We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boil in bag meals”
Review of Castle Hotel

Castle Hotel
Ranked #24 of 65 Restaurants in Droitwich
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Boil in bag meals”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We as a family have now stopped coming here for meals as they gradually got worse and worse to the point when I ordered lamb shank and found out they were boil in the bags. The pizza's for the kids were like soft mush, I could go on but I gather you get the picture. They are not very child friendly either.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank angelwings59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    49
    33
    21
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malvern
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
“Ok for a quick bite”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Popped into the Flaming Grill at the Castle Hotel last night having not visited this place for about 30 years. The restaurant is separate to the main bar area and the staff were helpful and courteous. My wife had a Tuna steak with rice and a small side salad which was nicely presented but she thought the Tuna was slightly overcooked. I had a scampi and chips with peas and upped it to a large portion. I certainly got plenty of scampi and enjoyed my meal. What I did find strange was my meal came with a round of bread and butter which came to me on a rather large plate, but perhaps I am being a little critical there, it just seemed odd. All in all, the food was OK and although it wasn't busy, other meals that came out looked good although one lady had a jacket potato with cheese and salad, but it looked lost on the plate, they asked for some more salad which was provided. Not gourmet stuff, but ok for a quick bite on a Friday night

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pencroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice Staff poor food.”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Went for lunch I had Codfather ( fish and chips) asked for mushy peas got cold peas not mushy.Said it was cod I do not think it was, oddest cod I have ever had, batter burnt perhaps chefs day off, no plate for bread and butter just stuck on top of fish and only one sachet of butter. All in all a bad experience did not bother to complain staff trying there best but will not go again.
Did not compare with Robin Hood or St Andrews House.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chandbrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport-on-Severn
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“NOT BAD FOR A PUB”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a chain pub and not bad, the food has always been good when I have gone. The service from the friendly staff is very good and makes you want to pop back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahmCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Steak to the heart of matter”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I don't know how i missed this was a chain pub before i went in. I won't spend long on this review as The Castle is just so poor. Service, poor. As can often be expected from staff that aren't invested in their work place. Yes, it's relatively cheap but they could not tell me where the Steaks were from? I shudder to think how far they had traveled and to what welfare standard they were produced. Side dishes barely warm. Beer was cheap. Won't be going back to eat. Maybe a cheap pint?

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleyM1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Hotel also viewed

Toddington, Gloucestershire
Fernhill Heath, Worcestershire
 
Droitwich, Worcestershire
Droitwich, Worcestershire
 

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing