We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected little treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Unexpected little treat”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had spent the day house-hunting around Wimborne (no luck) and stayed overnight here as we wanted to explore Lymington the next day. We only booked a room two days before and so did not expect to have the best room in the hotel and were offered an Inland View room (basically overlooking the car park). The view was not exactly exciting but the room was charming, was comfortably furnished and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was equipped with a deluge shower and good toiletries. We had booked dinner in the Upper Deck restaurant and could not book a table before 9 p.m. However, when we arrived at about 7 p.m. for drinks on the lovely terrace overlooking the harbour we were told that if a table became free earlier they would fit us in. At about 7.45 we were told this was now okay and menus were produced and food ordered so all in all we were very happy. The food was superb, the service efficient and the staff a delight. The same applied to the breakfast service. I shall be adding this hotel to my list of 'must go back to's'.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manytravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    546
    277
    150
    82
See reviews for
339
1,066
22
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had a marine spa day for two bought for my birthday so myself and my sister went to the spa and were joined by my other sister for lunch.

Spa
What a lovely place, beautiful, calming, spotlessly clean! The hydro bath was awesome with a neck jet that really seemed to massage you. The pool was lovely, coloured lights throughout, warm, had a relaxing swim. Steam room and sauna perfect and left my skin so soft it was unbelievable! Had a go in the salt room, never been in one before was strange and a bit boring sitting there for 15 mins as it wasn't warm??

Had a full body massage which was lovely, the girl was very professional gave a great massage and oils smelt lovely. Relaxing background music couldn't have asked for more!

Restaurant
As we had a spa package our menu was a limited one, never seen such a limited menu to be honest! We chose to have a main and dessert, choice for main were steak (served pink which is stated on the menu) sea bream or fish and chips. My sister had the sea bream which looked really nice though the skin was soft and should have been crisp, also her new potatoes were undercooked and hard. I had the steak which I like pink/rare/medium rare I'm not too fussy but mine was well done, I sent it back and it came back seconds later 'blue' obviously the chef hadn't rested it. I left it for a few minutes and ate it once rested and it was lovely. Good quality cut of meat. Options for dessert were creme brûlée, jelly and ice cream or ice cream, (what amazing options...not!) we all went for the brûlée. I actually couldn't believe it our brûlée was quite obviously made with ambrosia custard (I know that taste anywhere as I do buy it!) but for a restaurant in the harbour hotel I thought it was laughable! It had a very thin crisp top and they had added some vanilla but the consistency was of ambrosia custard not a creme brûlée! Disappointing for a hotel that has clearly spend a lot of money to renovate they should invest in a good chef! Waiting staff too need training and didn't seem too bothered about the customers.

I can't comment on the rooms as we didn't stay, the setting is out of this world overlooking mudeford quay.

I would still recommend people to stay at this hotel but would like to see the standard of food and menu options improve as even if they are on a budget with the spa day packages they can surely offer better than jelly and Ice cream for pudding!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeDee1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Plenty of good aspects to this hotel but it is let down by a few things. The location is magic with stunning views from the excellent deck and garden area, over the river and across the bay. No wonder it is a hugely popular wedding reception venue although for "ordinary" guests these parties can be over-powering. An excellent buffet breakfast is provided, supplemented with hot options cooked to order. The staff are all unfailingly helpful; friendly and efficient. But the bedrooms/bathrooms are disappointingly small, cramped and badly designed/laid out. None are air-conditioned either, not even those in the "new" wing ( built 4 years ago). Very few rooms have decent views too. The Spa facilities are pretty good though but some parts of the original building, including the bedrooms in this old area, feel a bit shabby. It is not cheap to stay at this hotel so it is a shame that the experience is let down in parts.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay are best and room 217 recommended as although small and cramped with a poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Do not under any circumstances stay in Room 311 unless you like being kept awake by banging doors, loud voices, crashes, and clattering. This room is above the kitchen.One employee in particular had a very loud voice and never stopped shouting. We were told the noise would stop at 11.00 but it was gone 1.00am before it quietened. On two occasions my friend and I got dressed and went to report this terrible noise to the duty manager. He asked my friend what she wanted him to do about it. She explained that although it was past midnight we would be happy to move to a different room in order to be able to sleep. The duty manager said it wouldn't be possible as they were fully booked. He said he would report this to the manager at 7am and ask him to give us a discount. So we had to endure the noise until well gone 1.00. At 5.30am it started all over again. Before breakfast we asked to see the manager. Nothing had been reported to him by the duty manager but he was very pleasant and apologised and offered us a refund. Maybe room 311 should be taken to the programme Room 101 so that it can be got rid of. This room costs £210 per night - sleep costs extra.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away as possible from room 311
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth260552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We live locally, but hadn't been back to this hotel and Restaurant for some time. We booked an open air table on the stunning Terrace, overlooking Christchurch Harbour. I have to say that every aspect of our visit was excellent. A courteous welcome at the door, prompt service taking our order, a superb sunday lunch which was great value, polite, helpful and engaging staff and probably the best view from any restaurant in the area....in a word superb!

We'll be back to try the Spa....

Room Tip: Sunday Lunch - Belly of Pork and Strawberry Jelly sweet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hardtop12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I went with a friend for a long weekend spa getaway. The hotel staff were amazing - firstly, we were allowed put two one day spa packages together for no extra cost, and once we'd got there and found they'd given us a double room instead of a twin, we were upgraded to one of the twin sets with a door leading straight out onto the patio/main area. Plus it was about ten seconds away from the spa - definitely worth paying for one of these ground floor sea view rooms. The food was fantastic and good value for money; the surrounding town was really lovely - it's a short walk from the beach; the harbour was a great view and the complementary kayaks were great fun; the spa was fantastic and the treatments that were included in the package deal were worth the money. Overall, really great.

Room Tip: Go for a sea-view, ground floor room - that way you'll be right next to the spa and dining hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lr35891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sprowston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Visited here for a family wedding. The weather was perfect and everything about the day was excellent. The food at the reception was some of the nicest I have enjoyed at a big event and the staff ran everything like clockwork. They worked hard to make sure that not only the bride and groom but all the guests had a good time.

We stayed overnight and the accommodation was excellent. Very comfortable large bed with soft pillows. All toiletries in the bathroom were White Company and there were even a couple of bottles of water in our room.

Breakfast the next morning was in the lovely sunlit breakfast room/bar overlooking the harbour.

A better location would be hard to find, especially with such friendly staff.

I also took the opportunity to have a de-stressing massage before we left and that was most enjoyable. If you visit and stay make sure to use the spa.

Room Tip: We had a bronze room at the front of the hotel on the ground floor overlooking the car park but it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.6 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
716 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
745 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#8 of 11 in Christchurch
367 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
380 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: 95 Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 3NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a fantastic stay at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa in Dorset. Wake up to incredible views over to the harbour, enjoy a bracing walk across to Hengistbury Head, or hide away at the luxurious Harbour Spa! Make the most of this unique location whatever the season - a change of scenery, warm and attentive hospitality, delicious food, which reflects the very best local produce, and a chance to breathe in the fresh sea air. The Upper Deck Restaurant serves delicious, locally-sourced dishes and is open for lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and drinks. Or you can also choose to dine in the award-winning Jetty Restaurant situated within the hotel's grounds. Stay in one of the luxury 64 bedrooms, some with four-poster beds and private garden terraces overlooking Mudeford Quay. All of the bedrooms feature flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and White Company toiletries. The Harbour Spa is a haven of relaxation. Enjoy a relaxing spa treatment - from manicures and pedicures to facials and specialised massages. Relax in the indoor swimming pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna, salt grotto and crystal steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel And Spa
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing