We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views & friendly owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Symonds Yat Rock Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of the self catering apartments for 4 nights. The apartments have been nicely styled & the view from the ground floor was lovely. The kitchen has all the basics you need plus a dishwasher which was an added bonus. We also both found the bed comfortable. As others have written the apartments aren't huge but more than adequate for a couple. There were only a few minor niggles. The towels provided were a little bit tired and the internet signal didn't cover our apartment. But on the flip side the owner was very helpful as was the large folder in our room recommending lots of things to do.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oxfordlocalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 118 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed for one night b and b at Rock lodge after booking a few days before.The hosts were very accomodating and we were able to bring our dog which was a bonus.We were able to get in to our room well before the 4pm stated.It was great to have allocated parking right near to your own front door and not to hear other guests noise.The room was immacuately clean and had everything needed for our stay.Breakfast was great and the hosts were avalaible at all times if needed and around to chat at breakfast.A great overnight stay , we will definately be returning and will recommed to our friends!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nurse42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Both my wife and I found this B and B to be well equipped comfortable and a great location. The proprietors were both a very nice team with a superb breakfast of the highest standard using locally produced ingredients and expertly cooked and served in a very nice breakfast room.

The room a double with our own front door was great large enough with great shower and a really nice firm but comfy bed and a seating area undercover out front if the weather had been up to using it!!!!

Another really nice touch was the supply of fresh milk in the room along with the tea and coffee facilities (so much nicer than the usual UHT sachets) The hosts were knowledgeable about the other local hostelries and pointed us towards an excellent pub The White Horse at Staunton with simply fantastic food catering to every taste.

Thanks for a good stay we will be back

Terry and Helena Robbins

Room Tip: All rooms appeared good and good location on all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spent 2 nights B&B at this lovely venue. Our appartment was clean, warm and well presented (Room 1). Our hosts were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was great. Location wise it is perfect for exploring the forest and all the delightful views that Symonds Yat has to offer. Having never visited the area before it's safe to say that the scenery and views were nothing short of spectacular - especially the view from Symonds Yat rock itself.
Before we left we were shown the Self Catering appartments which are on 2 levels in an open plan format. We can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bristoldoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a 3 night break at the Rock Lodge, staying in apartment 5, which is a really nice duplex design. The accommodation was really well presented and very clean. All mod cons present, nice TV and nice kitchen including dishwasher. It looks out over beautiful views and a forest full of walks lies just across the road. We brought our dog, who enjoyed the forest immensely. Owners were very friendly and helpful with any requests. Lots of facilities in easy striking distance. The lunch we had at the Saracens Head was so good we returned the next day, that pub is a 1.5 mile walk away. Would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Apartment 5 is probably worth paying a little extra for - nice big space and large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wazbo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We only spent one night at Rock Lodge but wished we could have stayed longer. Our little apartment was very comfortable and it was nice to do our own catering, unlike staying in a hotel and the dog was welcome too! The views from the property are lovely and it is so easy to stroll across the road and into the forest. We managed to check in early and did a long circular walk up to the rock, round the river and back through Staunton, before driving into Coleford to pick up some supplies. We tried some pretty potent cider at a quaint pub in Newland on the way back! Lovely area, looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfing_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had a great two night stay in the Rock Lodge self catering. The apartment was clean and modern. The mezzanine bedroom was a lovely change, and the high ceilings made the place feel light and spacious.

The owners were friendly and helpful.

We cycled the Peregrine path with our toddler as this is mostly off-road and flat. We also went for walks in the forest which is accessible from just across the road. Our toddler enjoyed watching the sheep in the field just outside our apartment.

My only two complaints are that we couldn't get a wifi signal from our apartment and also the low brick wall in front of our room meant that we couldn't appreciate the gorgeous views of the countryside if seated at the table and chairs outside our apartment (no. 5).

However we could sit in the communal garden just a couple of feet away and see the views clearly. Also wifi works in the dining room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherriekaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coleford hotels
3.7 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
796 reviews
2.3 mi away
Stowfield Barn
Stowfield Barn
#1 of 2 in Newland
61 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Coleford
120 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cor-Unum Bed and Breakfast
Cor-Unum Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 11 in Coleford
24 reviews
2.7 mi away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 11 in Coleford
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Symonds Yat Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Symonds Yat Rock Lodge

Address: Hillersland | Coleford, Coleford GL16 7NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Coleford
Price Range: $82 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb modern open-plan apartments at Symonds Yat Rock on the Wye Valley. Set in quiet wooded surroundings, overlooking the stunning Ruardean valley and opposite many footpaths into the Forest of Dean and to the Wye, Symonds Yat Rock Lodge is a peaceful, scenic location. A perfect base for walking (dogs welcome), canoeing, wildlife, adrenalin activities, sightseeing and attractions, or just relaxing in this Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Symonds Yat Rock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Symonds Yat Rock Hotel Coleford
Symonds Yat Rock Lodge Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing