We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place & lovely people”
Review of Dryslade Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dryslade Farm
Ranked #4 of 11 Coleford B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 18, 2011

we stayed at this lovely b&b for 3 nights , if i had known how lovely it was going to be i would have spent the whole week there , it is well situated to get about anywhere & there are plenty of local attractions close by , the views while having a delicious breakfast were stunning to say the least , owners are very friendly & very helpful in all ways , it was an absolute joy to stay there & will do so again as it was very tranquil & peaceful & they accept pets too which is nice to know 10/10 A++

Room Tip: all rooms are very good
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karl043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Dryslade Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 100 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2011

We have stayed at Dryslade Farm on about four occasions when visiting family nearby. Daphne and Phil always make us so welcome with their, warm friendly manner, and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts are delicious and varied, taken in the sun-lounge extension, with beautiful views across the fields. The room is spacious, spotlessly clean, with a large, very comfortable bed, and excellent en-suite bathroom facilities.
It is situated in the heart of the beautiful Forest of Dean, with so many lovely walks available, close to the delights of the valley of the River Wye and the grandeur of Symonds Yat, as well as being within easy reach of the Welsh countryside and towns, and the cathedral cities of both Hereford and Gloucester
Dryslade Farm is indeed a "home from home". We look forward to our return there each time we go to visit our family.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ham37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

After reading so many reviews on Dryslade Farm, we decided to give it a try and we were not disappointed. It was our first trip to UK & our first farmstay experience...needless to say, both Daphne & Phil really made us feel very at home, providing us with lots of information & recommendations for places to be visited...

Just like what others have commented, we were often welcoming tea & Daphne's to-die-for cake (still miss it very much...). And our room is simply fantastic...very well kept, clean, tidy & neat....Dryslade Farm also provide us with very good breakfast in the conservatory, specially prepared by Daphne herself....marvelous....

For those of you would like to experience relaxing by the fireplace, you can definitely do so here...have a cup of tea, read a book, etc.....

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacewoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

From the moment we arrived we were made welcome. We had everything we needed in the room. Our dog was happily tolerated and able to sleep in our room. Breakfast was delicious, in a pleasant conservatory surrounded by garden and with beautiful views. The sitting room is delightful with a foaring log fire and comfy sofas. We felt comfortable and relaxed at all times. The location is perfect for the Forest of Dean and Monmouth.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wobned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We stayed for two nights with friends - all we can say is what an amazing find! One of our friends found this and she couldn't have chosen better. On arrival, we were given cups of tea and homemade cake in a beautiful lounge with a roaring fire and Daphne was very welcoming. All the rooms were very well presented with so much attention to detail. There was a fridge on the landing with water and fresh milk in for us to help ourselves. The beds were really comfortable, and the bedrooms quiet. Each evening the fire was lit and we had sole use of the lounge to relax in. Phil was a great source of local knowledge, and also a great chef for breakfast! The local pub, the Dog and Muffler was excellent, but as previous reviewers have mentioned, it is essential to book early for a weekend.
All six of us would thoroughly recommend a stay at Dryslade Farm and will guarantee the hospitality! Thank you Daphne and Phil.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelchick52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Location was the driving force in our quest to find accommodation and we feel very lucky to have found Dryslade Farm, most do not meet our requirements, this exceeded!

Nice room (Primrose), good comfy bed, quiet, excellent breakfast, owners are lovely and do a good job ensuring you are happy.

Certainly would recommend or use again if required.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRCH72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Stayed here with my 13 year old son at the end of a long days walking. Very welcoming and friendly couple - went out of their way to help with our dinner arrangements when we'd failed to book the local pub (make sure you book if you're staying on a Saturday night). Excellent location - very picturesque. Lovely rooms and very comfortable beds. Superb (and big) breakfast of local produce. Will definitely be back with the rest of the family in tow.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D0gFacedB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
3.0 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
750 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
2.4 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 11 in Coleford
64 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ferndale House
Ferndale House
#1 of 2 in Lydbrook
376 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Saracens Head Inn
The Saracens Head Inn
#1 of 6 in Symonds Yat
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dryslade Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dryslade Farm

Address: English Bicknor | Royal Forest of Dean, Coleford GL16 7PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Coleford
Price Range: $45 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dryslade Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daphne & Phil warmly welcome you to our 18th century farmhouse on Pedigree Hereford beef farm. Relaxed friendly atmosphere. Ample parking. Cycle storage. Large conservitory for breakfast using local or organic produce. Bedrooms en-suite and tastefully furnished with the mellow warmth of pine furniture. Guest lounge with log fires during winter. Visitengland 4star grading with Silver Award plus Breakfast Award. Visit our web site for further details. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dryslade Farm Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing