We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Nearby Hotels
$104
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$186
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Paddocks Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Court Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Hotel(Monmouth)
$94
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DeanGate Motel(Lydney)(Great Value!)
$58
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Belfry Hotel(Littledean)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveler rating
97
95
54
26
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
95
54
26
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursegolf weekendpro shopcoach partyround of golfbowling greengolf societyforest of deanthree coursescoach tripsunday carverychristmas lunchwalk in showerthe cottagesself servicecleaning staffcomfortable beds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 282 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have lived in the forest of dean since 1986 and I used to be a member of the golf club until a few years ago due to injury.
We were on holiday last week and decided to try it.
Many improvements have been carried out and it is now a very welcoming place.The service was good and the ploughmans we had was excellent.Proper thick ham ,three slices and very tasty, my cheese was also good quality along with the homemade coleslaw.
All in all excellent value, we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gloucesterboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for leaving a review of your lunch with us. I am pleased that you had such a nice experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Well appointed rooms with a very helpful desk staff although the wifi is a bit unreliable and comes and goes.

The breakfast is some what disappointing with a limited choice and rather cheap quality products.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave some comments. I am pleased that you liked your room and found our Reception team to be helpful. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the breakfast offering. The Breakfast menu has been revamped in the last month and so I hope that when you return you will enjoy it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Arrived to a warm welcome,checked out the room and found it in nice and clean and tidy, off for a round of golf , then into the bar for a cool drink where I found the bar staff to be friendly and helpful, the food over the weekend was really tasty , and the soup on the Sunday was the best I've tasted in a long long time. The guys working in the pro shop should get a mention , very helpful , could'nt do enough for you . Over all a great stay and I will be coming back again , oh and the surrounding scenery was great .

Room Tip: I had a room above reception , but still slept like a log
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stringvest999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Many thanks for leaving a review of your stay. I am pleased that your golf weekend went so well and in particular that your enjoyed the food. Our Pro has been with us for a number of years now and what he doesn’t know about golf probably isn’t worth knowing! Come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

the reception staff were all very friendly, always offering to help. was particularly impressed on my first morning, the breakfast staff was late to work and the cleaning staff offered to get us coffee and keeps apologizing for his colleague. on the friday, it was buffet breakfast and the chef was trying her hardest to get all the food ready at the buffet table but made sure she got myself and another guest coffee before proceeding with her work.

the hotel had a sign to ask all guests to be considerate to keep noise level down in the hotel (thank you) but a bit difficult as the floorboard creeks very loudly no matter how hard we all tried :)

good location as well - a walk downhill to co-op and loads of restaurant surrounding if you dont fancy the pub grub on offer at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara_loh_reeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased that you found our staff so helpful. We do also offer a restaurant menu as well as our bar menu in the Clubhouse. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

First thing to mention is the staff: collectively, they're a great bunch. Unfailingly courteous, cheerful and efficient, everyone we encountered made us feel really welcome and wanted.

The beds were comfortable - firm enough but not too hard. However, sleep was spoiled by the inclusion of a plastic mattress protector which meant we tossed and turned in our own perspiration all night, even with the windows open. Horrible. Another irritation was the bedroom door which rattled loudly in its frame whenever anybody walked by in the corridor outside. We resolved this by wedging a folded carrier bag in the gap to make it a tight fit but it really shouldn't be necessary.

The bedroom had a large wardrobe and two bedside chests for storage and the room was spacious enough for two people to move around comfortably. Everything was immaculately clean. The bathroom was a sensible size with a good shower. The only niggle about the bathroom was the lack of shelf/storage space. The one small shelf over the loo just wasn't big enough for toothbrushes & paste, plastic toothmugs, spouse's shaving kit and my contact-lens kit. We tried putting some stuff on the top of the cistern but it sloped and, well, we didn't want to lose anything that way!

Breakfasts were served in the golf clubhouse across the car park so you need your coat on a cold or wet day. It's a self-service buffet and we thought the quality was pretty good. Be warned - the toasters take forever so put your bread in while you eat your fruit or cereal and it should just be ready to eat with your bacon & eggs.

We stayed four nights as part of a large-ish group having its AGM in the hotel; we also had a couple of group dinners in one of the function rooms. We were given menus to select from in advance and the food and service were good and quantities generous.

As part of a group, the B&B rate we paid was less than the usual tarriff and, overall, was excellent value for money. If they'd only take those wretched plastic covers off, I'd be happy to stay here again at the full price!

Room Tip: There's no lift so, if you can't do stairs, ask for a ground floor room when you book.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scribbles-in-Lincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank for your kind comments. I am happy to hear that you found our staff to be so cheerful and efficient. You may also be happy to hear that we have upgraded our toasters! I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews