We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two day stay”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Two day stay”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Bye gone splendour with a modern outlook. The staff were all on board. They strived to ensure that guests were served and happy. Rooms were well-appointed and scrupulously clean. Restaurant food was good value, beautifully presented and tasty. Restaurant atmosphere was buoyant yet cosy. Would definitely return! Loved it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank japonica60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent positive review. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to our team-JD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    212
    65
    22
    5
See reviews for
113
430
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here for a 3 day break which included an evening meal from the 15 mile menu. I saw nothing on that menu that I would want to eat, so we upgraded to the a la carte menu. The prices were very high and the menu was very limited. The vegetables were extras. This is something that always annoys me. A balanced meal includes vegetables so why should we have to pay extra? My husband's starter was whitebait which unfortunately was served in an enamel mug! He wanted to eat it not drink it! Similarly his steak dinner came with a mug of chips and the steak was served on a chunk of wood. The peppercorn sauce came in a jug, but as the steak was not on a plate how was he supposed to pour it over the steak without it all landing on the table? The vegetables were very overcooked. My new potatoes were soft enough to mash. Not only were they overcooked but they were half cold. My husband asked for a plate to put his meal on and one duly arrived but after he had put his food on it he discovered thatthe plate was cold.

The 15 mile menu is the most unimaginative I have ever seen. Who wants to eat ham, egg and chips for their evening meal? The specials board was equally unimaginative, being mostly different steak dinners. For what they have on offer we found the prices astronomical. The wine list was very pricey. There appeared to be no house wine.

This restaurant boasts that it has a Michelin star chef to oversee it. As far as we are concerned this is a case of the emperor's new clothes. Good food impresses us not accolades.

Our breakfasts were good and the service was good, but we were told that we had to make our own toast. The hotel obviously thinks that for breakfast it wants to be a Holiday Inn. Not impressed.

Room Tip: We had a queen room and it was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenCNewtonAbbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit to the Kings Arms Restaurant and felt compelled to write this in your review of our property. We strive to deal with any and all guests observations, whether bad or good, as quickly as possible, and generally before our guest departs the property; in that manner we can take on board comments and either provide a corrective action immediatly or learn from our mistakes. I am sorry we did not have the opportunity to do this in your case. That said, we have had an overwelmingly positive response from our menus and presentation of our food from the vast majority of our guests and I am sorry that we cannot include you in that number. Your comments have been noted and discussed with our team and we thank you nonetheless for your opinion.-JD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stopped at Kings Arms for lunch. excellent value and quality. Would recommend to any one in Christchurch and all for £10 per person (two courses) excluding drinks.. There was a good choice of starters mains and dessert. Just of the main high street but easy to fins and pleasant surroundings

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetdog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroCWatson, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property. I will make certain that your positive comments are passd on to the entire team-JD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent last night at the Kings. We had a private dining room and Chris looked after us. There was some confusion with who had what, we chose in advance. But Chris sorted it smoothly and efficiently.
The food was excellent and we felt really looked after. I would highly recommend eating here

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We recently stayed at the Kings after a recommendation from friends. The location is great with close proximity to the town centre, the priory and waterfront. There is a very small parking area at the front of the hotel or more spaces around the back through a gated entrance.
We chose a Queen room and were allocated one at the front of the hotel. Lovely view of the bowling green, Priory and Norman ruins. It was a nice room, very comfortable with a huge bathroom but the attention to detail let it down, bleach stains on the carpet and holes in the throw on the bed with stuffing falling out.
A meal allowance of £15 per head was included in our deal, enough to go for the 3 course 15 mile / £15 dinner but we chose to put the money towards the a la carte menu, lovely food with excellent service.
Overall the service was excellent apart from the request for extra milk in the bedroom which was promised but never delivered.
But all in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay which would have warranted 5 stars but for the little details not being perfect.
We will return soon, but will ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the front facing room we had was a little noisy from the road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NedSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

On the basis of Tripadvisor reviews, booked Sunday lunch. We were not disappointed. A good choice of dishes and sensibly priced. Waiting staff (mainly young) knew what they were doing. Pleasant atmosphere. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex450212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I seldom submit reviews but in the case of this hotel I will make an exception.
We had a two day break to celebrate an anniversary.
The room was outstanding (Kings - Front) and the staff friendly and helpful to a standard seldom experienced in this day and age.
Over the three days, we met the MD, receptionists, restaurant managers, waiters, waitresses, housekeepers and the maintenance engineer and, without exception, they were courteous, friendly, kind and helpful. Funnily enough I believe they were also all English. Smiling faces always help me enjoy a stay and at the Kings they are in abundance; obviously people enjoy working there.
Location perfect for Historical Area, the Centre and the Harbour.
I haven't stayed in all Hotels in Christchurch so can't say if this is the best; if there is a better one however it must be extraordinarily good!

Room Tip: We pushed the boat out and took a Kings room; it was well worth the extra. Chose the front view rath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinAitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.3 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
711 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
360 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
370 reviews
4.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients and is proud to have been awarded Michelin Bib Gourmand status for three consecutive years. The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty, historical town discoveries and stunning scenery, all with a comfortable place to relax after a day's adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Christchurch
The Kings Arms Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing