We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another visit to the Royal Forest of Dean”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lambsquay House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Coleford B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have travelled to the Forest many times over a number of years and have found our stays at The Lambsquay to be Excellant. Mike and Leslie are welcoming and friendly and provide comfortable accomodation with sustaining vitals,very clean and tidy. All in all a very good Hotel.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jack h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 76 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

If you haven't eaten in the restaurant or stayed in the hotel, then you haven't experienced the warmest of welcome and the lovely food that Mike, Lesley and Keith provide.
Sunday lunch is a must, the meal is well presented and of an excellent standard. Compliments to the amazing chef.
We would highly recommend the restaurant and hotel to anyone looking to visit the Royal Forest of Dean.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazza187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Brilliant weekend meeting up with old friends, wonderfully catered for by Mike and Lesely. Thoroughly recommend their services, nothing was too much trouble. Two excellent three course meals beautifully cooked and very efficiently served for 22 & 28 guests. Ron & Jean

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the friendly and warm hospitality of a 2 night stop at Lambsquay House for a reunion of old friends. Mike and Lesley are excellent hosts and were always on hand with great service and local knowledge.

We enjoyed great food with a sit down dinner for 24/28 or so on both evenings and at pretty reasonable prices, excellent bar and a good selection for breakfast including fish options. We were blessed with the "honeymoon" suite" which was very comfortable though we probably would have appreciated a slightly larger bed. The Jacuzzi was a welcome added feature. We will be happy to stay again and maybe venture further into the Forest!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacknGill_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We used the Lambsquay for an overnight stay when attending a wedding in the nearby Clearwell Castle. We were a tricky group comprising 1 couple, 1 single person & a family of 4. The management were extremely helpful and were able to provide us with a single, double & family room in their beautiful hotel with no trouble at all. The hotel is delightful and so quaint having been restored by the owners Lesley & Mike.
Highlights: receiving confirmation of booking incuding details of local taxi companies to help us book transport to the wedding ahead of our stay, being greeted by the very friendly owners who were eager to help with luggage and happy to rustle up some sandwiches for us all while we got ready for the wedding, spotless & cosy bedrooms with everything you need for a comfortable stay including tea/coffee,TV, toiletries, shoe kits, a great welcome brochure including a section about the owners and the history of the hotel, delicious breakfast with lots of home grown produce, delightful gardens to explore. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in the area. Great value, full of character & perfectly run.
Needless to say we would definitely return to the Lambsquay and next time we'd stay longer and be sure to book in for Sunday lunch!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Nice hotel with a lovely couple running it. Good location for the walks in the forest of dean. Plus breakfast good homely cooking and generous portions. Also the rooms were a good size with comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamesnicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Having previously been invited to a function at the Lambsquay House Hotel and having come away very impressed we decided to have our 50th wedding anniversary celebration there. It turned out to be an excellent venue, charming hosts (Mike and Leslie), lovely food and a very pleasant ambiance. All our guests were very complimentary. The bottom line is that we would go again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
3.1 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
787 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
684 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stowfield Barn
Stowfield Barn
#1 of 2 in Newland
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
1.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Coleford
117 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 11 in Coleford
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lambsquay House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lambsquay House Hotel

Address: Lambsquay Perrygrove Road, Coleford GL16 8QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Coleford
Price Range: $93 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lambsquay House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Lambsquay House Hotel Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing