We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great camping base in the Forest of Dean”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bracelands Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great camping base in the Forest of Dean”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Spent 4 days camping here. The site is quite open and has the option of lots of grass with or without electric pitches. Also they will accept large family tents (6 x 8m). None of the pitches are allocated but the GWE ones are clearly marked and the spacing ensures decent privacy etc. The do have a strict 6m rule – fair enough.

Suggest getting there early so you can have the most choice. We had a premium pitch (due to tent size) and this was on a flat area within a low railed off area. Mainly other large tents and caravans / campers. Electrical hook ups were plentiful as were the water taps and seemed like a good few waste disposal points too.

Shower/ Toilet blocks were very good: Reasonably up to date, cleaned every day and plenty of stalls / showers – and hot water whenever we needed it. Likewise the wash up area was very good (part of the shower block.) Great staff on site – helpful and friendly at all times.

There is a very good shop up the road at the Christchurch site. (cold Perroni on tap- just saying…)

It is a big site and I can imagine it gets really busy over some weekends.

Very dog friendly on site. There is a great walk the whole way around the site, but outside the site so the dog can be off the lead. There is a large field to the North – through the style at the top corner of the furthest corner of the site, for a quick run if needed too.

You are in the Forest of Dean – so I met a herd of deer in the site one night (yep wandering around between the tent and the toilets), heard owls and other beasts most other nights too. If the night is clear you will get to see the Milky Way as there is no light pollution. The site faces South West so you can watch the sun set in the evening over the woods that surround the site on all sides.

Do this!
Walk to Symonds Yat via the river (via pub) and then up the hill and back, all off road on paths, start and finish at the site. Cycle around the forest on family friendly paths – try to see all the sculptures on the trial too (cycle hire from pedalabikeaway.co.uk). Spend a ½ day on the river Wye (monmouthcanoe.co.uk) – bring change of clothes for all participants – mums and dogs can both take part so no excuses! Also Archery / GoApe / Bracelands Adventure / Puzzlewood / Tintern Abbey/ it would take a significant effort to get bored in this area. Avoid – Lydney train ride – suggest just going to the main station North of Lydney to see the trains etc.

Use trip advisor to find the best local pubs for lunch and dinner (see my other reviews) - needless to say we’ll be back here again next year.

Room Tip: Get there ~ noon to have best choice of pitch - not pre allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    92
    42
    20
    5
See reviews for
107
73
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Easy to book, right in the forest can hear owls at night, extremely helpful and friendly staff, good value for money, great views over the forest, extremely clean toilets and showers, good walks nearby, highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annapurna08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I would give this 3 and a half if i could! We normally stay here if the weather is good. It is a great location and really good value. However, the toilets are old and the campsite can get a little bit busy in peak season (as they all do).

I love this campsite, however, my partner always moans that the shared facitlities are far poorer than you would get in Scotland, Lakes or Snowdonia. Just a little bvit more investment in the overall experinence would gibve this place a 5* from me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGlosmanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean loos/shower blocks (use the ones bear the entrance, they are better.
Lots of good things to do around. Symonds Yat East is beautiful and Puzzelwood is a must if you have children.
Lots of walks in the area that are clearly signposted and for all abilities.
An expensive site on the whole compared to others but in our opinion - family of 6 adults and two children. It is worth the money

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missGeography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I first visited this site on a school camp 23 years ago and it still holds the same magic for me now as it did then. Great expanse of green, well maintained fields surrounded by forest - perfect. Toilet blocks were clean and showers hot. Staff are knowledgeable and friendly. We did the walk to Symonds Yat Rock, saw the Peregrines, caught the boat across the river, crossed the Wibbly Wobbly Bridge and returned to camp via a very long, steep hill. My two children aged 12 and 7 did moan quite a lot at the length of the walk but it is interspersed with various interesting points which I pointed out to them! Stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loupin03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We enjoyed the Christchurch site very much. We walked to the river Wye and climbed the rock Symonds Yat overlooking the river with Welsh hills in the distance, then crossed the river by hand ferry and walked to the bridge to cross back and climb the hill home. We cycled to the heart of the Forest of Dean but could have done with a good cycle map .. we found a traffic free route but had to ask locals as no decent map was to be found. However, local people were lovely and camp site staff friendly. There was a map at the Cycle centre but it was like a ski-ers map with red blue and yellow trails for mountain bikers with varying abilities leading back to the Cycle Centre.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford Priors, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I have used this site a few times over the last 15 years or more, although I am not really a camping fan. We have just spent a long weekend camping with 13 friends and we were situated in a field with only another large group for company. We had a great time, the facilities were clean, you didn't have to queue for a shower and the staff couldn't be more helpful or friendly. There are amazing views and if you enjoy walking the forest walk to the river is great, however not for those who struggle with hills because the journey back isn't for the faint hearted. We will definitely be back when camping takes our mood again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
3.1 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
727 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
1.4 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Coleford
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
DeanGate Motel
DeanGate Motel
#1 of 1 in Lydney
191 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Saracens Head Inn
The Saracens Head Inn
#1 of 6 in Symonds Yat
581 reviews
1.5 mi away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 10 in Coleford
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bracelands Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bracelands Campsite

Property: Bracelands Campsite
Address: Bracelands Dr | Christchurch, Coleford GL16 7NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Coleford
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderfully spacious, perfectly placed and incredibly enticing, Bracelands campsite is just waiting to welcome you. Located on the edge of the Forest of Dean, Bracelands is open all year, allowing you to pitch your tent in nature's best surroundings whenever you like. As soon as you enter the grounds of Bracelands campsite, you'll be immediately impressed with its size and ability to encompass you in the wonderful landscapes of the forest. One of the largest Camping In The Forest sites, Bracelands boasts 520 pitches for tents, caravans and motorhomes plus five new camping pods, perfect for protection from the elements all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bracelands Campsite Hotel Coleford
Bracelands Campsite Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing