We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveler rating
102
103
59
28
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
103
59
28
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursegolf clubgolf weekendpro shopcoach partyround of golfbowling greenbowls clubgolf societyforest of deanthree coursescoach tripchristmas lunchwalk in showerself servicethe cottagescleaning staff
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 302 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

For a cheap break and a fun golf course this is perfect. I would stay away from the restaurant however next time as the meal had a remarkable resemblance to a poor inflight meal! The staff were all lovely and extremely helpful. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeamingtonJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for leaving a review. I am pleased to hear that you had great value for money during your stay with us. I am also happy to hear that you had so much fun on our golf course. The greenkeepers have worked very hard on it this year and there are many more improvements scheduled for this winter. You may also be pleased to hear that we have recently launched a new menu and the initial feedback is very good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We booked one of the cottages owned by the hotel through a well known holiday cottage website. I must say that the pictures don't do the cottage justice as it is much more spacious than advertised and very clean. I think that's where the good points end. Starting with the cottage, the beds were uncomfortable, no blind in the kitchen and water not very hot. We found the staff at the hotel, clubhouse and golf shop very unhelpful and on occasion, rude. The website advertised "Satellite TV" and although there was a very ancient sky box, we could get less channels than on normal free view. Also advertised was "golf discounts" - this turned out to be untrue, there was no discount for people staying in the cottages. We took our dog with us and despite obeying the rules and keeping our dog on a lead, the next door neighbours (who seemed to be permanent residents) had two dogs that were never on leads and roamed free and therefore we had to be careful to keep our dog away from them. We ate in the clubhouse on our last night, staff were rude and did not make us feel welcome. Food and drink was overpriced and very basic. Overall, not impressed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Care_bear2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Many thanks for leaving us your comments of your stay. I am pleased to hear that you found the cottage to be both spacious and clean. I must apologise for the response that you received in our Golf Shop regarding discounted green fees as all residents of Edenwall Cottages are entitled to a 10% discount from our green fee tariff. It so happened that the assistant that dealt with your query was new and was still training. This problem has since been rectified.

I am surprised to learn that the staff in the Clubhouse were rude, our staff are usually complemented on their friendliness towards customers. I do hope that you will return in the future and allow us the opportunity to alter your opinion of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We visited this hotel because it was the only hotel with two single rooms still available in the entire area. Always slightly worrying. We received a warm reception at the hotel although our rooms were a hike away through more fire doors and corridor than I could have ever predicted. The single rooms were small, clean, functional and basic. The TV (on a cable feed) froze and stopped every 2 mins. I gave up trying to watch after several reboots. No wifi in the rooms. My colleagues shower would only deliver tepid water.

The very helpful hotel receptionist had to barter with the restaurant to fit us in for an evening meal even though it was supposedly open for another hour or more. Our food was thrown at us at breakneck speed and I had to demand a wine menu or it was not going to be proffered. Plates were whisked away the second one's cutlery was released and the next course was thrust under one's nose. A truly unpleasant experience.

The following morning a "help yourself breakfast buffet" pre-cooked fried eggs etc was left to congeal under heat lamps for your delectation. Awful.

Functional but not recommended. Expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 110PhilipM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. You needn’t have worried about the fact we had two rooms left, we are the largest hotel in the area and so have more rooms to offer than anywhere else. We have experienced problems with our television reception recently but all issues have now been resolved. We also have plans this winter to extend our free WiFi service throughout the whole of the Hotel.

I am sorry that your experience in our restaurant did not meet your expectations. We usually get great reviews of our food and service. I will investigate as to why the food was served so quickly and in the meantime I would also like to assure you that your experience was not typical. I would also like to welcome you back to the Hotel sometime in the future so that your opinion of us could change.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was the 7 time at the Bells the Course is great the Hotel couldn't ask for any better for the price the food is fantastic hence my proposal.
The Staff are brilliant as always all the receptionist aThnd Restaurant staff are a credit to the Hotel.
The only down side again is no entertainment in the nights they used to have a kareoke and a guitarist to keep us in the Hotel because the hill down to the pubs is getting steeper every year and we might fancy a change next year but recommended.
The Khan/O'Connell party from Cardiff

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerard1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for leaving such positive feedback of your stay with us. I will of course pass on your proposal to the chef! It is always a pleasure to welcome back our regular golf groups and we look forward to doing so again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

we have held our annual golf weekend at the bells for the past 17 or 18 years and enjoyed every single year. the whole set up seems to be geared up for short golfing breaks. the course is very good and has got better over the years the hotel is functional but very clean and tidy, the bar is open until 4am but is situated across the car park from the hotel so does not disturb the guests. a lot of money seems to have been invested in the course and the hotel, which has turned a great venue into a better one ( i can remember the days of a green smelly outdoor swimming pool, which went years ago ) . the staff are very friendly and helpful especially the lady that has worked there for donkeys years ( sorry dont know your name )
i only have 1 very very small complaint and that was that the food didnt quite seem as good as past years, but was still ok
so if any one reading this is thinking of booking a golf break at the bells ,it is great value for money and i couldnt recommend it highly enough
thanks to all at the bells from phil ( hopkins party )

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

It is always nice to welcome back returning guests especially when they have been visiting us for so many years! It is also great to hear your views on how the complex has improved over the years. We have some more refurbishment plans for this winter, including some big improvements to the Hotel, the Changing rooms and of course the Golf Course.

We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews