We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food”

the dog and muffler inn
Ranked #6 of 36 Restaurants in Coleford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: near coleford
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We went for a romantic meal here as locals its always been a favourite over the years. And we were not disappointed at all. Food was amazing, service brilliant and the interior hasn't changed much but is still very cosy when the open fire is lit. A very warm welcome and we went for drinks after our lovely meal in the little intimate bar area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank customer2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    60
    18
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Country Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Recently went to this lovely pub while on holiday in the Wye Valley. It is down a county road with beautiful surroundings. We had the Steak and Strawberry special offer for £9.99 which is only on certain days. The meal was huge and then you could upgrade desert for £1.95 I had the strawberries and cream which was included and my husband had apple pie and custard which were both delicious. We would certainly go back again if we are in the area and recommend this pub as one to visit. The staff were lovely very welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Steak and Strawberries all round”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Excellent staff greeted us and served us well during our visit. We took our meal in the conservatory which is tastefully decorated with en-suite rabbits on the lawn. Food was very good with good helpings. There was a good range of drinks available. Well worth the visit but not the easiest place to find.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have used this establishment once before when staying in the area. The old Inn offers superb meals cooked by the owner to a very high standard, It's a family business in a quite location down a single track country road. I cannot recommend this more highly as the staff are efficient and helpful. The food is of a high standard and the prices are very reasonable. If in the area, then go and try it, you won't be disappointed. Best to pre book to avoid disappointment as they are always busy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheOldBoyStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We ate here a few times during our recent holiday to Forest of Dean. Staff were courteous and efficient, the atmosphere was friendly and welcoming, we even joined the quiz night. The food was excellent, good portion size well cooked and well presented, I would recommend the ribs, also the liver. A must if in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the dog and muffler inn also viewed

 
Coleford, Forest of Dean
Coleford, Forest of Dean
 
Newland, Coleford
Coleford, Forest of Dean
 

Been to the dog and muffler inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing