We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing few days”
Review of The Rock B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rock B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Coleford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Devon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A very relaxing few days”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed at The Rock as part of a family get-together and were not disappointed with any aspect of the visit. The previous reviews adequately sum up the situation and the location is an ideal place to be based for exploring the lovely countryside, surroundings and beyond. We certainly hope to return again next year.
One small tip when travelling north from Coleford do look out for the left fork near the church at Christchurch which is signposted to Symonds Yat. We missed it and found it a little difficult to get ourselves back on track. If you come to the New Inn - you have missed the turning!

Room Tip: The suites are highly recommended and provide that extra je ne sais quois.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastDevonVulpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    43
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
65
278
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Lovely veiw from the B@ B lovely well equiped rooms with a good breakfast and attentive service. A great place for peace and quiet. walking and generaly enjoying the countryside.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigergent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We booked when they were away. They confirmed on the day of their returned. We booked two twin rooms. Upon arrival we were shown to our rooms with explanation as to how everything worked. Room & facilities were clean, adequate & comfortable. "Little things" like details of the area, restaurants, pubs & amenities. Umbrella in room, in case it rained etc. all made the stay even more pleasant. Breakfast was first class and served with a smile. Views are fantastic and close to the forest. river etc. Nothing was too much trouble and we rate this as one of a few top guest houses on our list.
Peter & Pauline

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterSouthendPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Eleven of us were accommodated in the 4 Forest rooms together with two Valley view suites. The location is fantastic, with great views and a short walk to Symonds Yat viewpoint. Chris and Lindy were superb hosts, providing excellent breakfasts and the use of the dining room in the evenings for our large group which made for a brilliant weekend. Make a point of trying to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonhelyg50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We spent the weekend here in the Ruardean studio to celebrate out wedding anniversary and our entire stay was faultless. The accommodation was of a very high standard, relatively new and good quality with a stunning view. The breakfast was one of the best we've ever had and the owners were extremely friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay here again without question.

Room Tip: Ruardean Studio ~ private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garner23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
2 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We visited the Forest of Dean area with our friends for the first time and were lucky enough to stay 4 nights at the Rock Inn Hillersland.
The accomodation was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent and provided us with the energy we needed for a days walking in the forests right next to the B & B.
Chris and Lindy the owners were very friendly and helpful providing us with ideas for walks (including maps and detailed instructions) and places to eat locally.
All in all highly recommended and one we would definitely visit again..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boothr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We very much enjoyed The Rock as well as Chris and Lind's friendly generosity. We stayed in the Ruardean suite for two nights (Friday June 17th, departing Sunday the 19th), arriving via taxi from Gloucester.

Chris greeted us immediately, and showed us the room as well as Forest of Dean area walking and touring maps, which he had created himself. We used them during our stay and found the maps very useful and accurate.

The suite is contemporary and cozy at once...also spacious. Bathroom features a large tub and separate shower. All very clean and new.

The Rock is convenient (if you are moderately fit) to Symonds Yat Rock and the Wye River by walking. We took a few decently long walks, but on our final day, Chris was kind enough to drive is to nearby Puzzlewood. A very nice gesture.

The breakfast is PLENTY. Toast, cereal, fresh fruit, as well as a full English breakfast or porridge (someone else had this), or probably whatever you like if you request a little ahead. The homemade veg sausage was nice and my sweetheart enjoyed his non veg too. The full English breakfast includes eggs (however you want them), cooked tomato, mushrooms, sausage, and ham (or the veg sausage and hash brown/potato). We were stuffed. The toast/cereal/fruit would have been plenty on its own. You will leave breakfast very satisfied.

The view and grounds are very pretty. The two dogs equally pretty as well as friendly. The hot tub was in working order, though we did not get in due to various time/schedule constraints. It looks very nice and clean and proper.

Additionally, Lind and Chris were happy to provide wi-fi codes and bus schedules. Anything, really. They even brought tea and made us feel very at home while we waited for our taxi back in to Gloucester though we had checked out hours earlier. We were able to store our bags there and come back to relax in the lounge.

This is a lovely place to stay and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The suite is worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmwrig04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
3.5 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
721 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
117 reviews
5.0 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
2.5 mi away
Ferndale House
Ferndale House
#1 of 2 in Lydbrook
362 reviews
2.5 mi away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 10 in Coleford
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rock B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock B&B

Property: The Rock B&B
Address: Hillersland | The Forest of Dean, Coleford GL16 7NY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rock B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stay at The Rock B&B in Coleford near Symonds Yat Rock offers great value bed and breakfast in the Forest of Dean providing friendly family run Guest accommodation. Equidistant between Coleford, Monmouth and Ross on Wye within a mile of the Herefordshire, Gloucestershire and Monmouthshire borders, making this is a great place to explore the Welsh Borders Wye Valley and Ancient Forest of Dean by foot car or bike. Also, if you looking for B&B in Symonds Yat. Located at 600ft one the ridge between the Wye and Ruardean Valleys The Rock B&B offers 25 mile views and is a short forest walk from Symonds Yat Rock, which is the most popular tourist attraction in the Forest Of Dean. Symonds Yat East and Symonds Yat West, Ross on Wye, Herefordshire and the Symonds Yat Rock RSPB Peregrine view point are all within easy reach. The Symonds Yat Walks start only 30 paces away from the door and activities such as river cruises, horse riding, climbing, canoeing, Lama treking and fishing are close by. A seven bedroom friendly family run establishment the Rock B&B offers 4 star bed and breakfast accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rock B&B Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing