!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShambhalaSaintlucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about your recent visit to our property. As you are a collegue within the industry (whereby we can be sometimes our own worst critics) your comments are very welcome indeed. I will ensure that they are passed along to the entire team, and thank you once again.-JD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the kings one week ago. We was allocated a Queens room which overlooked the back carpark at the back . The room was amazing with the most fantastic pillows I have ever slept on. The bathroom was near enough half the size of the bedroom and the bath was so deep and luxurious.Our evening meal was off the 15 mile menu and included in the deal as well as a bottle of wine.How they could do 3 courses for this is amazing.After a very comfortable nights rest we then enjoyed a full english breakfast before checking out. Many thanks to all the staff and especially the chef. We will definetly be returning even if its just to try out the sunday roast.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are away from the busy main road
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your revuiew on your recent stay with us. I will ensure that your positive comments are passed on to the entire team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms in the future-JD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.3 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
733 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#8 of 11 in Christchurch
376 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
395 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $122 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients and is proud to have been awarded Michelin Bib Gourmand status for three consecutive years. The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty, historical town discoveries and stunning scenery, all with a comfortable place to relax after a day's adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Christchurch
The Kings Arms Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing