We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden gem”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Coleford, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
emmat189
wrexham
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The two bedroom cottage is very clean has everything you need, the welcome pack had free range eggs bread(mmmm),
And a bottle of wine, the grounds are beautiful , just not hot enough to go for a swim after a long day,

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nell W
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A delightful house nestled amidst a glorious setting - just perfect.”
Reviewed March 11, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The Buckstone House Coach House is a privilege to stay in. We felt immediately welcome, with a personal greeting from Douglas (the owner) and wine, milk, eggs, and bread awaiting us.

The house's charming layout is full of personality with plush furnishings, interesting antiques, and little loving touches peppered throughout - not to mention the views beyond. Both levels of the house are clean and cosy, the comfortable lounge and dining area being perfect for a social/family getaway whilst allowing guests privacy with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. We easily found maps and a great deal of useful information about the area in the kitchen and living room, ensuring that we were easily able to find our way around the Forest of Dean.

The local pub - The White Horse - is just down the road and serves great food and local beers, with the bonus of an open fire and a friendly dog.

Our stay was extremely peaceful and relaxing, thanks to Douglas' attention to detail in this high-quality accommodation. We would love to come back in the warmer months to test the pool and the tennis court.

Thank you again, Douglas, for the wonderful reception.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie H
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful accommodation in an ideal location for exploring the Forest of Dean.”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The Coach House has everything you need for a relaxing stay. Well thought out, clean and well equipped accommodation, with beautiful views of the local area and of course - the gorgeous gardens!
A double room on the ground floor with a bathroom (shower, toilet, basin, towel rail, and bathroom cabinet) was perfect for our teenage son, but would also suit someone less able bodied. Upstairs is a large, light and airy living room/dining room furnished with some beautiful pieces of furniture and ample seating. This has excellent views of the local area and grounds of the property. From this room you have access to your large double bedroom which has an en suite bathroom (shower, bath, toilet, basin and storage cupboard) Outside you have ample secure parking, a patio/bbq area with seating cushions & parasol, and a storage area that we used for our bikes during our stay. Under the car port you have access to a washing machine.
The White Horse is a few minutes walk away and serves excellent food, a few essential groceries and also has a large beer garden for those warmer evenings. We also tried Jewel Balti in Monmouth (3 miles away) which we would also recommend.
Out and about - we visited, Monmouth, The Bird of Prey Centre, Go Ape, Clearwell Caves, Secret Forest, cycled in the Forest of Dean, visited Symmonds Yat, canoed on the River Wye, and pony trekked in the forest. All within a 15 - 30 min drive of the property, we would recommend them all, and we only scratched the surface!
This is really good value, and probably the best s/c property we've stayed in. Communication from the owners was excellent and very informative & we were made to feel really welcome - we even made use of the tennis court and swimming pool during our stay.
With the location of the 2nd bedroom this may not be suitable for families with very young children. Saying this I did notice a camp bed in the wardrobe which would easily fit in the master bedroom.
The kitchen was adequate for us - it was well equipped and to be honest we ate out most evenings. Cooking/baking isn't for me when i'm on holiday but anyone wanting to may find the kitchen space a little small.
Overall we really recommend a stay at the Coach House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property & Location
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2014
The family were a delight to have and are planning to return - we do our best for our guests but can't guarantee that they will all get such good weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r22
UK
2 reviews
“Welcoming hosts and brilliant facilities”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Buckstone House is perfect for a family holiday - the house itself is very comfortable and there is a tennis court and a heated outdoor pool on site. We used both these facilities a lot. The gardens are also lovely and we enjoyed sitting out to eat some of our meals.

The house is nicely furnished and the kitchen is well equipped. We were provided with eggs, milk, bread, butter and wine on arrival, all of which we enjoyed.

There are lots of local activities nearby. We enjoyed a family bushcraft experience day, clearwell caves, the bird of prey centre and the sculpture trail. All worth doing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tennis and swimming pool on site
Liked least: Kitchen is relatively small but adequate.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Reviewed December 21, 2011 for a stay in December 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
People with disabilities
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Teddington
Reviewed July 23, 2010 for a stay in June 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Didcot
Reviewed July 14, 2010 for a stay in June 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing