We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Captain's Club Hotel(Christchurch)
$336
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kings Arms(Christchurch)
$115
$96
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lord Bute Hotel(Christchurch)
$156
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Christchurch Highcliffe(Highcliffe)(Great Value!)
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$64
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$46
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Premier Inn Christchurch West Hotel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
    $69
    PremierInn.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    No availability for your dates from our partners
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (2,010)
    Filter reviews
    2,010 results
    Traveler rating
    862
    592
    307
    157
    92
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    862
    592
    307
    157
    92
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsthe upper deck restaurantsalt roomsteam roomrelaxation roomchristchurch harbourafternoon teasea viewcar parkchanging roomsgarden roomcream tearestaurant managersunday nightstunning locationwedding partybirthday treatboth nights
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1,393 - 1,398 of 2,010 reviews
    Reviewed June 11, 2013

    The hotel is good with a lovely location and views over the harbour. It was tastefully decorated and very clean. The food in the restaurant was very enjoyable. It was good to have an indoor pool.
    That said, it sets out to be better than just good and I am sure it could be, but for me there were just too many small things which a more professional and attentive management would have surely addressed, and a few other points that I found really irritating.
    I should say I am not one of those reviewers who gets worked up over the toiletries selection or the absence of ketchup, but this was a to be a special break after a difficult time for my wife and I and it wasn't as special as it could have been.
    On arrival, even humble establishments generally welcome the guests. We were left standing whilst the receptionist stared at her computer to "try to find you a room" . We had booked half board but were told we had an "allowance" of £30 each toward a la carte dinner - the very good value set dinner being only available until 7 pm and the restaurant being fully booked with our reservation fixed at 8.15. We decided to use the pool or rather the spa. This included a fair sized pool, sauna, steam and salt? room with a gym and various rooms for the treatments that were available but we didn't try. This was all very pleasant though much of it so dark it was a bit hard to tell. The food was great and well presented. Staff were pleasant and trying hard but the organisation of the service seemed haphazard and crying out for a good maitre d. A hotel having a wine list of up to £450 a bottle should have staff who have a passing knowledge of the products.
    I am trying hard to be fair, and would probably go back too but please drop the insidious included service charge and you never know, it might actually encourage staff to make just the bit more effort that the place needs to get to where it is aiming!

    Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are undergoing refurbishment (June 13)
    • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank sussex_wanderers051
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 11, 2013

    My wife and I stayed at the Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa on a Friday night in the second week in June on a Dinner, B&B package (which included £30 each towards Dinner Menu). This was our second visit. The room was very nice, if a little small (seemed like a chunk of it had been taken out to make a larger bathroom for next door). We were disappointed only to have a shower and no bath.
    We used the spa, which is very well appointed, with steam room, sauna, hydrotherapy pool, swimming pool, and something called a "crystal steam room" (whatever that is - didn't seem to do much on our visit - not working?). Although there are chairs/beds to relax on most of these were covered with towels from other spa users on our visit, and thus unusable, and if there were more than 10 people in the spa it definitely would be considered crowded. Also you can hear noises from the gym users (esp. treadmill) which is directly next to the spa, and visible through a smoked glass screen.
    We had dinner in the Upper Deck restaurant, which has recently been re-furbished, the main difference being the installation of a very long bar along one side of the restaurant, to no great improvement.There is an outside terrace, with a great view of christchurch harbour as long as you don't look to the left, where the potential view of mudeford quay is blocked by the Jetty restaurant and a large new block of apartments which presumably have been built on land previously owned by the hotel. It's also a shame that you cannot get access to the water; a very short walk down the jetty in front of the hotel is as close as you'll get.
    We had eaten in the restaurant in its previous guise, and on that occasion were very impressed by the choice and quality of the food (near Michelin star class). This time, however, they seem to have gone downmarket with the menu, and it reads more like a gastropub than a restaurant: mains included Liver & Onions, Fish & Chips, Risotto, Steak au poivre, Monkfish Tail, Sea Bream etc. etc.
    We were presented with an "amuse bouche" of cold pea and mint soup, both ordered the cheese souffle, and shared a chateaubriand from the rather pompously entitled "plancha" menu. I have to say that the food was really very good, well cooked and seasoned, and considering the restaurant was very busy, came in reasonable time. The wine, in my view, is overpriced (wine by the glass £7.50 - £14 for a 250ml glass).
    The real disappointment came the next morning with the breakfast experience. We sat down to breakfast at 9am, and were not served with our fried breakfast for at least 30 mins (and after asking the waiter, who told us that "they are cooked in turn, and we are very busy this morning"). When it did arrive, though, it was not worth the wait. One egg, bacon, cheap cumberland (in Dorset?) sausage, half bullet tomato, field mushroom with a healthy dollop of baked beans over the whole lot. It could (and should) have been a celebration of well-cooked fresh local produce, but in reality it was not really worthy of a transport cafe.
    All in all though worth more than an average rating, but less than very good.
    Summary - Nice Hotel & Spa, Average Restaurant with well-cooked food, and don't come here for the breakfast alone.

    Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are close to the spa, although unless you ask beforehand, you'll get one facing the car park.
    • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Jabez W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 10, 2013

    We stayed at the hotel in June and found it impossible to park on arrival. Left and returned a couple of hours later to find one space available.

    Our room was very well appointed and comfortable. The hotel grounds at the rear are lovely with great views over the harbour. Well worth spending time relaxing in. The Upper Deck dinning area was very busy in the evening and there didn't appear to be enough staff on to delivery the type of service expected. The service was very slow in the evening and unacceptably slow at breakfast in the morning. Additionally the food portion sizes in the evening meal were small.

    I would not want to be at this hotel if it were full or there was a function on like a wedding.

    • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank EnglandTravelPerson
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 9, 2013

    My wife and I visited this hotel at the beginning of July and we had a wonderful stay, we was lucky enough to have some lovely sunshine and made full use of the wonderful terrace which has stunning harbour views. The spa is excellent and and the hotel is very clean. They have also recently refurbished the hotel dining room which looks great, I can't comment on the food in the restaurant as we had dinner in the Jetty which is on the hotel grounds and I can highly recommend. We Will definitely try the hotel restaurant next time as the menu looked great. This is the 5th time we have visited this hotel and can highly recommend it.

    Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    Thank Simon H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Neil_L_CHH, Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

    Thank you for your recent review, I was so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Hotel.

    It was great to hear you liked the new look restaurant, "The Upper Deck".

    Your comments about the spa and cleanliness were great to read, I have passed these on to the relevant departments.

    We very much look forward to seeing you on your 6th visit very soon

    Kind regards

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 5, 2013

    Room on the ground floor near the spa was very comfortable. The hotel staff were very helpful indeed. The room lights and bedside lights were tricky to turn off. The restaurant served excellent food. Parking in the car park was very tight.

    • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank jenniferhLondon
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Neil_L_CHH, Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

    Thank you for your recent review, I was please to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

    It was great to read that you enjoyed your room, excellent food and that our staff were very helpful.

    We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon

    Kind regards

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews