We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really comfortable overnight stay”
Review of The Rock B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rock B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Coleford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Really comfortable overnight stay”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Greeted by a lovely friendly couple, Chris and Lindy. Shown to a forest view room, which had recently been refurbished to a very good standard. It had a kingsize bed, squishy pillows and good quality bedding. An adequate en-suite shower room. I thought the shower gel/shampoo/conditioner dispenser on the wall was a great idea.
We both had a full English breakfast the next morning, which we couldn't fault. They use locally sourced ingredients of a very high quality. Delicious..... but there were other options. We ate in the breakfast/lounge room, but Lindy did say that at warmer times of the year, you would be permitted to eat at one of the tables in the garden. I can imagine that would be a treat to start your day, with such a fantastic view.
I would highly recommend The Rock.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nasaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    43
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
65
278
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2012

After a long stressful journey it was wonderful to be greeted by Lindy and made to feel so welcome.Lovely room, breakfast and owners. Wish we could have stayed more than one night. Thank you Chris and Lindy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at The Rock B and B, having had a lovely time.

On arrival we was met by Lindy who showed us to our room, a dog friendly twin. This was a lovely room, very clean and tidy, felt very homely with tea / coffee / biscuits supplied, flat screen TV with freeview and a nice en suite with shower. The room had plenty of cupboards etc and was really well looked after. The shower had shampoo, conditioner and shower gel all provided in a wall mounted dispenser which I thought was a really great idea. The room also had a tray for storing muddy boots and umbrellas were provided if you wanted to use them. I couldn't ask for more. In the room was a book providing the details of local pubs and takeaways etc, walks right from the door and discounts off of some of the local attractions and restaurants.
Breakfast the following morning and every morning was 1st class. Tea / Coffee / Juice are all provided, cereals, bread for breakfast and toast all on hand. I had a full english every morning which was delicious! you could taste all the ingredients were of the highest quality. Other options included a vegetarian fry up, fruit compote and any variation of an english breakfast you wanted i.e. scrambled egg on toast etc
Each morning while tea and coffee were topped up by Lindy, Chris would come out and ask if any of the guests needed any assistance with walking plans for the day. We used numerous of these over our stay One was a few miles long, another which was 14 miles and a rainy day driving tour with numerous stop off points of interest. These were all fantastic, extremely well presented using local maps or laminated sheets Chris had made himself. To say these guides were idiot proof is an understatement! Chris has a fantastic knowledge of the local walks, pubs, restaurants and history.
During the warmer months guests can book the use of the hot tub which was lovely at the end of a long days walking. Guests can also use the lounge area in the evenings for takeaways or just to relax, in the colder months the room has a log burner which Chris and Lindy will put on for you.
All in all The Rock B and B was an excellent place to stay and superb value for money and will be the only place we stay in the Forest of Dean.

Room Tip: All the rooms at The Rock look lovely but when we left we was shown the 2 larger studio rooms. These...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaun073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel was lovely with a welcoming from Chris and Lindsay who make your stay a pleasure. The breakfast was wonderful with a veggie option (3 of us were). We picked this b and b because of the dog friendly rooms and they were really up to high standard with comfy beds, nice showers, clean white towels, and a great tea, coffee and hot chocolate tray for the cold evening. We also found that the breakfast lounge can be used for our takeaways in the evening with you not finding you are a nonsence to them at all. I would recommend this b and b 4* rating to others with or without dogs.

Room Tip: Forest rooms on bottom level are dog friendly and if you are going with family or friends are back t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caz635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was without doubt, great value for money. Our room was clean,warm and well equipped with good quality shower gel, shampoo products, black-outblinds, 100% cotton bedding, umbrella's, hot chocolate, biscuits etc. The countryside views first thing in the morning were breath-taking. Breakfast was well made - the mushrooms cooked in butter and good bread (not the cheap stuff) for toast. The icing on the cake was the hot-tub, which is available through until the end of October.
We were travelling in a car we were quite precious about, but the parking was plentyful, without the fear that someone would bash our doors in a tight parking space!
I would recommend this B&B to friends without a doubt!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and we must say the accommodation was excellent. The room we stayed in was clean and fresh and the wet room was superb. The views were to die for and in the morning the breakfast was worth waking up for. Lindy was really chatty and friendly and always willing to help. We would highly recommend this B and B if you are wanting a relaxing stay in the Forest of Dean.
Thanks again for your hospitality and will definately be coming back.

Room Tip: we can only comment on the room we stayed in and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneParkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have stayed at several places in Coleford, but always try The Rock first, because it is friendly and a lot cheaper.The rooms are very clean & comfortable. The place is very close to many local sites, as well as the Forest. They are always trying to please and welcome any comments that can improve the service they offer. Little thinks, like umbrella's in the room to get to your car. Good parking. The breakfast is fresh and sourced locally, with the sausages being the best I have ever had. You can book on-line and they will ring back to confirm. You can get access to your room 24 / 7 with your own key. You can use their hot tub. Lovely views with walks after breakfast. Ask & they will always try there upmost to meet your requirements. Lovely friendly couple.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
3.5 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
721 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
117 reviews
5.0 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
2.5 mi away
Ferndale House
Ferndale House
#1 of 2 in Lydbrook
362 reviews
2.5 mi away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 10 in Coleford
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rock B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock B&B

Property: The Rock B&B
Address: Hillersland | The Forest of Dean, Coleford GL16 7NY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rock B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stay at The Rock B&B in Coleford near Symonds Yat Rock offers great value bed and breakfast in the Forest of Dean providing friendly family run Guest accommodation. Equidistant between Coleford, Monmouth and Ross on Wye within a mile of the Herefordshire, Gloucestershire and Monmouthshire borders, making this is a great place to explore the Welsh Borders Wye Valley and Ancient Forest of Dean by foot car or bike. Also, if you looking for B&B in Symonds Yat. Located at 600ft one the ridge between the Wye and Ruardean Valleys The Rock B&B offers 25 mile views and is a short forest walk from Symonds Yat Rock, which is the most popular tourist attraction in the Forest Of Dean. Symonds Yat East and Symonds Yat West, Ross on Wye, Herefordshire and the Symonds Yat Rock RSPB Peregrine view point are all within easy reach. The Symonds Yat Walks start only 30 paces away from the door and activities such as river cruises, horse riding, climbing, canoeing, Lama treking and fishing are close by. A seven bedroom friendly family run establishment the Rock B&B offers 4 star bed and breakfast accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rock B&B Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing