We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Break & Spa” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Weekend Break & Spa”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

My boyfriend brought me here as a birthday present and we found the location fantastic being right in front of the sea. We had a fantastic evening meal at the Jetty (see separate view) which is located right next to the hotel and if you love seafood and don't mind spending good money, we will highly recommend you to try the Jetty (rather than the restaurant in the hotel). We used the spa facilities, but found the wet area rather small compared with other spa hotels we have been to. Also, the ladies at the Spa were not the friendliest of bunch and we did not find them very warm or helpful. When we tried to book for a massage on a spot, they just said "You should have booked it before you arrived. We can't help you." As this was a surprise present from my boyfriend, of course we could not book it beforehand. Although we understood that they are busy at weekends, we would had expected them to be a little bit more helpful. As it was a week before the Xmas, there was a large Xmas party going on at the hotel and the music went on until midnight, hence we struggled to fall in sleep. We won't be back for the spa, but we may perhaps consider to come back in summer for sea and seafood at the Jetty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yukoyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    521
    255
    141
    77
See reviews for
311
1,002
21
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel with warm friendly staff restaurant was nicely laid out with great views of the Mudeford Quay
Breakfasts very good although orange juice and milk in bottles is a bit fiddley
I'm not keen on these toast machines especially when they have to go through twice and queues forming
Overall a good experience and will revisit

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smax307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Birthday present from my other half. Lovely surprise. Lovely hotel with beautiful views over the harbour. Service was fantastic as was the spa and food. Went again for Easter and huge pot of chocolate mini eggs in room. Location perfect to walk along to muddeford and enjoy the sea. Would be there more often if funds permitted!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livewellbhappy_se23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I attended Christchurch Harbour Spa for an ESPA Pure Relaxation Spa Day which was bought for me as a birthday present. It was chosen for the 80 minute back massage & facial. We purchased a Harbour Spa Day for my husband, which included a 70 minute full body massage. It was our first visit here, and living in Bournemouth, it was local for us.

When I called to book the spa, I felt the woman was rather short and uninterested in taking the booking. This wasn't a very good first impression. She was very reluctant to send a confirmation to me in the post, insisting I provide an email adress for this, and that as a consequence I would receive marketing emails. She eventually agreed to send a confirmation letter in the post. My one recommendation would be to include the full postal adress on this letter, as I had to phone for the postcode on the way to the hotel.

We arrived at 11am and we could park easily in the car-park. We were met by a polite, helpful receptionist who talked us around the spa area, and provided us with a towel, robe & slippers. The spa factilites were nice & clean. The spa area itself is rather dark, perfect for inducing a relaxing experience. We experienced all of the facilites, except the gym. We didn't understand the benefits to the salt grotto though. The feature showers were a bit of a disapointment. There was limescale encrusted on the heads, and they lasted for a very short time. There was also a lack of mood lighting to them. Unfortunately we didn't have any sun to sit on a sun lounger on the decked terrace area. Whilst relaxing, the spa area felt rather small, and felt very busy with only approx. 10 people in it.

My back massage & facial was heavenly and I felt as though Hannah understood my needs perfectly. My husband however was kept waiting for 20 minutes beyond his appointment time.

Included in our experience we could chose either a two course lunch, or an afternoon tea. We opted for the lunch. My husband had crab on toast followed by sole (which they offered whole or filleted) and I had a pidgeon starter followed by a chicken dish. The service was slow, and the food was overall rather bland (except for the sole which was very tasty). There was a beautiful view of the harbour, perfectly located.

We would return again, as it was overall a relaxing experience, which was the whole purpose of our visit. There was a costume drying machine in the changing rooms, which left the costumes damp still. Would have been nice for the spa to provide a small plastic bag for the damp costume/trunks. I will have to remember to bring one for the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Just_Me27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had a silver room, quite small, a little too warm and stuffy. Bed small, pillows too soft but worst thing was the floor sloped so that you thought you would slide out of bed! Floorboards creaked really badly wherever you stood, as did the floor in corridor and rooms above. Need to be a rocket scientist to figure out how to use controls over bath for shower and temperature. Damp patch on wall in corner next to window, iron burn mark on carpet. Cracked tiles in bathroom and big chip in bath.
Weddings on both evenings we stayed and the lounge area was not very big so no room to sit as taken up by wedding guests. The same applied to car park. One morning the room service assistant had a radio playing loud music while she worked while we tried to relax and read.
Breakfast mediocre, but service good. Staff were friendly.
Need to improve overall to be worthy of 4 stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Guest Relations Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent break. I'm so sorry for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay, we have taken on-board all of your comments and will be reviewing all points raised. With regards to the bedroom, we are currently investing in a number of our rooms, including the one that you stayed in, with added restyling too. I hope that you return in the future, Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with my wife & 7 year old Son for Mothers day weekend. The intention was for my wife to visit the SPA, and for us all to have a relaxing weekend.

I booked a 'family' garden room (£300 per night) which was very nice and thoughtfully setup with proper bed for my son. Check-in staff were excellent and public areas of the hotel well presented.

Our room was located right next to the SPA which was also very convenient when wondering around in dressing gowns.
There was a wedding that evening at the hotel which did not initially impact on our evening, our evening meal in the restaurant was excellent, as was the service (from Amy?).

However, when we returned to our room at 9:45pm it transpired they converted the SPA relaxation room into the wedding function room - with noise passing straight through to our room almost next door. At 10pm a live band came on and the noise got even louder.
I asked to speak to the duty manager and was told that the music would stop at 11:30pm - we watched loud TV in our room until then (with a 7 year old) when indeed it stopped at 11:30 on the dot.

I did ask the duty manager why a family had been booked into a room next to the wedding party, but did not receive a response. I did receive a half baked apology but was not offered any discount on the £300 room.

Breakfast was very good, with excellent choice of continental / cooked / etc.

My wife was unable to get any treatments at the SPA as they were fully booked (i assume because of the wedding party) so she settled for a pedicure. Again this would have been good to know in advance or at least when checking in to have the best chance to secure something.

We did use the SPA pool which is very nice, and it's great they allow children to use it between 08:30-10:00 and 17:00 - 18:00. Many SPA hotels do not allow children and it's one of the reasons I booked the hotel.

If we would have stayed another weekend without a wedding I am sure i would have written a glowing review. However the stay was ruined by the poor handling of my complaint and no effort to compensate the ruined evening

Room Tip: If you are staying at the weekend - don't stay on the ground floor near the SPA!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GV5_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Guest Relations Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa. I’m so sorry to read about the disruptions experienced during your stay; we do have additional, dedicated family rooms, so I hope that you return in the future. I am pleased that you enjoyed all other elements of your stay and hope to welcome you back. Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night earlier this month. Weather wise was absolutely freezing and kept raining so we pretty much spent most of the time in the hotel room, lounge and restaurant!

The views out to sea would be fantastic during good weather.

The bedroom was very clean and comfortable, had a great night's sleep so the bed and pillows were comfy too.

The cocktails were excellent. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the service was very good too.

I would stay again if I was in that area. I prefer a more contemporary feel but the hotel was very tasteful in terms of decor and certainly very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Photoswinners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria R, Guest Relations Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel, I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that you return in the near future, when the sun is shining, for cocktails on the terrace! Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.6 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
3.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
1.8 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: 95 Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 3NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a fantastic stay at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa in Dorset. Wake up to incredible views over to the harbour, enjoy a bracing walk across to Hengistbury Head, or hide away at the luxurious Harbour Spa! Make the most of this unique location whatever the season - a change of scenery, warm and attentive hospitality, delicious food, which reflects the very best local produce, and a chance to breathe in the fresh sea air. The Upper Deck Restaurant serves delicious, locally-sourced dishes and is open for lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and drinks. Or you can also choose to dine in the award-winning Jetty Restaurant situated within the hotel's grounds. Stay in one of the luxury 64 bedrooms, some with four-poster beds and private garden terraces overlooking Mudeford Quay. All of the bedrooms feature flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and White Company toiletries. The Harbour Spa is a haven of relaxation. Enjoy a relaxing spa treatment - from manicures and pedicures to facials and specialised massages. Relax in the indoor swimming pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna, salt grotto and crystal steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel And Spa
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing