We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting friends”
Review of The Rock B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rock B&B
Ranked #1 of 11 Coleford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Returned again to The Rock B and B at the start of August for a 7 nights stay, I think this was my 5th stay in less than a year! I love in here.
This time we booked both dog friendly rooms as there was 3 of us plus 3 dogs which was great as we could lock the joining door so the dogs could go between rooms. It also meant my teenage daughter had her own room and privacy but was only next door if she had any problems.
We was lucky and had perfect weather all week, great breakfast, great service, great walks and great places and ideas for other activities to do and places to eat.
Due to the weather being great we made good use of the garden, enjoying takeaways, the views and playing with our dogs plus the B and B owners dogs.
I can't fault The Rock B and B, Chris and Lindy have always been very friendly, perfect hosts. Visiting The Rock B and B is more like visiting friends than a business. We enjoy chatting with Chris, Lindy and other guests in the breakfast room and in the garden, giving the place a really relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We will be back again soon as a couple or with my daughter having great breakfasts, lovely walks and great company.

Room Tip: If you don't have dogs I would pay a little more and get a studio room over looking the valley...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaun073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
There are newer reviews for The Rock B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 441 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Rock enjoys an unparalleled situation overlooking idyllic farmland, with the Malvern Hills in the far distance. Easily accessible by road it is quietly located very close to woodland pathways leading to Symonds Yat and the river valley. The room we stayed in was exceptionally well appointed, private and comfortable. The hosts take great care to make their guests welcome and to suggest how they might make the most of their visit. Breakfast is high quality and the accommodation is scrupulously clean. Unbelievable value for money. Altogether, an excellent holiday experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norfolkexile6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Spent 2 nights at The Rock. Accomodation superb (had the four poster room) Breakfast was excellent in lovely surroundings (best bacon i have ever had and the poached eggs cooked to perfection) Owners were very helpfull and suggested walks, restaurants etc. Would not hesitate to recommend to others and will definately visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonAlBigTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Rock was peaceful, pristine and relaxing. The Full English Breakfast, cooked by Chris and served by Lindy, was excellent; even the toast was good! The views from the garden were spectacular and it was very handy both for Coleford and the local pub. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Really recommend anyone coming here ..... my room (single) was modern, spotlessly clean with everything in working order. I had a swinging chair outside my room with a beautiful view across the Ruardean Valley. Walked up to the Symonds Yat Rock - a must in my opinion, it was an easy walk through the Forest and the end result was stunning. Breakfast is plentiful and cooked really well using local produce, you can eat as little or as much as you want. There is lots to do and see in the surrounding area with a good choice of local pubs.
Chris and Lindy are very welcomming and helpful - they helped with directions and suggested interesting places to visit.
When next in the area I will definitely be staying here, without a doubt. :-)

Room Tip: There is a separate outside extension with 3 rooms - I had the single in the middle but was given a...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YDS-Yvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Spent a week at The Rock and thorough enjoyed our stay, helped by the comfortable and clean room and the friendly hosts - not forgetting superb scenery. The veggie sausages are excellent and the breakfast so "full" we hardly needed lunch!

Room Tip: Be prepared to be woken by lambs bleating in the field next door!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at The Rock. It is conveniently located near great walks. There is a beautiful view from the property, with a pleasant peaceful garden. Chris and Lindy are friendly helpful hosts and provide extensive information about local resources. The rooms are clean and comfortable and breakfast is delicious and plentiful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenniejaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
3.5 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
751 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
663 reviews
5.0 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
136 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ferndale House
Ferndale House
#1 of 2 in Lydbrook
376 reviews
2.5 mi away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 11 in Coleford
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rock B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock B&B

Address: Hillersland | The Forest of Dean, Coleford GL16 7NY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Coleford
Price Range: $57 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rock B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stay at The Rock B&B in Coleford near Symonds Yat Rock offers great value bed and breakfast in the Forest of Dean providing friendly family run Guest accommodation. Equidistant between Coleford, Monmouth and Ross on Wye within a mile of the Herefordshire, Gloucestershire and Monmouthshire borders, making this is a great place to explore the Welsh Borders Wye Valley and Ancient Forest of Dean by foot car or bike. Also, if you looking for B&B in Symonds Yat. Located at 600ft one the ridge between the Wye and Ruardean Valleys The Rock B&B offers 25 mile views and is a short forest walk from Symonds Yat Rock, which is the most popular tourist attraction in the Forest Of Dean. Symonds Yat East and Symonds Yat West, Ross on Wye, Herefordshire and the Symonds Yat Rock RSPB Peregrine view point are all within easy reach. The Symonds Yat Walks start only 30 paces away from the door and activities such as river cruises, horse riding, climbing, canoeing, Lama treking and fishing are close by. A seven bedroom friendly family run establishment the Rock B&B offers 4 star bed and breakfast accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rock B&B Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing