We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Accommodation for our Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Symonds Yat Rock Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Accommodation for our Honeymoon”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We were only able to take 3 days for our honeymoon and chose the Forest of Dean. We could not have been happier with the accommodation. The room was comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious. Symonds Yat Rock Lodge is perfectly located to explore the Forest of Dean with some great local pubs for yummy evening meals. We would especially recommend the Dog and Muffler.
Thank you Claire and Darren.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a lovely four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    30
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
79
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Warm, friendly hosts, comfortable room, delicious breakfast and fantastic location and view from the garden! Within easy reach of good pubs and the forest is just over the road! Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location with a great welcome. The rooms are lovely and the dog was welcome too. The breakfast was wonderful . There is loads to do in the surrounding area. We had a great time and recommend this one very highly .

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templecombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed there 3 years running for my birthday every March. The rooms are clean with all mod cons. We also take our Border Collie who loves the forest which is opposite the lodge. The views out the back are great and the sheep give you a taste of the countryside.

Will defiantly go again next year :-)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyrovers351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnislake, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed for three pleasant nights in an ideal semi rural location for us to travel around the forest of dean and surrounding area. The room was excellent, clean and the bed exceptionally comfortable.The owners were very accommodating, helpful and friendly which made our stay even more enjoyable. The breakfasts were delicious ample and hearty. We would have no hesitation to return to this accommodation in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latchley1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
636 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for valentines weekend during the heavy storms.
The accommodation was lovely, best equipped self catering I've been to and the views were outstanding. The first night there was a power cut which left us in darkness well into the next day. The owners provided candles and heated out food for us. We had bought breakfast for two days but had to go out and eat in a cafe. The owners gave us a bottle of prosecco for the inconvenience which of course wasn't there fault. Can't help thinking that an offer of a return nights may have been courteous.

Overall it's excellent accommodation and well worth checking out, we found it to be reasonable value and would consider staying again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank noodle1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We visited for a weekend and were only able to book the larger apartment 5. We loved it and were glad we paid the extra, spacious and well equiped. The owners offer a delicious breakfast with lovely sausages and even home made jam! They could not have been more helpful with lots of information about the area. I would recommend this lodge to all my family & friends.
The lodge is ideally located between the Forest of Dean and the River Wye.

Room Tip: Apartment 5 is very nice, but the most expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Levy835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
3.7 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#11 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.8 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#3 of 6 in Symonds Yat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Symonds Yat Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Symonds Yat Rock Lodge

Property: Symonds Yat Rock Lodge
Address: Hillersland | Coleford, Coleford GL16 7NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb modern open-plan apartments and comfortable bed & breakfast rooms at Symonds Yat Rock on the Wye Valley.Set in quiet wooded surroundings, overlooking the stunning Ruardean valley and opposite many footpaths into the Forest of Dean and to the Wye, Symonds Yat Rock Lodge is a peaceful, scenic location.A perfect base for walking (dogs welcome), canoeing, wildlife, adrenalin activities, sightseeing and attractions, or just relaxing in this Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Symonds Yat Rock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Symonds Yat Rock Hotel Coleford
Symonds Yat Rock Lodge Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing