We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,319)
Filter reviews
2,319 results
Traveler rating
1,047
660
343
173
96
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,047
660
343
173
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the upper deck restaurant salt room steam room relaxation room christchurch harbour sea view afternoon tea garden room restaurant manager sunday night stunning location birthday treat wedding party hengistbury head both nights special occasion evening meal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 2,319 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2019

If you are looking for a hotel with a little luxury, this is the place for you.
We stayed here in May and had a Garden View room which also had a view of the harbour.
The room was clean and had all everything we could need.
We placed down by the Spa but this wasn't an issue. The Spa is nice but it is fully enclosed there is no outside views until you head up to 'The Hideaway' which is a little room with harbour views, we did not use this space on this visit.

On arrival the car park was full, however we were greeted by the 'concierge' who offered to park our car as soon as a space became available.

The evening food was amazing, freshly cooked and despite the restaurant being busy on the evening the service was swift.
Breakfast was much the same, good service & fresh food, replenishment was a little slow but fine.
We do like that cooked breakfasts here are made to order, rather than being sat around for hours.

The outside seating area is perfect for an after supper drink, they also provide blankets for when it goes off cold.

Room tip: Garden View in warmer weather
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, General Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2019

Dear Emma F

Many thanks for your excellent review about our hotel.

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a decent weekend break away.

We hope to see you again.

Regards

John Willcock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019 via mobile

What a great place to stay........

The hotel is smart, decor nice and room fit out good. The ONLY down side to the room (we stayed in room 204) is that the rooms are very hot even with the window open. Now, it could be that the weather was good and the room was sun facing for most of the day but the blinds were closed.......the luxurious double duvet cover didn't help in the night......it was way too hot!! Can't imagine staying in room 204 in the summer when it's pushing 20+ degrees outside, without air con ! Many thanks for the nice touch of chocolates to celebrate my birthday.......

The spa is very smart, although the salt/mineral room wasn't working (or switched on).....I did ask when we were finished, but whilst in the spa it wasn't working. Pool nice, jacuzzi good.....steam and sauna good and clean. Changing rooms spotless.

Upper Deck restaurant was very busy on Sunday night, service a bit lacking from staff on arrival..... but bar tender and maitre'd pulled it back with a really nice gin cocktail and improved service. Bit of a wait in between courses but food ok....price ok. We have dined at The Jetty, adjacent to the Christchurch Harbour Hotel and it's terrific.

The setting of the hotel is fantastic, spectacular view of Hengistbury Head and Mudeford.....The sun was setting Sunday evening, just fantastic. Took care of my food allergy too.

Breakfast at the hotel was ok......probably the downside of the stay. Service was slow, despite the marvellous setting outside on the deck! The breakfast was not the most exciting and presentation not overly special......

Reception staff, very good

Thanks for a nice getaway......

Julian & Amanda

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank JC13566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, General Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2019

Dear JC13566

Thank you very much for your review.

It's great to see that you enjoyed your weekend birthday treat in our hotel. We appreciate you for taking the time to share your honest feedback, both good and bad!

We hope to see you again.

Regards

John Willcock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

The view across the water is breathtaking. A great venue to recharge whilst away on business ...any reason. Staff are attentive and friendly. Accommodation is beautifully designed and creates a superb ambience. Unique.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, General Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2019

Dear Jane W

Thank you very much for your concise review which is great to read!

We hope you will be back to see us again.

Regards

John Willcock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

Having uhm and ahh’d over Carey’s Manor or Here, we decided to stay at the Harbour hotel and Spa. And it did not disappoint.

True Carey’s Manor is so slightly better in all departments, however this hotel is a close 2nd. Personally for me the coastline location is preferential and made our stay all the better.

I am a fan of the local coastline and this hotel has a superb advantage in where it is placed. Fully made for the whole visit to be a very “mindful” break. (The weather helped - see pics)

We were also very lucky with our “garden view” room. Although backing onto a BBQ area may mean it lacks the peacefulness at certain times of the year - we were lucky to have had an excellent experience. The complimentary gin and sherry, and also Nespresso coffee, is a very nice touch.

The room was a lovely size and the bed was more than comfortable.

The receptions staff were all very attentive and responded to all our requests through our stay; ice bucket, ice, top ups for the gin and coffee pods, all made for the recognition of fantastic service.

My previous 5star ratings have all been achieved because of the service that I have experienced.

This hotel is well worth it’s 5 stars, both for its facilities as well as it’s location and staff standards.

One issue that may be worth considering when staying here is that the car park was always full when we were there - so it may not always have space at busier times of the year.

Definitely staying again

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Firetroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, General Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2019

Dear Firetroll

Thank you very much for your review.

We're very pleased you chose us over another hotel and despite us ranking 2nd, it's great to see that you were impressed and are definitely going to stay again!

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards

John Willcock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

This hotel has become so popular that it is often full. Do I write a positive review as experienced or a moderate review to deter people from visiting
Honesty has prevailed.

This hotel is just brilliant. the staff are engaging, very attentive and make the visit a true delight. Pleased to say it runs like a well oiled, finely tuned machine. Good management & staff in all areas of the hotel.
Beds are comfortable and bedrooms well equipped. The breakfast is orchestrated like a well rehearsed stage show. everything being brought out in a cheerful, swift and timely manner, all breakfasts freshly prepared and very very tasty. Little details make all the difference, the cluster of jams and marmalade on each table have one of each type not just several of the same. Attention to detail, priceless.....
This place has become home from home for us. When we arrive all stress just fades away. If I win the lottery, I am moving in straight away.
Well done to you all, keep up the fabulous work

Room tip: Inward facing room 109 is our favourite 😁
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, General Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2019

Dear Chris B

Thank you very much for your review.

We appreciate your honesty as well as taking the time to share your very kind comments.

It's wonderful so see how much we mean to you. Please introduce yourself to me on your next stay, it will be a pleasure to meet you.

Regards

John Willcock
General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews