We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel with amazing hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lambsquay House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Coleford B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We spent the evening at the hotel due to a family party in the forest. There were six adults and three children in our party. Mike and Lesley could not have been more attentive. From the greetings when we arrived to the dashing out to us in the car park with all the items we left behind! The rooms were all incredibly comfortable and spacious, not too big or too small. The bathrooms had everything you could possibly need which our daughters thought was great. Breakfast was excellent, really really tasty and set us all up for the day. If you need a decent hotel, with great food and brilliant owners then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 76 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

Yet again a perfect vacation visiting family.
Mike and Lesley are always attentive and helpful.
Food is excellent for both Breakfast and Dinner.
Rooms have always been clean with ensuites with baths.
The Forest is wonderful, with Puzzlewood and a small steam train line within a short walking distance.
Nice and relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 315ChrisH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We took our family and close friends to lucheoon to celebrate our Golden Wedding. It was the ideal location. Pleasant homely surroundings, friendly staff and good home cooked food.

If you wish to entertain a group of friends for a nice meal, then to take this dining room that seats 16 persons, is like being at home but with friendly staff to take care of your needs.

Highly recommended for this purpose.

Colin Knight, St Briavels

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grenadiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We've been staying here with three generations of our family - 17 adults and 13 children - for a Family Event each September for the past five years. Mike and Lesley are the PERFECT hosts - nothing is too much trouble and we are always given the warmest of welcomes.
We take over the hotel for the entire weekend, and are only looking for a new location for future years as there are just too many of us - understandably, Mike and Lesley feel that adding new bedrooms just to accomodate our expanding family is a bit too much too expect!!
We would recommend their accomodation and hospitality as being truly wonderful ,and will definitely be continuing our visits - just as smaller family units.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Churcher3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

A very nice run hotel, Mike and Lesley were extremely helpful throughout our stay. Our room was incredibly clean as was the rest of the hotel. En suite bathroom with both bath and shower. Good breakfast and evening meals, comfortable lounge with bar.

All in all a pleasant stay, at a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

All aspects of the stay were great. The room itself was a reasonable size and was clean and comfortable. The en suite bathroom was also clean and had a bath and shower. The room also featured a lot of nice little touches like guides to nearby attractions, shoe cleaning kit, things in the bathroom like disposable razors, and a hair dryer. The owners, Mike and Lesley, were very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for Mike and Lesley and they were very accommodating over our late change of plans. There's also plenty of free parking and a lounge (complete with bar).

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daveed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

I stayed here recently with a few friends in order to attend a wedding at Clearwell Castle. I stayed here manly because it was cheaper than many of the nearby hotels, but I was very pleasantly surprised. It is very close to the castle and Clearwell Caves, and both are within walking distance if you don't mind a few country lanes without proper footpaths.

All aspects of the stay were great. The room itself was a reasonable size and was clean and comfortable. The en suite bathroom was also clean and had a bath and shower. The room also featured a lot of nice little touches like guides to nearby attractions, shoe cleaning kit, things in the bathroom like disposable razors, and a hair dryer. The owners were very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was good. There's also plenty of free parking and a lounge (complete with bar).

I would definitely stay at this hotel again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank lollo2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
3.1 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
788 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
684 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stowfield Barn
Stowfield Barn
#1 of 2 in Newland
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
1.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Coleford
117 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 11 in Coleford
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lambsquay House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lambsquay House Hotel

Address: Lambsquay Perrygrove Road, Coleford GL16 8QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Coleford
Price Range: $93 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lambsquay House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Lambsquay House Hotel Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing