We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at The Rock”
Review of The Rock B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rock B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Coleford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Lovely stay at The Rock”
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We had a mid week stay at The Rock for a climbing course at Yats Rock. Was a perfect location for access to the forest, and all the surrounding areas. We stayed in the studios which were beautifully decorated, spacious, clean and had everything we needed for our stay. There was a small area to
Make snacks etc which would have been ideal if we were staying longer than 2 days.
Breakfast was a huge full English which was delicious and the owners managed to deal with our fussy requests with ease and it did not seem to bother them at all. Added to that there was also cereal, fresh fruit salad and toast which you could help yourself to.
This is truely a lovely B & B to stay in and we wanted to stay longer, even without everything else the views there are amazing!
We never write reviews but genuinely thought this deserved one.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alix2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    43
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
64
277
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2011

A lovely, well run B&B in a beautiful location, with stunning views over the countryside.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandaMoo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Really friendly service. Happy to give advice on the area and where to eat etc
loction right in the forest perfect for walking and relaxing
Rooms clean and well thought out
Breakfast beautifully cooked and presented
Hoping to return and take elderly parents and daughter and dog. There is something for all.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purdie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2011

stunning location, convienient base for walking. Great breakfasts and very helpful and informative hosts. Room was very clean and well decorated

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fullers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We were looking for good accommodation in the Symonds Yat area for Friday & Saturday night and we weren't disappointed. Our family room was lovely and clean, we were made to feel at home as soon as we arrived. We enjoyed an excellent breakfast whilst hearing from Chris & Lindy about the lovely walks and attractions that were available. If this is what B&B is about, you can keep your hotels.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyM012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2011

After a 2 1/2 hour drive up from the South Coast, the Rock was easy to find from the directions on their website and good parking. Met by a cheerful, smiling Chris who immediately showed me to my room which was clean, light and airy.
The garden and countryside views are stunning and sat at the garden tables at dawn with my coffee watching the sunrise over the lake below are what memories are made of.
Two very friendly liver and white spaniels in the garden enhanced that homely feel to the B&B and what a wonderful tasty Full English breakfast on both mornings with very tasty locally sourced sausages and bacon served by Lindy who made me feel very welcome
Extremely comfortable nights sleep with no real noise heard from the adjoining rooms and excellent clear picture on the digital widescreen TV and plenty of coffee, tea and scrummy biscuits to make use of the clean kettle in the room.
Very good shower with spotless large shower cubicle , good lighting and extraction.
5 BIG STARS for this B&B and for setting me up for 2 days climbing at Symonds Yat which is literally just up the road. A Perfect weekend and thanks to Chris & Lindy with all best wishes for your business. You deserve it
Martyn J

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyontherock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night during a tour of middle/south western UK.
Of all the B&Bs we visited, this stood out and was by far the best one. Chris was a welcoming host and very helpful in giving us advice for walks in the woods and places to eat/drink.
We had the smallest room (Ross) at £64 a night. The room was of a good size, however, and had all of the amenities that you would expect (tea/coffee/biscuits etc) and a decent sized bathroom with ample towels! The room was cleaned to a high standard, and we could not fault it.

Breakfast was excellent, especially for me, as the Rock PROPERLEY catered for vegetarians (with home made vegetarian sausages and potato cakes in replacement for sausage and bacon). This was so refreshing as most B&Bs just cook a normal breakfast minus sausage/bacon for the veggies!

My girfriend also enjoyed the meaty Full English, especially the locally sourced sausages.

All in all, a fantastic B&B, and model for others to follow.

Thankyou!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliqmul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
3.5 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
717 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
644 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
557 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ferndale House
Ferndale House
#1 of 2 in Lydbrook
359 reviews
2.5 mi away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 10 in Coleford
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rock B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock B&B

Property: The Rock B&B
Address: Hillersland | The Forest of Dean, Coleford GL16 7NY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rock B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stay at The Rock B&B in Coleford near Symonds Yat Rock offers great value bed and breakfast in the Forest of Dean providing friendly family run Guest accommodation. Equidistant between Coleford, Monmouth and Ross on Wye within a mile of the Herefordshire, Gloucestershire and Monmouthshire borders, making this is a great place to explore the Welsh Borders Wye Valley and Ancient Forest of Dean by foot car or bike. Also, if you looking for B&B in Symonds Yat. Located at 600ft one the ridge between the Wye and Ruardean Valleys The Rock B&B offers 25 mile views and is a short forest walk from Symonds Yat Rock, which is the most popular tourist attraction in the Forest Of Dean. Symonds Yat East and Symonds Yat West, Ross on Wye, Herefordshire and the Symonds Yat Rock RSPB Peregrine view point are all within easy reach. The Symonds Yat Walks start only 30 paces away from the door and activities such as river cruises, horse riding, climbing, canoeing, Lama treking and fishing are close by. A seven bedroom friendly family run establishment the Rock B&B offers 4 star bed and breakfast accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rock B&B Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing