We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Speech House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Paddocks Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Court Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Hotel(Monmouth)
$94
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DeanGate Motel(Lydney)(Great Value!)
$58
$56
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Belfry Hotel(Littledean)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (813)
Filter reviews
813 results
Traveler rating
393
273
103
24
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
393
273
103
24
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard roomcream teafour postermain buildingverderers courtforest of deanhunting lodgesunday lunchbeefsculpture traillovely locationself serviceposter bedenjoyable stayfamily roomshort breaklovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
677 - 682 of 813 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a voucher offer for the hotel which made it very affordable but this really did not colour our judgement. If you went to any hotel you could always find a little point to pick on or mark down but in this case they were more than compensated for by the other areas where the hotel excelled.

The first was the staff absolutely excellent have that lovely balance between friendliness without over familiarity and informality without losing the service, for us they are a key feature of our stay there.

We had an afternoon tea and this was excellent value for money well worth it and very nice too :) So our experience of the food marked up wellas we also had breakfast at the hotel.

The only little negative ... and the hotel are addressing this... was the wifi which was only really available in reception which as i say the hotel say they are addressing the reason being that due to the location normal phone signal can be a bit hit and miss.

The location itself is excellent though can be a little confusing the first time you find it ... nature of being in the middle of a forest however as it is a well known building there are plenty of signs and once found you realise it was on a easy enough to find crossraods ina great central locatoion and you jst weren't great at navigating :)

All in all a really great friendly well located hotel offering good value for money especially on any offers which appears to monitor itself very well in looking for improvements I would definitely go back

Room Tip: we preferred the main house rather than the courtyard but there are up to 2 flights of stairs so check
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cules_flatlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Coiules-Flatlander,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us at The Speech House.
I am delighted to read that you had a throughly good stay with us and that you found our team very attentive and customer focused without being intrusive.
It was also good to read that you enjoyed our food and especially our afternoon tea, and that you found it great value for money.
We are indeed improving our WI FI and it will soon be available throughout most of the hotel. Our location at the centre of the Royal Forest does indeed make reception a slight problem however we are one of the few venues that has good mobile phone reception due to us ihaving already installed signal boosters.
As you can appreciate with the Speech House being such an historic building we are unable to install a lift and with walls 2 feet thick Wi Fi has presented us with a few challenges, but we are working to improve it.
We often display available offers on our web site and are glad you find them great value.
Thanks again for leaving a review and we look forward to welcominmgn you both back in the future, perhaps for the wonderfull displays of Blue Bells around March April time.
We hope you had a safe and uneventful journey home.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just returned from 2 nights in The Speech House Hotel and must say it's a fantastic place to stay!

The staff are very friendly, the service is great (although a little slow to be served our dinner in the Orangery, the staff were so lovely, and the food so tasty, that you can forgive the initial speed...)

We had a four poster bedroom in the courtyard which was an excellent choice as it meant we could park right outside the door to our room. It also meant we could pop outside at any time for fresh air (also known as a fag!)

The scenery surrounding the hotel is stunning - well worth a visit for the sunset alone. Symonds Yat is only 3.5 miles away and that's always worth a visit as it's so picturesque.

Definitely a hotel that I would visit again and again, and highly recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Bedrooms in the courtyard are so convenient, and a four-poster one is worth the extra for the pure indulgence.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Scarlettcrafts,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us at the Speech House.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found everything to your satisfaction.
I have passed on your very kind comments to the team, on the level of customer service you received during your stay.
With regard to the speed of food delivery I apologise if it was a little slow but we cook everything from scratch and although it does specify this on the menu and it could take up to 20 minutes the staff should have mentioned it to you.
I am glad you enjoyed your "Four Poster" room in the Courtyard Royals, they are indeed great for accessability to your vehicle.
The scenery both on the door step and within a short drive is I agree stunning, especially with 253 miles of walking and cycling trails throughout The Royal Forest.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and hope that you had a safe and uneventful journey home.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just returned from a short break at the Speech House Hotel. The location is superb, right in the centre of the Forest of Dean. We had planned forest walks but the deep snow when we arrived meant a re-think; even so, our tour around the area was most enjoyable and the winter snowscapes magical. The staff went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable - breakfasts were great and dinners in the Orangery excellent - good food, well presented and good value. We can't speak highly enough of the service and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gladbags99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Gladbags,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us at the Speech House Hotel.
I was delighted to read that you both had a great break and enjoyed your stay with us despite the heavy snowfall. The Royal Forest is indeed magical whatever the weather, but even more so when covered in snow.
I have passed on your very kind comments to all our team and i am pleased to hear that you enjoyed all of your meals.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Speech House, please look at our web site for our special offers.
Thank you once again for taking time to leave a review on your stay.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel is comfortable but does not match the expectations set by the website. My room was in the main house and I stayed there with a group of colleagues, some of whom said they were more pleased with their rooms in outbuildings. The room was clean but basic and I was not happy that the toilet was blocked and the hotel was full so I couldn't be moved.

The bar area was small. This hole is ok but nothing special. Do not be fooled by the stunning exterior!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKMS151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear RKMS
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us at the Speech House.
I was sorry to read that you felt we failed to meet your expectations.
As soon as you reported your toilet was blocked we sent our maintainance man immediatley to resolve the problem which he duly did.
All of the rooms in the main house were recently refurbished and have received many great reviews, so I am sorry you thought yours was basic.
The bar area is small, but to compensate we do offer table service in the Orangery. Unfortunately when buildings were constructed back in 1669 they did not make provision for large bars. The building is listed and therefore cannot be altered to any great extent.
I am delighted to read that you thought the exterior of the building to be stunning and that your colleagues thought the exterior Courtyard rooms they stayed in were pleasant..
Once again I am sorry we appeared not to have met your expectations, but thank you for taking time to leave your review.
Yours sincerely
Peter Hands
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here with a couple of friends for two nights one of which was New Years eve. Had a fantastic experience. They cook one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. Staff are wonderfully friendly nothing is too much trouble. Rooms lovely and comfy, we were in a second floor room so had great views over the Forest of Dean. Good trails on the doorstep to walk off that great breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthieCheshire_U_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear RuthieCheshire_u,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us over New Year.
I was delighted to read that we had met and hopefully exceeded your expectations during your stay over New Year..
Thank you for your most kind comments that I have passed on to the members of our team and I am pleased that you felt you were so well looked after.
There are indeed many miles of walking & cycling trails on our doorstep and as you say they are ideal for walking of the traditional breakfast.
It is always good to receive feedback, but especially to learn from our customers that they have enjoyed their stay with us.
Thank you once again for your review on the Speech House and our team look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes for a happy & prosperous 2013.

Peter Hands
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews