We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Well wanted to rave about this hotel!! from the minute you arrive until the time you leave you are greeted by the most professional, polite staff. They take your bags, save spaces for you to park the car. The rooms was fantastic, although I wish I had a view of the beautiful harbour raher than the car park. The room was so new with new gowns fluffy towels and spotless. The spa was very clean and very romantic mood lighting. I have stayed in many spas including the incredibly expensive greyshot manor which was awful.. This hotel was a spa hotel and deserves the five star rating that I am giving it from a teacher in the travel industry I am seriously Impressed. Do I go on I'm afraid so... the Food was exquisite, My steak wasn't cooked to medium rare, I sent it back and they could not do enough to fix this issue... from the venue to the views to the food this hotel is one of the best hotels I have stayed in, keep going guys your all doing a fantastic job. And if I can afford to come back then I will be there.. I say this because I got a great deal. However this is an up and coming hotel and its not going to be long before it will be out of my price range..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil_L_CHH, Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review, I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa.

We are so pleased you enjoyed all of our facilities, our stunning location, food and service.
I will pass on your praise to the whole team.

I really hope we can welcome you back to the Hotel again very soon

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,282 - 1,288 of 1,907 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at the Christchurch Harbour hotel for 3 nights June 12th-15th. The location is superb as is the food and service. We booked a 'gold' garden room with a patio. However, the room (111) was cramped and the garden view was in fact a small patch of lawn fringed by a hedge. The patio area has no privacy and was simply part of a paved path in front of the rooms with one narrow door opening on to it. The dressing table has no mirror above it which my wife found inconvenient. Room service breakfast so-so.
Not big moans, but I would have expected the room to be a bit better for the rate charged (£265).
We would stay there again, but perhaps not bother paying extra for a garden view/patio.

Bruce Kennedy, Bracknell

Room Tip: Our garden view room (111) was at the end of a corridor on a corner and was rather cramped. We proba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkennedy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil_L_CHH, Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your recent review, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa.

I can see from your review that you enjoyed our loctaion, food and service. I was sorry to read that the Garden view room was not your satisfaction. These rooms are very popular and guests request them all the time, as you can access the terrace straight from your room.

We do also have some fantastic seaview rooms overlooking the estuary.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our second visit to the hotel (this time for my wife's birthday) having enjoyed our first a couple of years ago. We booked a 2 night package in a gold sea-view room. Our room was a good size and very well decorated. Only criticism would be that I found the bath on the small side compared with those at other hotels that I have stayed at. Food here is first class - both at the Upper Deck Restaurant (integral to the hotel) and at the Jetty. We remembered the excellent Passion Fruit Souffle at the Jetty from our first visit and so were absolutely delighted to find that it remains on their menu as a signature dish.

We spent a couple of relaxing hours in the Spa enjoying the pool, sauna room, steam room, jaccuzzi and chamber of salt room (sorry but no idea what one would call that!). These are all high quality facilities in my view and, for me at least, every bit as enjoyable as the much larger Spa at Pennyhill Park. We also used the small but well-equipped gym and were grateful for this given the lack of sun over the weekend.

Only minor criticism which I hope the Jetty may pick up on: when I returned my call to them to confirm our table booking (having booked it some 6 months previously) I was told that our name was not on the list of reservations. It transpired this was because the person I had spoken to had apparently not read the list correctly and that we were indeed booked in. However this occurred it did serve to raise our stress levels before getting into the car for the drive down to the hotel which was a shame at the start of our special weekend.

Room Tip: Hotel is a mix of modern and older rooms. In our older room we coudl hear people moving around upst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rrice15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I booked this trip as my Wife was in need of a "chill out" and we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived to the time we left were looked after very well. We had taken an offer for a 2 night stay to include breakfast the first night meal allowance of £30 ph as well as a bottle of champagne in the room on arrival. We found the room to be very clean and a good size as well as the bathroom being a nice size with a bath and shower over. The shower was more than powerful enough to satisfy me. Though the room was situated on the side there wasn't any noise even with the window open. We chose to dine in the upper deck both at lunch and in the evening and were not disappointed with the food. I have read many of the previous reviews and would agree when busy the car park can be quite full. I also note that some people were waiting for food etc and would agree it does not always arrive at the drop of a hat, but it does arrive. The spa facilities are more than adequate and I guess it may be dark to help one relax before going for the many treatments on offer. I do agree that the full English breakfast could do with a rethink on serving. Baked beans all over bacon & a tasteless sausage were the only gripe I have but that could be rectified. All in all a great stay and it did what it says on the tin because my Wife is now de-stressed :).Would have given 5 green circles if the English breakfast had been up to scratch, please note all other breakfast options were very good.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 205 on the first floor, no view worth speaking of but quite & clean room and we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisJ36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Some of the best service I have ever encountered- the evening meal was a lesson in subtlety with waiter upon waiter quietly delivering their part of our wonderfully prepared meal. The room was freshly and stylishly decorated, the pool was of a good size, unlike many in hotels, and was accompanied by fun pampering rooms- the unusual salt grotto deserves a mention. Our treatments were expertly given in the calming environs of the Harbour spa, and breakfast on the terrace in Mediterranean sunshine, overlooking the sea fringed with fir trees, was a sublime finish to our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lazzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Lovely hotel in a beautiful location but as previous reviews it could be improved . I requested a room in the newer part of the hotel and it was confirmed in my telephone call that all the rooms had been refurbished in the hotel not just the newer part . On arrival this was clearly not the case . We were allocated a gold de-lux room ( as booked ) that can only be described as shabby . We were moved to a room twice the size and with a large balcony which was much better thankfully but still a little tired and it does beg the question why was the previous room the same price at half the size and at a much inferior standard . Building work in the hotel was noisy and intrusive during the day , the pool was closed for cleaning on one morning ( a hotel charging theses prices should have had that done overnight ) . We asked to use the kayaks which were free for residents but they could not locate the key for the life jackets so we were advised we could hire a kayack from the Quay at a charge ( ! ), they then found the keys just as we were leaving for the Quay . The second morning at breakfast our tea and toast did not arrive nor was our order for hot food taken until we raised it after people arriving later than us were receiving their hot food . There were guests sitting at the outside tables not cleared from the previous guests as apparently they were understaffed , but hardly four star service and no apology given .

At £530.00 for two nights (even allowing for the fact you do pay for the fabulous location) the building work , shabby rooms and poor service were a disappointment and I have to agree with other reviewers that this hotel is overpriced at this present time .

I will say the meals and the service in the evening both in the Upper Deck and the Jetty restaurant were superb and probably saved the what would have been disappointment for a stay in what was for us a special occasion and hopefully would have become a special hotel to return to , but we would not stay here again .

Room Tip: Beware of the inconsistency in the standards and prices for the same category rooms , higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I can thoroughly recommend this hotel .There was a mix up over our booking but this was swiftly sorted . We were able to get into our rooms early to get ready for a wedding .The hotels setting is perfect .we had a garden room , so could sit outside .
Lovely breakfast ,fresh fruit and perfect poached eggs , looking over the harbour . We took our tea onto the terrace afterwards then made use of the spa facilities. . For a relaxing holiday , this a perfect place.
We found the staff to be friendly and attentive .
Can also recommend eating at the Jetty restaurant .

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Stella E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
776 reviews
1.6 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#5 of 11 in Christchurch
750 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#1 of 11 in Christchurch
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,935 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#8 of 11 in Christchurch
396 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa

Address: 95 Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 3NT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $133 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a fantastic stay at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa in Dorset. Wake up to incredible views over to the harbour, enjoy a bracing walk across to Hengistbury Head, or hide away at the luxurious Harbour Spa! Make the most of this unique location whatever the season - a change of scenery, warm and attentive hospitality, delicious food, which reflects the very best local produce, and a chance to breathe in the fresh sea air. The Upper Deck Restaurant serves delicious, locally-sourced dishes and is open for lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and drinks. Or you can also choose to dine in the award-winning Jetty Restaurant situated within the hotel's grounds. Stay in one of the luxury 64 bedrooms, some with four-poster beds and private garden terraces overlooking Mudeford Quay. All of the bedrooms feature flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and White Company toiletries. The Harbour Spa is a haven of relaxation. Enjoy a relaxing spa treatment - from manicures and pedicures to facials and specialised massages. Relax in the indoor swimming pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna, salt grotto and crystal steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel And Spa
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing