We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage.”
other travelers have booked this property
Badgers End Cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Badgers End Cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Badgers End Cottage.
The fully equipt kitchen overlooks the large garden. Dishwasher, Nespresso coffee machine.
Family bathroom with bath and shower attached. Separate shower in en-suite.
Twin bedroom with views across the countryside to the Black Mountains
An ariel view of part of Badgers End Cottage set in private woodland with an adjoining orchard.
Badgers End Cottage includes private spectacular ancient natural woodland.
The rare white stag is native to the Forest of Dean
From the cottage you are able to walk to the renowned Symonds Yat Rock and down to the river.
Spot wild boar piglets!
A carpet of bluebells can be found throughout the months of spring.
Follow the river to the famous Tintern Abbey
Canoeing and other watersports widely available, just 4 miles from the cottage.
Clearwell caves; the ancient natural iron ore mines can be found in the next village.
Local horse riding through beautiful woodland is available in the next riverside village.
Winter walk into the local town, just a 15 minute stroll away
You are welcome to bring your pets bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Coleford, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David H
1 review
“Lovely cottage.”
Reviewed March 25, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

What a lovely cottage. It was our first holiday with a new dog. The owner made us feel very welcome. The cottage was very clean and had a lovely homely feel about it. Location was good for walks and getting to the local attractions.
We would definitely come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2017
It was a pleasure to host you all. Barney is quite special and you couldnt help but fall in love with him! Thank you all for leaving the cottage so neat and tidy, much appreciated. We now have a growing number of wild skunks in the forest - what would Barney make of these, they are the same sort of height!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAE2017
Branford, Connecticut
1 review
“A warm welcome in the heart of the Forest”
Reviewed March 23, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My two children and I were visiting the UK for the holidays, and, in addition to sightseeing in London, I wanted to show them the English countryside and Wales. The Forest of Dean was the perfect place - a brief train ride from the city, with real English charm. But the real highlight of the trip was getting to know Carol and Tony and enjoying the warmth and comfort of Badger's End. It had everything we wanted, and more - including a fireplace! The beds were super comfortable; books, games, cards, and DVDs were plentiful for down times; and the kitchen was well stocked. Carol and Tony were full of fantastic ideas for day trips and sites to see: Big Pit, Tintern Abbey, Chepstow Castle, and more. JK Rowling grew up in the Forest, and you can see how the area influenced her writing (parts of the Harry Potter movies were filmed there) . We all want to return in the summertime to see Badgers End in full bloom, and to spend time with these wonderful hosts again! Heartily recommend this place!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2017
Thank you, it was a delight to have you as guests at Badgers End, and for leaving the cottage so neat and tidy. I'm so glad you saw a bit of 'UK ancient rural history' and brought it up to date with 'Harry Potter'. We will await your return visit in the summer when the forest is alive in so many different ways. The chocolate cakes will be waiting.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 30, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tony G
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Accomadation, loveley People”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Excellent accomadation with lovely people who knew lots about the area particularly the history of the Forrest of Dean,, 5 star rating will come again

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven... pass it on !”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We booked a short break Mon – Frd at Badgers End Cottage and if we could have stayed on we would have done !
The cottage ,which dates back to the 1830’s, is idyllically set up a small lane, which give it a great sense of privacy and calm.
However you are only 5 mins drive to Coleford and some great places to eat.
Parking is easy and upon entering we felt like it was a real home from home. From the lovely log burner , soft lighting, very well equipped kitchen, two good sized bedrooms, one ensuite and a big family bathroom, everything was just perfect .
Carol ,our host, was just amazing, so friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble.
The whole property is quite superb, totally faultless.
Whist’s there both my partner and I were able to really unwind, don’t worry there is Wi-Fi!
Now we have found Badgers End we shall return whenever we can... A truly magical place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole cottage was outstandingbut we loved the location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sam M
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Charming cottage great for walking and cycling”
Reviewed December 13, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This place never fails to charm and we have stayed there three times now and have enjoyed it every single time. We take our bikes normally as there's a cycle path to the left of the property that offers an easy ride to Colefield and into the forest cycle network. This time we left the cycles at home and rented proper mountain bikes at the cycling center for our first stab at mountain trails - it was amazing and the weather whilst damp did nothing to put us off. Here the cottage works well. Large porch to take wet stuff off. 2 bathrooms showers and bath, there's always a scrummy cake on arrival. Simmons Yat is a 5 minute drive away and offers amazing views and a lovely riverside walk with a hand pulled barge or narrow bridge to cross over each side. If you're prepared to go a bit further the saxon hill fort is worth trekking to and Merlins cave is great for the imagination. The cottage has all local walks avaiable in pamphlets plus details of all local eateries. We will be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy cottage feel, great location
Liked least: up a small lane so can be difficult to find in dark
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing