We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service,hospitality and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Speech House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Coleford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed recently as a group of walkers and cyclists on a mid-week break.

Location: Centrally sited right in the heart of the Forest of Dean with easy access to all of the local attractions.

Rooms: All in the main building, nicely appointed, clean and will all the usual facilities.

Food: Breakfast and dinner was taken in the The Verderer's Court which was truly exceptional in terms of variety and quality. Additionally, according to the menu, all food sourced locally, in season and fish caught on line. Good to see this in place.

For the first time, we were even offered a cheese menu for the cheese board which was a nice touch - I can highly recomend the "Firecracker".

Staff: Exceptionally professional, polite and accomodating - a real credit to the hotel

Niggles: Only minor niggle, not hotels fault, but area is a bit of a mobile "black spot" as far a reception is concerned.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Shaun B,
Thank you for taking time to leave a review on your recent stay with us at the Speech House Hotel.
Thank you for your very kind comments regarding the attention and professionalism sown by my team., I have passed them on to every one concerned.
Thank you also for your observations on our food, we have found our cheese and liqueur menu has been very well received.
We are in deed in the very heart of the Royal Forest, central for all activities with walking and cycle trails on the doorstep.
Our location does have one slight drawback in that mobile reception is intermittent despite us having installed booster reception dishes. We are continually lobbying for better signal strength.
We all look forward to welcoming you and your group back, when we hope the River Wye will be at a lower level to allow you to explore the area by canoe.
We all enjoyed looking after your group and we hope you return again.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
There are newer reviews for The Speech House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 752 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

We booked a courtyard standard double but requested a room away from any events (you can check the hotel website and work out if there is a wedding on!) - on arrival we were given what the receptionist called a superior room in the main house instead (what I gather is a 'cosy double' on the 'rooms' section of the website) and this was indeed about as far away as you could get from the wedding marquee. We could still hear a little noise on the Saturday night but only just and the music stops at midnight sharp. The room itself was clean, spacious enough and had a bathtub. There was a bit of a view but the window was too high to get much enjoyment from it and this made the room a little dark (but then we were in the eaves so..). The main road out front is quite noisy in the day but quiet at night. The staff were very helpful - we had taken rather expensive mountain bikes and the staff offered a couple of areas where they could be securely locked in. The location is great - you can join the family cycle trail just down the road and that's just a couple of minutes from the main Cannop Cycle Centre where you can join the other more challenging trails. We ate in the Orangery on the Friday evening - food was delicious, reasonably priced and the service was excellent. Breakfast was fine - usual fare - cooked items were kept nice and hot and there was a selection of cereals, fruit and pastries - perfectly adequate but room for improvement if the hotel want to be known for a good slap up breakfast! All in all very happy with Speech House and would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you aren't with a wedding party and don't want to be disturbed then do request a quiet ro...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bebe_668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Bebe_668
Thanks for taking time to leave a review on your recent stay at the Speech House.
I am pleased to read that you had a great stay and were well looked after by our team during your stay.
We do try where ever possible to keep non function guests away from the Thanks again for your great feedback which I have passed on to the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and I hope you had a safe journey home.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had Two day break here and stayed in the main 4 poster bed room the room is very nice with plenty of space two comfortable chairs in the window and a large dressing room and en suite bathroom , the food in the main restaurant is very good as is the breakfast.the staff were all very helpfully highly recommend for a short break.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharpman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Sharpman 2014,
Thanks for taking time to leave a review on your recent stay with us at the Speech House Hotel.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were well looked after by our team.
I have passed on your very kind comments to all of our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Speech House in the not to distant future.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Stopped for two nights on a deal with secrete Escapes. Staffs are extremely good and very friendly. We had evening meal as well as breakfast, breakfast was very plentiful and sets you up for the day.The evening meal was very good and well served.we had a junior suit top floor room 6,A separate bedroom, separate lounge with seating, and a bathroom. Plenty of storage. Set out in a olde world mode, bit dark for me, but that's the old building small windows set high up.As for the hitches as mentioned in the title.
In all the junior suits we have had there is always another TV in the separate seating area giving the room some purpose. Also the one TV in the bedroom was very old fashioned, very small, but the signal was so weak we could not get a picture, mentioned to the reception, told because we are in a valley signal is poor.?? Also the Wi Fi is as poor, good in reception but hit and miss in room.
Also going back to the room, a small fridge and a safe deposit box would not go a miss.i am not running the hotel down far from it, just suggestions that might in prove the stay.good location for the Forest of Dean.plenty of parking too on site.
Thank you Speech house for a pleasant stay.

Mr and Mrs Lomax.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Cccccccccccvvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Mr & Mrs Lomax,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us at The Speech House.
I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were well looked after by our team throughout your stay.
With regard to the points you raise, I take on board your suggestion of an additional TV in the lounge area, small fridge and safe.
We have invested heavily in WI FI boosters and try our best with the signal around the hotel. Sadly back in the 1660's they constructed walls in excess of 2' deep which is not conducive to allowing full signal strength to reach all rooms.
As your pictures show, we do try to furnish the rooms with antiques where possible so as to compliment the historic building.
I am delighted to read that overall your stay was to your satisfaction and thank you for your very generous comments which I have passed on to our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Speech House in the near future.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

an ideal night away from home (and children) to spend some quality time with my husband. booked for our wedding anniversary and can think of no where better to celebrate. you have comfort with a splash of luxury, helpful staff and food of superb quality. this was our second visit and won't be our last. a wonderful treat!.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trudy_price
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Trudy_Price,
Thanks for taking time to leave a review on your recent stay with us at The Speech House.
It is always good to welcome back guests who have stayed with us before and to learn that we have once again made your stay with us attentive and welcoming.
Thank you once again for your very kind comments and feedback which I have passed on to all our team.
We look forward to you returning once again in the near future.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked up online for short stay recently and we loved it! We had booked a package deal with local bike hire for a day out exploring the forest of dean! The hotel supplied us both with a delicious packed lunch to take with us. We stayed in room 6 on the top floor of the main house, a junior suite. The room was very large with a separate bathroom and lounge area, very clean! The room had robes, towels, toiletries, tea making facilities and the biggest most comfortable bed! We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was ok, I have to say I think the chef likes his salad as over half our plates was pre packed salad!! Also there was a lot of staff stood around wondering what to do, basically watching us eat waiting for us to finish, this is not a nice experience! The breakfast was wonderful, a buffet style but everything you could need and tasted great! Rosie on reception was very helpful and friendly, organised our stay for us and it was lovely... Thank you! Overall this is a beautiful place to stay and we will be back!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Kelly S,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us at The Speech House.
I am delighted to learn that you had a very enjoyable stay with us and were well looked after by our team.
I would like to assure you that our Chefs do not use pre packed salad, and that all of our salad produce is delivered and freshly prepared as required at the time.
I can only apologise if you were slightly distracted by the additional staff on duty in the restaurant but we do get our new members of the team to shadow the more experienced members so as they can quickly learn to offer the levels of service we try to offer our guests.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you plan to return in the future.
I have passed on your generous comments to both Rosie and the rest of the team.
Hoping you had a safe and uneventful journey home.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a nearby wedding. Building is beautiful and kept very well. Rooms are spotless with very modern bathrooms. Grounds are beautiful. The lady on reception went out of her way to help us, very friendly staff. Breakfast was delicious. Highly recommended for a weekend get away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Dear LDB 09,
Thank you for taking time to leave a review on your recent stay at the Speech House.
I was delighted to read that you were extremely happy with your stay with us and that my team looked after you very well.
I have passed on your very kind comments to all of my team and we look forward to you returning once again for your country get away.
I hope that you had a safe and uneventful journey home.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
3.9 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
663 reviews
9.3 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
2.7 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,595 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
495 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Speech House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Speech House Hotel

Address: Speech House Road | Speech House, Coleford GL16 7EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Coleford
Price Range: $110 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Speech House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly built in 1669, as a Hunting Lodge for Charles II the Speech House sits at the heart of the Royal Forest of Dean.The main house has 15 bedrooms including three antique four poster beds.The remainder of rooms are situated in the Courtyard and Cottage.The hotel is home to one of only two Verderers Courts in the UK and is used as the main restaurant for the hotel.The hotel offers a wide range of room type to suit all budgets, and is pet friendly in the Courtyard rooms, subject to availability.The Orangery is open to non residents for morning coffee,aftrernoon teas, and bar lunches and evening meals.Free Wi Fi is available to residents for 1 hour during their stay and then it is subject to a small charge.There are approximately 253 miles of walking and cycling trails on the doorstep of the hotel. Speechhouse is an ideal venue for touring the Wye Valley,Gloucestershire and the Southern Cotswolds and South Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Speech House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speech Hotel Coleford
The Speech House Hotel Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing