We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Budget Option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Coleford
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have just returned from a 1 night/2 rounds of golf stay at the Bells hotel and overall my party and I were happy with the stay. Firstly the value is incredible. Everything from the rooms, to the golf course, to the restaurant/club house is better than you would expect. The course is in good condition. The clubhouse/restaurant was really nice inside with a nice sun terrace overlooking the bowling green. The evening meal we had was nice and better than equivalent meals I've had on similar breaks. The rooms were basic but adequate. The shower was excellent however. My only major gripe was it was strictly prohibited to store golf clubs in the room so we had to leave them in the car which isn't ideal as it is a magnet for thieves although I can't imagine Coleford being plagued by high levels of crime! Overall we all agreed we would go back again which is probably the best endorsement we could give.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J11K11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased that you recognised the great value that we offer here. I am also happy to hear that the restaurant and golf course were to your liking. I am sorry that you were disappointed that we do not allow clubs to be stored in bedrooms. This is due to mess that a dirty or wet golf bag can make. We do however have 2 secure locker rooms on site which are a better option that leaving your clubs in your car overnight, even if Coleford is not the crime capital of the South West!
We will look forward to welcoming your group back to the Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 259 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Spent the night as part of a golfing deal.
Bedrooms are clean and tidy and beds were very good.
It wasn't the Ritz but it was perfect for what we wanted
Clubhouse was nice and the breakfast was good

Would happily stay again

Very reasonable and helpful staff

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank LongmanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your golf break with us. The course should only improve as the season goes on. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The hotel is situated in a very beautiful part of the country. We have stayed for many years in top class hotels and nowhere have we received the service and hospitality that we received at Bells. The rooms were very comfortable and well fitted, the service was first class and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diva1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Thank you for leaving such kind comments regarding your stay with us. We will look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

first of all on the plus side,the food was excellent.the room we had (room 11) was a large family room with 2 single and 1 double bed.i slept in the double and it felt as though it was lined with iron bars.this mattress needs replacing.the wardrobe had no light near it so you could barely see inside it as it was in a dark corner.walking across the courtyard to the dining area in the rain was not fun,it needs a covered walkway.wifi only worked in reception.we were on a short mat bowls break,but the bowls hall is a very tight squeeze with little room to stand,with no room at ends at all.drinks were pricey also.staff were friendly.creeky floorboards in rooms.hard pillows

Room Tip: take your own pillow and mattress topper
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave you comments regarding your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed both the food and the size of your room. I am sorry to hear that you didn’t find your bed as comfortable as you would have liked. Over the years we have found that a comfortable mattress can be very subjective and so what one guest likes will not necessary be the same as what another guest likes. All of our mattresses are also replaced on a regular basis. You may also be pleased to know that we now have wifi throughout the Site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I have been running a golf/rugby weekend at the bells over the last 9 years with varying numbers from 4 to over 40.every time we go we have a great time,golf is good,facilities are good and staff are great.The only thing that let us down this year were the Welsh rugby team. We would also like to thank the husband of one of the cleaning staff who transported us to the village to watch the rugby.one last thing is to comment on the locals who welcome us every year to enjoy a pint or two or three or----.
Thanks again all at the bells, see you next year.
Big Al from Swansea

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank oddjob186466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Thanks guys for leaving us such a great review. Better luck next year with the Rugby and we will look forward to welcoming you back then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I have been visiting Bells Hotel (particularly the clubhouse) for over 6 years, Not being a Golfer i cannot really comment on the Golf Facilities, other than to say they seem to be extremely popular and the comments about the course with those i speak to in the clubhouse are always favourable.

The Clubhouse and rooms however are excellent, friendly staff, good value food and reasonably priced drinks - well worth a visit if your in the area even if only to Dine, have a beer in the bar or attend one of their very popular theme nights.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

It is always nice to receive praise from regular customers; I hope that we can continue to impress you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Our organisation held a training workshop at the hotel this week . It was very comfortable. Lunch and coffee were delivered at the expected times and just right. Staff were helpful, parking easy and plentiful. The training room was spacious,quiet, well ventilated and yet warm,( which mattered on a miserable wet day in January.)Loos easy to access from the meeting room and clean. Chairs good enough to sit on all day which sounds silly but not every training room can say that! WiFi worked. Excellent experience. Can recommend to other meetings. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walesvisit0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I am happy to hear that everything went well on your training day. I am also pleased that you found the chairs good enough to sit on! Joking aside I do take your point. It is also good to hear that you would recommend us to others.

We will look forward to hosting some of your events again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
2.7 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
750 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
663 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
136 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club

Address: Lords Hill, Coleford GL16 8BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Coleford
Price Range: $77 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Forest of Dean in the historic market town of Coleford, this exceptional hotel and leisure complex offers an 18-hole parkland golf course, clubhouse, superb restaurant and bowling green.With spectacular views of the surrounding countryside as well as the rolling parkland, lakes and woodland of the golf course the Bell Hotel is the perfect place to relax and unwind. With friendly yet professional service, guests can expect their stay to be both enjoyable and delightfully memorable. The Hotel has a traditional, historic feel coupled with a great range of modern facilities. Each of the 53 en-suite rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed and they all include free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV, biscuits and tea & coffee making facilities. Many also boast beautiful views over the golf course and bowling green. There are accommodation options to cater to all types of traveller, from Single, Double, Twin and Family rooms to spacious Suites and 2 rooms that are suitable for wheelchair users. Their staff are available 24 hours a day, ensuring a warm welcome whatever time guests arrive.The Clubhouse bar is open all day every day and serves drinks and bar snacks throughout. Guests are free to relax and have a game of pool, watch Sky Sports or keep an eye on the afternoon’s play in the conservatory and terrace suite which has views over the bowling green. For some truly superb cuisine, Potter’s Restaurant offers a fantastic selection homemade dishes all of which are made from fresh locally sourced produce wherever possible.Founded in 1973, the Forest of Dean Golf Club at Bells offers a 69 par eighteen-hole golf course that is both a challenge and a joy to play regardless of ability. It also incorporates a large practice ground, putting green and a well-stocked golf shop.The Hotel also boasts a county standard bowling green, with has its own patio seating area and is overlooked by a south facing balcony.With such a spectacular location and excellent facilities, it is no surprise to learn that the Hotel makes for a wonderful venue for weddings and other special occasions. It is also ideal for corporate events and conferences with several different meeting rooms available in a range of different sizes.The Hotel is situated in the Forest of Dean in the town of Coleford just a 35 minute drive from Gloucester and 12 minutes from the A40, what’s more it offers plenty of free on-site parking. The city of Gloucester offers excellent transport links and there is also a local station at Lydney, just a 13 minute taxi ride from the Hotel. For those flying in, it’s just under a 90 minute drive from Birmingham International Airport.Situated in the unspoilt beauty of the Royal Forest of Dean, an area of outstanding natural beauty, visitors to the Hotel will never be short of things to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bells Hotel And The Forest Of Dean Golf & Bowls Club Gloucestershire - Coleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing