We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Angel Hotel(Coleford)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Lodge Rooms(Coleford)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Broadstone Park Camping & Fishery(Staunton)(Great Value!)
$18
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Greenacres Campsite(Coleford)(Great Value!)
$21
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Forest House(Coleford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveler rating
102
103
59
28
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
103
59
28
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursegolf clubgolf weekendpro shopcoach partyround of golfbowling greenbowls clubgolf societyforest of deanthree coursescoach tripchristmas lunchwalk in showerself servicethe cottagescleaning staff
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 302 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Our organisation held a training workshop at the hotel this week . It was very comfortable. Lunch and coffee were delivered at the expected times and just right. Staff were helpful, parking easy and plentiful. The training room was spacious,quiet, well ventilated and yet warm,( which mattered on a miserable wet day in January.)Loos easy to access from the meeting room and clean. Chairs good enough to sit on all day which sounds silly but not every training room can say that! WiFi worked. Excellent experience. Can recommend to other meetings. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walesvisit0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I am happy to hear that everything went well on your training day. I am also pleased that you found the chairs good enough to sit on! Joking aside I do take your point. It is also good to hear that you would recommend us to others.

We will look forward to hosting some of your events again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

At the last minute almost, having been let down by another venue the Bells offered us a New Years Eve Celebration that rated as being one of the best in many years!

The menu was superb, wine priced very reasonably and the welcome given both the organisers and other revellers was not to be missed.

The entertainment offered was also superb, with a live vocalist interspersed with a disco gave a New Years Eve not to be forgotten

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Many thanks for you kind comments; I am glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself so much at out New Year celebration. We will look forward to seeing you at next year’s event!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had Christmas lunch at Bells for the first time and completely disagree with the Exeter guest - apart from the comment about horrendous weather ! It is true that there was a coach party in, presumably on holiday in the hotel, and there did appear to be a table of 6 in particular suffering from Bah Humbug. Perhaps the Exeter guest was one of those. Because it was busy it meant that there was the odd delay but the food was excellent and plentiful, the staff were helpful and management were clearly in evidence. It is not true that there was only carrots and peas - there was a good variety of vegetables to choose from. We didn't want fast food, we wanted good food and good service and that's what we got. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSK349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your Christamas day as much as our staff did. I am also pleased that we will be welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Don't know what hotel that woman from Exeter went too, but it wasn't the one I was at. For a 3* hotel it is excellent. The rooms are plenty large enough for most and the food is very good with a variety of veg at each meal There was a delay over Christmas dinner, but what the heck non of us had a train to catch, and so we spent the wait being sociable and having a laugh with the hard working staff. I couldn't praise the staff enough for their attentiveness and hard work, and the management were very much in evidence with their sleeves rolled up and trying to give all the guests a good time. Perhaps all didn't go exactly to plan, but I and my friends had a great time. After all 'it's the season to be jolly'!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank GloucestershireGrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review of your Christmas break with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed the Christmas break and found the Hotel to be excellent. It is also nice to hear you praise our hardworking staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Awful Christmas spent at this hotel, no staff working , had an upgrade to larger room, not even a drinking glass available,gin and tonic served in a half pint glass. The breakfasts were appalling, no fruit , no bread selection. Had to walk across yard to dining area in horrendous weather whilst locals used the dining room! Xmas dinner veg was just carrots and peas ! Evening buffet worst I have ever seen cold meat lettuce and tomato !, staff not interested when could complain but management were not available. Will not recommend to anyone or even think of staying here again spoilt my Xmas break completely.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NMC503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for leaving your comments. I must say that I am shocked at some of the criticism levelled at us within it. We have received nothing but praise for our Christmas breaks.

We had plenty of staff and management working throughout the Christmas period. On Christmas day itself we had 5 managers on duty throughout the day. At breakfast every morning we have a variety of fruit on offer and of course bread which is located next to the toasters. Our dining rooms are all located within our Clubhouse and so it does involve walking a short distance across our car park to reach them. Once again I am unsure as to what you mean when you say that you had to walk across the car park whilst locals were using our dining room as all of our dining takes place in the same area. I can also confirm that we did not send out any peas with our Christmas lunches, the vegetables used were carrots and sprouts. The evening buffet is always a lighter meal after the huge Christmas lunch and it consisted of a selection of meats, new potatoes, various different salads, coleslaw and potato salad.

I am sorry that you feel that you wouldn’t return to our establishment. This review is very inconsistent with the rest of the feedback that we received and it is also the first time that we have ever received a one star rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews