We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rock B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rock B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Coleford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Daventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend break”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend break and enjoyed the Rock b&b and the beautiful countryside. We were a party of four plus a beloved Fido. My daughter and fella had a dog friendly room and we had a no dog room. To be honest there was no difference both rooms were spotlessly clean, warm, comfortable bed and good shower. The breakfast was excellent which set us up for the day. Good base to explore the countryside and the many short and long walks.. The owners do a good job in looking after their guests both with the food and the helpful advise as to the best walks and other activities. Would recommend as well as the dog friendly New Inn for a evening meal which is a short distance away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    40
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
63
262
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have been coming to the Rock for several years and use it as a base for our kayaking trips on the Wye and for playing on the rapids at Symonds Yat. The B & B is in a great location with stunning views. The rooms are very comfortable and the hosts - Chris & Lindy - are really friendly & helpful.Their breakfasts set you up for the whole day. The area is also ideal for walking and, when the river has been unsuitable for paddling, we have enjoyed following some of the trails through the forest recommended by Chris. (He has a number of laminated trail maps the visitor can borrow.) In the evenings we usually going out to eat in one of the nearby hostelries; the Dog & Muffler being our favourite. On our way there a couple of weeks ago, we were guided down the road to the pub by a deer.
The Rock is a great place to stay & we would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisSK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

If high quality is what you require in a B/B look no further. Information via the hosts on walks, is very helpful.Breakfasts, rooms, views and access to parking excellant. My wife and I will return in the future and have suggested other family members visit. John / Val

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Rock is a wonderful B&B in a beautiful location. Chris and Lindy are excellent hosts. They give you a very warm welcome and are really friendly and helpful. I stayed in one of the Valley View rooms. It couldn't have been better; spotlessly clean, a brilliant en suite and a most comfortable bed. A good night's sleep was followed by an excellent breakfast. This is simply the best B&B I have stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wark, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Rock for just one night on our journey southward. We wish we could have stayed longer, as it is a great B&B! Chris and his good lady made us very welcome; the room was spotless; comfortable and had everything we needed. Breakfast was fresh; filling and served in their wonderful "room with a view!" We wanted to explore a little of the area before we moved on, and the information both in the room and the suggestions from the hosts made this short stay perfect. We would certainly recommend the Rock, and hope that we will have the opportunity to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have just spent 3 nights at the Rock and would definitely go back again. The room was lovely - clean and comfortable. The breakfast set us up for the day and Chris and Lindy were extremely helpful - offering advice on walks and lending us maps to take with us. To top it all, the scenery was spectacular. A great few days!

Room Tip: The studio rooms have a fantastic view over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We've just spent four lovely days at this B&B with some friends of ours. We stayed in the two "dog free rooms" which were upstairs and right next door to each other.. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming and the breakfasts were wonderful, useing lots of local foods. We were lucky enough to see deer roaming late at night right out front of our rooms, An all round lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SR0028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
3.5 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
671 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
610 reviews
5.0 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ferndale House
Ferndale House
#1 of 3 in Lydbrook
336 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 10 in Coleford
94 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rock B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock B&B

Property: The Rock B&B
Address: Hillersland | The Forest of Dean, Coleford GL16 7NY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rock B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stay at The Rock B&B Coleford near Symonds Yat Rock offers great value bed and breakfast in the Forest of Dean providing friendly family run Guest accommodation. Equidistant between Coleford, Monmouth and Ross on Wye within a mile of the Herefordshire, Gloucestershire and Monmouthshire borders, making this is a great place to explore the Welsh Borders Wye Valley and Ancient Forest of Dean by foot car or bike. Also, if you looking for B&B in Symonds Yat, The Rock B&B offers 4 star bed and breakfast accommodation. Located at 600ft one the ridge between the Wye and Ruardean Valleys The Rock B&B offers 25 mile views and is a short forest walk from Symonds Yat Rock in Gloucestershire and close to Symonds Yat East and Symonds Yat West, Ross on Wye, Herefordshire and the Symonds Yat Rock RSPB Peregrine view point. The Symonds Yat Walks start only 30 paces away from the door and activities such as river cruises, horse riding, climbing, canoeing, Lama treking and fishing are close by. A seven bedroom friendly family run establishment the rock offers a great value alternative to the Symonds Yat Hotels. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rock B&B Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing