We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel shame about the weather”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel shame about the weather”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel for my husband and I for a 2 day break after my father passed away. Unfortunately I was admitted to hospital myself for 5 days and had to cancel it at the very last minute. On contacting the hotel they first stated that we would lose our deposit as the cancellation was after the cut off time. However we were telephoned the next day and informed that as long as we rebooked there and then they would not charge us the cancellation fee. So we rebooked and eventually had our break two weeks ago.

The hotel was lovely. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. We had a Bronze Room on the second floor which had a slight view of the sea and of the Jetty restaurant. The room was smaller than a premier Inn room but was beautifully furnished and had a lovely bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding was a lovely quality however, the pillows were a bit too soft. We did request additional ones but they never arrived.
Our dinner on the evening was absolutely fantastic. Desserts were to die for and cleverly had a cocktail that went with them at an additional cost, but well worth it. Service was excellent. Breakfast next morning was a disappointment. After the lovely food and excellent service the night before we were quite shocked with the food and service for breakfast. We hoped that this was a one off unfortunately the next morning it was even worse. I'm not saying the food was dreadful but certainly not up to the standard we had expected. The breakfast service was awful.
The hotel has a Spa attached to it. This was absolutely lovely. Places to relax, lovely pool, jacuzzi, steam room, salt room and sauna and gym. The treatments were reasonable cost. The spa is under ground so there are no windows so it does seem a little dark at first but you soon get used to it with the subtle lighting. Staff were lovely. We were hoping to spend a few hours in the Spa on the last day to relax before going home but unfortunately once you have checked out you can't use it. I suspect this is because they have Spa deal days as well as hotel guests so it would become too busy - shame.

Overall it was a lovely two days. The location is fantastic with lovely walks. Dont let the breakfast problem put you off booking as it may well have improved after guests feedback.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickenbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Guest Relations Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we have taken all of your comments on-board and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kimd Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    523
    260
    143
    77
See reviews for
316
1,012
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
374 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had heard good things about this hotel so tried it for a one night stay when visiting family. The location is very nice overlooking the harbour but we could not make best use of it at this time of the year. Our room was on the fourth floor, it was small but well appointed. The light switches were a real challenge and we had to resort to taking the card out of the master switch to reset them every time we wanted to switch on the bedside lights. There were eight switches with no labels and some seemed to he two way - far too complicated. The bed was awful and we ended up with a very bad night trying to stop rolling out of bed as the edges were so soft.

The bathroom was also very compact but it looked very smart. The problem came in trying to use it. My wife could not get into the shower as the side of the bath is really high. I am nearly six foot and I had trouble getting in the shower.

The staff were mostly very friendly although some had little English. The restaurant dinner was very good and the wines good value. Breakfast was nothing special and the service was very slow.

Car parking is a real problem at times as hotel guests vie with spa visitors and restaurant diners for the few spaces.

Overall, given the room rates, this was not a good value stay. We got a better night's rest in a Premier Inn that was only a third of the cost. Watch out for the additional charges that they make for using credit cards!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevew07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Guest Relations Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay; we strive to provide all of our guests with the best experience possible and will be looking into all points raised. I hope that you return in the future, with the opening of our new Upper Deck Bar & Restaurant and a number of restyled bedrooms. Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildford
2 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend away here. It is a really nice hotel to visit, however the service speed in the restaurant is really slow! The food was lovely and and nearly worth the wait. We ordered a sandwich at 4pm when the restaurant was dead, it took 30min the turn up. We ate dinner at 8.30pm, When we walked into the restaurant the first table we walked past someone else was complaining about a 35min wait for their starter. The food was good when it eventually turned up.
The only other complaint I would have is kids in the pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambonectar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Guest Relations Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, I'm sorry to read that you experienced a delay in recieving your food; I can assure you this is not our usual level of customer service and we will be looking into all points raised. In terms of children in the pool, we have allocated children's hours to ensure that all guests can enjoy the facilities. Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My boyfriend brought me here as a birthday present and we found the location fantastic being right in front of the sea. We had a fantastic evening meal at the Jetty (see separate view) which is located right next to the hotel and if you love seafood and don't mind spending good money, we will highly recommend you to try the Jetty (rather than the restaurant in the hotel). We used the spa facilities, but found the wet area rather small compared with other spa hotels we have been to. Also, the ladies at the Spa were not the friendliest of bunch and we did not find them very warm or helpful. When we tried to book for a massage on a spot, they just said "You should have booked it before you arrived. We can't help you." As this was a surprise present from my boyfriend, of course we could not book it beforehand. Although we understood that they are busy at weekends, we would had expected them to be a little bit more helpful. As it was a week before the Xmas, there was a large Xmas party going on at the hotel and the music went on until midnight, hence we struggled to fall in sleep. We won't be back for the spa, but we may perhaps consider to come back in summer for sea and seafood at the Jetty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yukoyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel with warm friendly staff restaurant was nicely laid out with great views of the Mudeford Quay
Breakfasts very good although orange juice and milk in bottles is a bit fiddley
I'm not keen on these toast machines especially when they have to go through twice and queues forming
Overall a good experience and will revisit

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smax307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Birthday present from my other half. Lovely surprise. Lovely hotel with beautiful views over the harbour. Service was fantastic as was the spa and food. Went again for Easter and huge pot of chocolate mini eggs in room. Location perfect to walk along to muddeford and enjoy the sea. Would be there more often if funds permitted!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livewellbhappy_se23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I attended Christchurch Harbour Spa for an ESPA Pure Relaxation Spa Day which was bought for me as a birthday present. It was chosen for the 80 minute back massage & facial. We purchased a Harbour Spa Day for my husband, which included a 70 minute full body massage. It was our first visit here, and living in Bournemouth, it was local for us.

When I called to book the spa, I felt the woman was rather short and uninterested in taking the booking. This wasn't a very good first impression. She was very reluctant to send a confirmation to me in the post, insisting I provide an email adress for this, and that as a consequence I would receive marketing emails. She eventually agreed to send a confirmation letter in the post. My one recommendation would be to include the full postal adress on this letter, as I had to phone for the postcode on the way to the hotel.

We arrived at 11am and we could park easily in the car-park. We were met by a polite, helpful receptionist who talked us around the spa area, and provided us with a towel, robe & slippers. The spa factilites were nice & clean. The spa area itself is rather dark, perfect for inducing a relaxing experience. We experienced all of the facilites, except the gym. We didn't understand the benefits to the salt grotto though. The feature showers were a bit of a disapointment. There was limescale encrusted on the heads, and they lasted for a very short time. There was also a lack of mood lighting to them. Unfortunately we didn't have any sun to sit on a sun lounger on the decked terrace area. Whilst relaxing, the spa area felt rather small, and felt very busy with only approx. 10 people in it.

My back massage & facial was heavenly and I felt as though Hannah understood my needs perfectly. My husband however was kept waiting for 20 minutes beyond his appointment time.

Included in our experience we could chose either a two course lunch, or an afternoon tea. We opted for the lunch. My husband had crab on toast followed by sole (which they offered whole or filleted) and I had a pidgeon starter followed by a chicken dish. The service was slow, and the food was overall rather bland (except for the sole which was very tasty). There was a beautiful view of the harbour, perfectly located.

We would return again, as it was overall a relaxing experience, which was the whole purpose of our visit. There was a costume drying machine in the changing rooms, which left the costumes damp still. Would have been nice for the spa to provide a small plastic bag for the damp costume/trunks. I will have to remember to bring one for the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Just_Me27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.6 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
662 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
707 reviews
3.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
2.8 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
327 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: 95 Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 3NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a fantastic stay at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa in Dorset. Wake up to incredible views over to the harbour, enjoy a bracing walk across to Hengistbury Head, or hide away at the luxurious Harbour Spa! Make the most of this unique location whatever the season - a change of scenery, warm and attentive hospitality, delicious food, which reflects the very best local produce, and a chance to breathe in the fresh sea air. The Upper Deck Restaurant serves delicious, locally-sourced dishes and is open for lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and drinks. Or you can also choose to dine in the award-winning Jetty Restaurant situated within the hotel's grounds. Stay in one of the luxury 64 bedrooms, some with four-poster beds and private garden terraces overlooking Mudeford Quay. All of the bedrooms feature flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and White Company toiletries. The Harbour Spa is a haven of relaxation. Enjoy a relaxing spa treatment - from manicures and pedicures to facials and specialised massages. Relax in the indoor swimming pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna, salt grotto and crystal steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel And Spa
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing