We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dome Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dome Garden
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband camps with the children but I won't - however I made an exception when he showed me this website and agreed that with an 'en suite' bathroom I might be persuaded to try 'glamping'. I am so glad I did. With our two children in tow ages 11 & 10 and the bikes loaded on the roof rack we headed off to this secluded spot. The Dome was spacious and so bright and light. The 'ensuite' is a wonderful bonus - with hot water ingeniously heated by a wood burner. We were fortunate to have wonderful weather which meant we could make the most of the amazing cycling in the area from family cycle paths to scary mountain biking right from the back gate of the Dome Garden. When we were back at the Dome the kids disappeared off playing with all the other kids on the zip wire or swings or harassing the chickens for eggs! If like us you didn't fancy cooking you can opt for the cooked breakfasts and evening meals on offer which are very sociable. After 5 days I felt truly rested and reinvigorated, the kids had had a blast even with the ban on electronics and the husband had thoroughly enjoyed chopping wood and lighting fires. Remember this is upmarket camping not a hotel so if you are like me and you like some creature comforts whilst getting away from it all then I would highly recommend it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraBonneff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    10
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

There are many family reviews of the Dome Garden already on this site, and I agree with just about all of the comments.
One important consideration is the weather though. I'm not an avid camping fan, so I was a little unsure initially of opting for any "outdoors" stay in the British summer. Clearly the organizers had me in mind when they planned this place. Enough warmth is provided by the wood burners in each Dome tent (yes, a wood burner in the tent - it gives you some idea of the size of these things!); plus also wood burning kettles and boilers provide more creature comforts in the Domes. Yes, running hot water (and flushing toilet) for each Dome. Amazing. Not really camping at all.
Elsewhere tree swings, zip wires, fire pits and the woodland next door keep kids of most ages amused.
And if the weather really isn't playing ball - even in the pouring rain, the awning over the communal dining area allows alfresco munching (you can opt for the hosts to cook for you, which I heartily recommend!) without being soaked by the elements. And if you get a little cabin fever, then a jaunt to Monmouth's antique shops, the Forest of Dean's shadowy lanes, Tintern Abbey, Symonds Yat or even Chepstow Castle are all a modest drive away.
Probably the high spot is the almost immediate communal vibe you feel, with everyone getting on and kids making friends instantly, all cheered on by hosts Jonny and Helen, who simply can't do enough. Pizza night is a triumph, not in the sense of making any of us a pizza chef, but in terms of bringing people together. Don't miss out, it is fabulous.
We've already booked a return visit... which is usually the ultimate sign of how good it was.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at The Dome Garden with our 3 boys - aged 13, 12 and 10. My husband and the boys all loved lighting the fires, chopping wood, playing on the rope swings and zip wires, collecting eggs - and I loved the proper beds and duvets and en suite bathroom! The pizza evening was great - as was the cooked breakfast. We can highly recommend and hope to return again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had a long weekend at the Dome garden with my 6 & 8 year old kids. We had been there 2 years ago and had slightly mixed feelings as things were just coming together then. This time round we had a whale of a time. Firstly, the location, right on the edge of the Forest of Dean is easy to get to and has easy access to countless bike trails of varying difficulties. The Domes are warm and well equipped. Lots of cooking facilities which we made full use of. The wood burning stoves are dead easy to use. Best of all are the kids facilities - swings, tree houses, chickens, zip wires all added to the experience. The kids made friends and spent the time running around engaged in various activities like wild boar hunts. They had to be almost dragged away on the last day. The owner, Jonny was most accommodating about our departure time and that allowed us to maximise our long weekend.

Overall, the cost is not insignificant, compared to "proper" camping but I, for one, much prefer a large water proof dome and en suite facilities for my precious holiday time.

Many, many happy family memories!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Splendid site for a family holiday. We had excellent weather so that also helped - not sure if it would have been as fun if it was raining all the time.

Very close to all the key attractions in the Forest of Dean.

Sleep was excellent - even though you are woken at sunrise you just seem to naturally turn over and go back to sleep.

All the domes are different - different numbers of beds, shower or bath or both etc. so give some thought to what you will need for your stay.

Quite high tech approach to camp cooking that didn't phase us as we have a stove at home.

Johnny and Mo are very friendly, helpful and approachable.

Room Tip: Remember to ask for directions when you book as there are no signs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just got back today. Went with family including two 6 year old boys. The weekend was perfect. The domes are amazing and the atmosphere of the place is great. Its camping without the need to pad across fields in the dark for the toilets! You still feel active, keeping the fires going but at the end of the day you have a comfortable bed to sleep in.
We met some great people and the boys had a fantastic time. We had the hanging beds for the kids and they loved them.
Highly recommend it as this place is unique and unlike anywhere else i have been.

Room Tip: If you have young kids get one with the hanging beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have just come back from a wonderful trip to the Dome Garden with our 5 boys aged 8-12 and 2 other families!
Wow! The domes are stunning, comfy, fun, well equipped and just so unique!
Great welcome from Johny, Helen & Mo! Who made us truly welcome, gave great tips for cycling trails! Wonderful cooking tips after making us the most fabulous pizzas & salad in their huge pizza oven Saturday night! The bikes trails were great! Scary ones for the mad and brave! Family friendly ones for the young & old! The site was so lovely, right on the edge of the forest! Fun & safe but adventurous for the kids, zip wires & swings! And the boys just loved the chickens! Be warned! If you leave food out they will find it! It was lovely swing squirrels wandering round, wild boar on the bike ride! & even a late night visit from a friendly frog! I don't "do" camping! But found the comfort of the domes and the fabulous bathrooms a real treat! But with the fun and adventure of making fires to heat the water & cook our breakfast! And loved the storm kettle for making the tea! Great fish & chips from local town down the road! Will definitely be back! The place cats for small family's and also has a "super dome" which sleeps about 12! They also do corporate events fully catered! So unique! And great fun!

Room Tip: All stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
1.8 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Whitemead Forest Park
Whitemead Forest Park
#1 of 2 in Parkend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 10 in Coleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.4 mi away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 10 in Coleford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dome Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dome Garden

Property: Dome Garden
Address: Beeches Avenue | Mile End, Coleford GL16 7DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique collection of 12 geodesic domes in a beautiful garden in the heart of the beautiful Forest of Dean.The domes have en-suite facilities, wood fired hot water boilers and stoves as well as timber decks, firepits and forest kitchens. It's like the Eden Project only you can stay in it, play in it and sleep in it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dome Garden Hotel Coleford
Dome Garden Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing