We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & welcoming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lambsquay House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Coleford B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm & welcoming”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed in the honeymoon/executive suite and had great expectations from the reviews and the way it had been described. The bed was quite small I would have expected bigger being a honeymoon suite. Also jacuzzi I feel was quite small.

The hosts Mike and Lesley could not have been more welcoming or helpful though nothing was to much and the property is very beautiful. Would recommend but probably wouldn't spend the extra money on the executive suite as I'm sure the other rooms are just as nice with similar facilities.

All in all great experience and can't fault the hosts.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boober08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
22
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Myself and 13 others had a meal on mothers day 2012 whilst visiting the Forest of Dean. The hosts were very experienced and made us all feel very welcome. The food was fresh and well cooked, the building is in a lovely spot and is easy to find. If we visit the forest again, we will be booking to eat at the Lambsquay hotel and I recommend that you try it for yourself.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyandjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We recently went to the Forest of Dean for a few days and stayed at Lambsquay. We have been there before and were delighted to be back. Mike and Lesley are brilliant hosts for whom nothing seems to be too much trouble. Our room (at the front) had a very pleasant view over fields and woodland, and was, as usual, very clean, warm and comfortable. The ensuite was very clean and well appointed too. Meals in the restaurant are always delicious and beautifully presented, and the lounge with the bar is very comfortable too. You will have to go a long way to get such good value for money - we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I and a friend spent two nights here while exploring the Forest of Dean. Mike and Lesley are experienced and attentive hosts who look after their guests well and make them feel at home. They can provide a good range of information and advice about the area. Our room was clean and very comfortable and the restaurant was good; do save space for the filling but delicious desserts! A nice touch is the newsletter on the website and in the rooms - I enjoyed its mention of a little stone owl that had been rescued from the depths of the pond. Plenty of free parking in the driveway. A very pleasant and relaxing stay and I'd be happy to return.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JMVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We recently spent a four night break at Lambsquay House - it is a clean, comfortable family run hotel with rooms equipped to a high standard. The proprietors, Mike & Lesley, are very welcoming and are willing to adapt rooms to suit family requirements. The catering is also excellent prepared by chefs Keith & Lesley (a multi-tasker!) with an extensive and varied menu using local produce when available.
We were not familiar with the Forest of Dean before this visit but were pleasantly surprised by the attractions around the Coleford area and are planning another visit early next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We have been having our annual family party at the Lambsquay Hotel in September for over fifteen years without a break.Every reunion has been a wonderful day as Mike and Lesley are always so kind and hospitable.Nothing is ever too much trouble for the hotel.Each year twenty five or so take the opportunity to meet up and it is a testament to the hotel that we never fail to have compliments about the day.We intend to book in for 2012.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidstone kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

my wife & I stopped here for sunday lunch, on the way to lydney. like going back in time, wonderful service. excellent food .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancelot3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
0.9 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
639 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
703 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
456 reviews
0.7 mi away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 10 in Coleford
48 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Coleford
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lambsquay House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lambsquay House Hotel

Property: The Lambsquay House Hotel
Address: Lambsquay Perrygrove Road, Coleford GL16 8QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lambsquay House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Lambsquay House Hotel Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing