We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Even Better.. if that can be possible”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Twin room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Coleford, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mootravel...
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Even Better.. if that can be possible”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This was our second visit to what we call " Our bit of heaven" .. and once again it was just that.
Welcomed back by Carol and Tony , the owners, we felt like we were coming home.
The cottage was a lovely as before with new touches such a new cushions, black out blinds, fresh flowers in the bedrooms.. all the things that make this a step up from a run of the mill letting .
Not that Badgers End was ever " run of the mill " .
The whole property is loved and kept in excellent condition and has such a wonderful feel .
We were able to have an extended stay on the last time, but still not long enough.
Both my partner and I have fallen in love with the whole area and will be back as soon as we can , would we stay anywhere else .. not a chance. So when you book up leave room for us ..

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2017
Thank you Elizabeth for your kind comments. The door will always be open for you both, fire burning and welcoming lights at the windows. We look forward to your next visit and hope you view the Forest of Dean as your second home .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary m
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Lovely Week”
Reviewed May 6, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I was worried this cottage would be too small for us - 4 adults (two quite tall), 2 dogs and one baby - but it worked out well.

Carol and Tony were great hosts and made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed.

Gorgeous location on the Scowles above Coleford where we got out provisions. Fantastic bakery - The Crusty Loaf and a Co-op etc.

Close to Symonds Yat, Forest of Dean and Wye Valley walks. Visits to Tintern, Monmouth and The Three Choirs Vineyard in Newent which was superb.

You can't really go wrong with this area - stunning countryside. Relaxing, lovely cottage and location.

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2017
Thank you, You were a pleasure to host. Finley was fabulous and you couldn't help but love the dogs. You squeezed a huge amount in plus house hunting. I'd love you as my next door neighbours, fingers crossed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather23...
Northamptonshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage, location,hosts,and weather.”
Reviewed April 29, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The cottage was lovely, everything you need in a home from home. Lovely bed linen, fluffy towels.The only sound was bird song. Carol and Tony were great hosts, so much local knowledge and information. The cottage is such a fabulous location for most attractions in the Forrest of Dean.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2017
Thank you Heather and Christine. There is nothing like spending a holiday with an old friend in a cosy cottage. You walked miles and had quite a few memorable adventures! It was a real pleasure to host you both, there are plenty more adventures to experience, and as always a warm fire and a glass of wine to come home to.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGreg20...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wye Valley and Forest of Dean”
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A wonderful cottage and great hosts in a fantastic location. The host Carol is very helpful and was attentive to our group. The location just south west of Simmons Yacht, was tranquil and relaxing. The nearby pubs are great and the local town (Coleford) has everything you may need.

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2017
These guests were fun to host, cheerful, energetic (miles of walking) and a pleasure to meet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen E
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in the Forest of Dean”
Reviewed March 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Very comfortable cottage in lovely rural setting in the Forest of Dean. All you can hear are owls at night and cockerels in the morning - idyllic. And the night sky was solid with stars. It was wonderful to be able to buy truly free-range eggs from the house over the road. The cottage is very well appointed and Carol, the owner, was warm and made us feel so welcome. My only reservation is that it wasn't long enough! Carol also recommended the Ostrich for dinner on Saturday night in nearby Welland - a lovely old country pub serving good food and a great atmosphere. A thoroughly enjoyable weekend.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2017
It was a pleasure to welcome these jolly and interesting guests and their French bulldog was simply gorgeous!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H
1 review
“Lovely cottage.”
Reviewed March 25, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

What a lovely cottage. It was our first holiday with a new dog. The owner made us feel very welcome. The cottage was very clean and had a lovely homely feel about it. Location was good for walks and getting to the local attractions.
We would definitely come back.

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2017
It was a pleasure to host you all. Barney is quite special and you couldnt help but fall in love with him! Thank you all for leaving the cottage so neat and tidy, much appreciated. We now have a growing number of wild skunks in the forest - what would Barney make of these, they are the same sort of height!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAE2017
Branford, Connecticut
1 review
“A warm welcome in the heart of the Forest”
Reviewed March 23, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My two children and I were visiting the UK for the holidays, and, in addition to sightseeing in London, I wanted to show them the English countryside and Wales. The Forest of Dean was the perfect place - a brief train ride from the city, with real English charm. But the real highlight of the trip was getting to know Carol and Tony and enjoying the warmth and comfort of Badger's End. It had everything we wanted, and more - including a fireplace! The beds were super comfortable; books, games, cards, and DVDs were plentiful for down times; and the kitchen was well stocked. Carol and Tony were full of fantastic ideas for day trips and sites to see: Big Pit, Tintern Abbey, Chepstow Castle, and more. JK Rowling grew up in the Forest, and you can see how the area influenced her writing (parts of the Harry Potter movies were filmed there) . We all want to return in the summertime to see Badgers End in full bloom, and to spend time with these wonderful hosts again! Heartily recommend this place!

Date of stay: January 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2017
Thank you, it was a delight to have you as guests at Badgers End, and for leaving the cottage so neat and tidy. I'm so glad you saw a bit of 'UK ancient rural history' and brought it up to date with 'Harry Potter'. We will await your return visit in the summer when the forest is alive in so many different ways. The chocolate cakes will be waiting.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing