We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden Retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Solid oak kitchen - oven / hobs / microwave / kettle / toaster / sink
electric replica log fire
tea / coffee
Cosy red room with luxury bedding , quilts and mattress
cosy light and airy blue room with nice views towards golf course and forest
Large brand new shower room
The forest of dean walks - all around ( 1 mile drive )
Famous forest stain glass window - 2 miles
bike rides - 1 mile drive or bike from cottage
go ape - 3 miles
symonds yat - 3 miles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Coleford, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jjanesa
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden Retreat”
Reviewed July 29, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I had a wonderful stay. The cottage was everything we hoped it would be and was ideally situated to explore the surrounding area. The cottage was tastefully decorated throughout and equipped with everything you could need. What really made our stay was our host Alex, who couldn't have been more accommodating and helpful. Stay here in this hidden gem and you'll have a wonderful relaxing break.
Jane, Bristol

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Kin...
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booked the cottage for two nights in order to attend a wedding nearby. We were welcomed by Alex who was very friendly and helpful anfpd had left some goodies for us. The cottage was perfectly clean and very comfortable. Plenty of room for four adults. A lovely stay, thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petemarle...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

An absolutely lovely cottage, and an excellent host in Alex. Very convenient for access to many walks and things to do.

We will definitely be going back!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well Located Homely Cottage”
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here in Feb for two nights. This cottage is beautifully decorated and feels very homely and cosey. Everything you could want is provided a nice selection of teas and a box of chocolates was waiting for us on our arrival, a very nice touch. Ideal location for the Forest of Dean, Monmouth etc. Close to local shops for self catering. A beautiful place to come back to after a day exploring!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita J
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy comfy Cottage”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We used the cottage as a base for a two week holiday, our sons each visited for a few nights. Like a home from home. The cottage was just perfect for this. It was comfortable and well equipped. The owner was extremely helpful and went out of his way to make sure we had a good stay.
Lovely area to explore. Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly welcome. Welcome gifts. Wine biscuits etc. nice touch
Liked least: Macerator.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sianw951
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly formed cottage with the loveliest owner!”
Reviewed February 21, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just had a wonderful stay at this cottage - so warm, comfortable and well-equipped with lovely views out the back, over a garden that twinkles with fairy lights at night (and we used the telescope in the second bedroom to see the moons of Jupiter!). Alex the owner was so kind and helpful, leaving welcome treats for us all (including our dog Jess) and offering really helpful tips on places to visit. Proximity to family days out is second to none - so many handy and lovely places that our girls (aged 9 and 5) loved (especially 'Puzzlewood' which was their top trip). They are already wanting to know when we can return to the cottage - so pleased we found this little gem!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannah w
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just wish we could have stayed longer.....”
Reviewed January 27, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The moment we arrived at 'The Cottage' we were greeted by Alex who gave us a very warm welcome and information on the local area and what we could do. We also got a lovely bottle of white wine which was a lovely surprise.

The cottage is beautiful, very cosy and in a perfect central location. We had everything we could have needed and had a wonderful evening there.

Thank you Alex for all your help, you are a star!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel to the property.
Liked least: Shower wasn't very hot
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing