We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveler rating
103
103
60
28
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
103
60
28
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course golf club golf weekend pro shop coach party round of golf bowling green bowls club golf society forest of dean three courses coach trip christmas lunch walk in shower self service the cottages cleaning staff
Filter
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 304 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Awful Christmas spent at this hotel, no staff working , had an upgrade to larger room, not even a drinking glass available,gin and tonic served in a half pint glass. The breakfasts were appalling, no fruit , no bread selection. Had to walk across yard to dining area in horrendous weather whilst locals used the dining room! Xmas dinner veg was just carrots and peas ! Evening buffet worst I have ever seen cold meat lettuce and tomato !, staff not interested when could complain but management were not available. Will not recommend to anyone or even think of staying here again spoilt my Xmas break completely.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NMC503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for leaving your comments. I must say that I am shocked at some of the criticism levelled at us within it. We have received nothing but praise for our Christmas breaks.

We had plenty of staff and management working throughout the Christmas period. On Christmas day itself we had 5 managers on duty throughout the day. At breakfast every morning we have a variety of fruit on offer and of course bread which is located next to the toasters. Our dining rooms are all located within our Clubhouse and so it does involve walking a short distance across our car park to reach them. Once again I am unsure as to what you mean when you say that you had to walk across the car park whilst locals were using our dining room as all of our dining takes place in the same area. I can also confirm that we did not send out any peas with our Christmas lunches, the vegetables used were carrots and sprouts. The evening buffet is always a lighter meal after the huge Christmas lunch and it consisted of a selection of meats, new potatoes, various different salads, coleslaw and potato salad.

I am sorry that you feel that you wouldn’t return to our establishment. This review is very inconsistent with the rest of the feedback that we received and it is also the first time that we have ever received a one star rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

have had christmas dinner here for the last 3 years being a local, and recommended to a lot of local people as has been lovely, until today.coach load from away was there and they seemed to cater more for them than the locals,seemed to run out of food when it was our turn as had to wait a bit longer than the time i booked,and the roast potatoes were frozen and shop bought ones after paying £45 an adult.i booked for 3 adults and 2 children and payed a few weeks previously but was accused of only paying for 1 child and since arriving home have found the receipt for proof,needless to say dining somewhere else next year but couldn't fault the waiting staff

Room Tip: ,have not been any rooms
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank tracy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for leaving your comments regarding your Christmas dining experience with us. I am sorry that it did not meet our usual high standards. Please be assured that we treat all of our diners the same and would not offer any preferential treatment to any particular group. When serving our Christmas meal we do tend to leave a longer period of time between courses, this is due to us not wanting to rush our guests and to create the relaxed atmosphere that people want on Christmas day. I can also assure you that we did not run out of any food and everybody should have received the meal that they ordered. I am saddened to hear that you will not be considering us for next years Christmas dinner and hope that you return to us in the meantime to allow us the opportunity to change you mind.

I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Recently with 30 others spent a week end staying and playing golf at Beels.

The course is a fair test and for the time of year in good condition which made for a good days golf.
The rooms were clean and well appointed and the Staff very friendly and helpful.
Many of us took the option of the fixed price evening meal and we found it good quality and value.
We have already decide to revisit next because of the value we paid £35 for B & B + one round of golf with the option of a further round for £10
If looking for a good short Golf try it here.

Room Tip: At busy times worth booking tables in advance for evening meals
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnEdwardsDudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for leaving such a positive review of your stay with us. The course has played very well for the time of year and this is due to a combination of the good weather that we have had and the hard work of our greenkeeping team. It is also nice to hear that you found the staff very helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We booked to stay at this hotel, the receptionist was nice and told us the room we was staying in. The room was clean and on the table there was some drinks and snacks for us to have. The beds were quite comfortable to sleep on. They was a good amount of facilities to wash. In the morning we went over to the bar/restaurant to have our breakfast, the breakfast was ok I had sausage, bacon , fried bread and eggs, little disappointing there was no hash browns left but overall good fried breakfast. There was a lot of doors to get through to the room which made it a little difficult to find your room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

I am grateful to you for leaving a review of your stray with us. I am pleased that the Reception team gave you a nice greeting and that the Hotel was to your liking. If you are in the area in the future, I hope that you would stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

A group of six, we recently stayed in the three Edenwall Cottages at Bells Hotel for a weekend's golf. Our check-in at the hotel was easy and we were warmly welcomed by the Reception staff. The cottages were very comfortable and well-equipped and we all appreciated the welcoming bottles of wine. On two evenings we prepared our own meals; the facilities in the cottages were more than adequate for our needs. Our one disappointment was the evening meal which we ate on our first night. The menu was somewhat uninspired and the quality of the food served very ordinary. After a morning's travelling and then an afternoon on the golf course, we were all looking forward to an appetizing dinner; sadly, this was not the case.
Overall, a very enjoyable weekend and one which we are already considering repeating next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Young-once
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave some comments about your golf trip. I am happy to hear that you liked the Cottage which is situated on our golf course. It provides a great alternative for those who like to cater for themselves. I am sorry to hear that your meal with us was not to your liking, we change our restaurant menu on a daily basis and so other options would have been available the following night if nothing took your fancy on the first night.

We hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews