We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice family friend site”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bracelands Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Some of the reviews do this place no justice. Amazing setting, not noisy and a good deal of space. Showers were very clean and nice and the staff were very friendly. If you get chance, go on the dusk walk with the park ranger that goes from next campsite up the road. Chris the ranger is really good fun, great with kids and amazingly knowledgable . A lovely weekend - I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jane66666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for Bracelands Campsite
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 256 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

Bracelands is just past Christchurch camp site in the forest of dean. Dont make the mistake of stopping at the first reception, we waited 40 mins to be told to keep going down the hill!
Bracelands reception was more of a shed, but we were warmly welcomed. The site seemed a little chaotic, odd pitch layout and lots of large family groups in groups.
positives:
the site offers wonderful views and great direct access to the forest and cycle ways so you can go straight from camp. the cycle route to monmouth is about 5 miles, but the hill back to the camp site is huge!!
negatives (for us)
very crowded with kids, all having fun but it was overwhelming if you are looking for a quiet forest break!
the showers were clean but disappointed in the scalding hot water in the push taps - a pain to use and bad for the environment and the lack of temperature control on the showers, on or off the only choice!
overall a good base for the new forest and if your camping with the family a perfect spot, we will probably find a smaller low key site next time.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lovetoholiday11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our first stay at Christchurch, the location is fantastic & overall the site was great, the toilets & showers were always spotless, the site itself was very quiet, with plenty of space, which leads me onto my first issue, when booking in we were told about a 6 meter distance rule, this was pointed out specifically when booking in, however after a quick wander round the forest with my daughter we got back to find a group of friends (in a couple of caravans & a tent) pitched very close to us, so close if we had wanted to put our awning up (we had actually informed the site we would be when we booked) there would have been no room to sit outside, why when there is so much room someone chooses to pitch so close is beyond me.

After a day out we decided to try the food in the restaurant on site, the pamphlet we were given explained that this shut at 8pm on Saturday, with a last order time of 15 minutes before, we arrived at 7:15pm & were told we couldn't have what we wanted as it was to late & the chef wouldn't prepare it.

Apart from the two very minor gripes we enjoyed ourselves, but I don't think we will be going back, we'll be looking elsewhere in this fantastic part of the country.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g1nga_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

So I can agree too many of the comments already made here. So here is my 2 cents.
The good
1. Booking the site was easy and simple well done.
2. Location was fantastic. Forest Of Dean is a wonderful place.
3. Big wide open campsite and didn’t feel busy even on a burning hot Bank holiday weekend.
4. Really friendly staff.
5. Great for Children, very safe and they loved it.

The bad
1. The toilet blocks should really be burned down and built again. I don’t think I have ever been to another site where there this bad. There old, smelly, wet, damp and not heated. Yuk.
2. If you like sleeping on a hill then you will like this place. It’s not very flat.
3. If you go out at night and you come back after 10:00pm you won’t be able to drive through the gate. This means for some that you have a very long walk in the pitch black, no lights, in the rain with small children. Not fun but I understand why they do it but 10:00pm really!!!
Would I go back? Yes but this time with bigger chocks and a sledge hammer to help them demolish their toilet blocks.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We've stayed at Bracelands a couple of times in the last 2 years but this time was a special occasion - it was my sister's silver wedding. There was a group of us and the manager and his wife could not have been more helpful. It was very cold and we were planning a posh dinner in our awning. They lent us a gas heater and were generally very helpful. We came back from a long bike ride and the staff had left an anniversary card and present for my sister and her hubby.
Only one shower block was open but for the number of people there this was ample and spotlessly clean. The showers were hot and there was a mop and bucket for us to swill out after ourselves.
Great site - thoroughly recommended. Will be back again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We arrived 3 hours early and the gentlemen from the office actually came over to our car, gave us a very friendly welcome and opened the barrier for us. Check in was short, sweet and friendly. Due to it being October, only one toilet/shower block was open so for convenience (and due to the torrential rain) we decided to camp close to the amenities. Despite the weather and very muddy ground the facilities were kept clean and showers nice and hot.
Saturday morning I went over to ask for a map of the forest. I was told they normally have them but due to it being low-season they hadn't replenished their stock. Luckily the lady in there was very enthusiastic and due to the (luckily) sunny weather, she suggested a route to us and it was beautiful. She was very passionate about the local area.
We had a couple of trips into Coleford for shopping and a few drinks in the pub. Everything you need there - can't complain.
All in all, a great weekend and it was everything I expected. Everyone very friendly and would definitely return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a nice campsite, however not a lot there.
Quite expensive for what there is (or isn't). I would maybe suggest the Christchurch campsite just down the road if you have children as this has a park and slighly more accessable walks.
However this campsite does have more open space and is larger, so perhaps better for cycling kids etc.
We didnt take a dog but I think they allow them as long as theyre on a lead.
The veiws of the forest are lovely.
No strict rules which I prefer. You can camp up wherever you like. Tents and Vans can go nect to each other which is handy if you're going with a lot of people as you don't need to worry about being plonked far away from eachother.
Good showers etc. A good base for staying in Forest of Dean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
Thank frankienew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
3.1 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
751 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
663 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Whitemead Forest Park
Whitemead Forest Park
#1 of 2 in Parkend
516 reviews
7.2 mi away
DeanGate Motel
DeanGate Motel
#1 of 1 in Lydney
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lodge Rooms
The Lodge Rooms
#10 of 11 in Coleford
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bracelands Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bracelands Campsite

Address: Bracelands Dr | Christchurch, Coleford GL16 7NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Coleford
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderfully spacious, perfectly placed and incredibly enticing, Bracelands campsite is just waiting to welcome you. Located on the edge of the Forest of Dean, Bracelands is open all year, allowing you to pitch your tent in nature's best surroundings whenever you like. As soon as you enter the grounds of Bracelands campsite, you'll be immediately impressed with its size and ability to encompass you in the wonderful landscapes of the forest. One of the largest Camping In The Forest sites, Bracelands boasts 520 pitches for tents, caravans and motorhomes plus five new camping pods, perfect for protection from the elements all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bracelands Campsite Hotel Coleford
Bracelands Campsite Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing