We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Like Staying With Friends”
Review of Dryslade Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dryslade Farm
Ranked #5 of 11 Coleford B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 23, 2012

What a find, a real gem, this lovely family farm house, spotless throughout with a genuine home from home feel was our base for two nights, our cheery host Phil & Daphne made us feel very welcome and provided good conversation, our very large room with a super king size bed also provided a good size very clean bathroom.

There is a comfortable guest lounge along with an attractive dining area in the conservatory overlooking the garden and valley beyond where a hearty breakfast of local and quality produce was cooked and served to our liking.

Do we really want to share our find with you, I guess so, we all deserve a treat sometimes........

Room Tip: The Primrose is large and the super king size a bed lovely after a day walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pirateofthecaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 100 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights we would have extended our stay without question but due to other reasons we had to return home.
Superb hospitality by Daph and Phil,wonderful breakfast, Primrose room so restful (try it), if you want to talk "shop" with Phil he will happily talk farming all day, Daph will advise where the best dining can be found, our next visit to the area will most certainly include staying at Dryslade Farm.
Thanks a million Daph and Phil we will return.
Marion and Stan

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pianistsuperb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Great base to explore the Wye Valley and Forest of Dean. Spotless clean, comfortable bed and quiet location. Amazing breakfast in the conservatory with great views. Very friendly and helpful hosts. Certainly be the first place we would look to stay when visiting this area again.

We had a nice meal out in the local pub (Dog & Muffler) which is around a mile away and the next day took a walk from the farm down to the Wye Valley and up to Symond's Yat. Beautiful countryside and don't have to pay the car park fees at the Symonds Yat car park!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucksBrowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My partner and I visited this lovely B&B a few weeks ago. What a treat! From the moment you enter the place, Phil and Daphne make you feel right at home. They are expert hosts and you get the feeling they genuinely like opening their home to guests. The property itself is spectacular. We enjoyed spending the day walking through the rolling hillside, past cows and horses, and green fields. Our bed was incredibly comfortable and the room a decent size. The bathroom was immaculate. Breakfast is in a lovely sun room overlooking the hillside and was delicious- fresh bacon, eggs, beans, toast, yogurt, and fruit. For us city folk, this was the perfect country getaway! Thanks Daphne and Phil!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We only stayed for one night, but would like to return to stay for longer. Lovely breakfast. Welcoming host and hostess. Easy to find and decent pub for evening meal just up the road. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueM1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The farm was everything we had hoped it would be. Lovely room, fantastic breakfast, pretty garden to sit out in and above all lovely people who encouraged us to get involved with the farming enviroment if we liked to. At the time of our visit they had twin calves born and I can't tell you the interest it gave us. Every day we just had to go and check on them as they were absolutely adorable. Also the farmer took the time from whatever he was doing to explain the workings of the farm and the animals which was so very interesting. The location was perfect for us for so many things to explore. Their reccomendation of where to eat including The Dog and Muffler was a winner. Loved the holiday, something we'll fondly remember. Would highly
reccomend this farm. Such obliging lovely people.

Room Tip: Ask for the primrose room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

A wonderful charismatic place to stay. Centrally placed in the Royal Forest it lends itself to travelling and seeing the sights. Close to Symonds Yat rock and its various walks in the forest. It feels close to everything including the central village of Coleford, yet still feels remote and personal. Daphne and Phil are wonderful hosts with excellent facilities, great breakfasts and a sound knowledge of the area and the places to see and pubs and bars to eat in.

Room Tip: The super king size bedroom is very comfortable with dressing table, drink making facilities and mod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coleford hotels
3 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
790 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stowfield Barn
Stowfield Barn
#1 of 2 in Newland
61 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Coleford
118 reviews
2.6 mi away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 11 in Coleford
75 reviews
0.8 mi away
Symonds Yat Rock Lodge
Symonds Yat Rock Lodge
#4 of 11 in Coleford
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dryslade Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dryslade Farm

Address: English Bicknor | Royal Forest of Dean, Coleford GL16 7PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Coleford
Price Range: $44 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dryslade Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daphne & Phil warmly welcome you to our 18th century farmhouse on Pedigree Hereford beef farm. Relaxed friendly atmosphere. Ample parking. Cycle storage. Large conservitory for breakfast using local or organic produce. Bedrooms en-suite and tastefully furnished with the mellow warmth of pine furniture. Guest lounge with log fires during winter. Visitengland 4star grading with Silver Award plus Breakfast Award. Visit our web site for further details. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dryslade Farm Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing