We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to visit, warm and friendly, nice community atmosphere. Some brilliant bands play here”
Review of Old Cock Inn

Old Cock Inn
Ranked #22 of 66 Restaurants in Droitwich
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The 17th Century Inn which celebrated its 300 years in 2012 has an ethos of good quality, affordable informal pub food. Coupled with well kept real ales as well as their beautifully historic surroundings and relaxed, friendly atmosphere it really does create a traditional, real British pub experience, well worth a visit. The Old Cock Inn is more than just a pub as it is a hub of the community, serving ales and food, we are not in any way gastro or a restaurant but do believe in quality, friendliness and making sure people enjoy themselves. Your sure of a warm welcome. Open from 12.00h to 0000h every day except Tuesdays when it's 1500h until 0000h. Food served most of the day but not available on Tuesday.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Fantastic atmosphere. Would happily take any family or friends there. Good beers and other drinks and food are reasonably priced. Have some fantastic bands play here also. Probably the best pub in Droitwich

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RebeccaC249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCockInn, Owner at Old Cock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you so so much for your very positive comments, we do try hard to get the atmosphere, welcome and look right.

Thank you for your comments which are much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 111 of 176 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

Lovely pub restaurant in the heart of historic Droitwich - the building is hundreds of years old and brimming full of authentic character. Real fire in the front lounge complements the real ales on tap when you arrive. Also do a wine special offer which changes from time to time (only £10 for the special). Food available during day and ranges from sandwiches and soup through to stunning deli boards - check out these for something totally different and very tasty - these are definitely my favourite!
Evening food was good when we went there and kids are welcome until about 9pm. It's also dog-friendly (for well-behaved companions) which just makes this a great place to go. Can highly recommend a visit.
Friar Street is just set back from the canal so there are lots of visitors during the summer adding to the wealth of characters you'll encounter over dinner and a drink.
Can also recommend the lamb chops - I had these on last visit and mmmmmmmmmm....
Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SelkieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCockInn, Owner at Old Cock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thanks for your review, we do pride ourselves on our community aspect with us supporting many local groups, charities and people.

We also showcase at least 3 real ales each day all kept exceptionally well.

We are currently in talks with CAMRA ( Campaign for Real Ale) regarding getting more exposure with the local branch in the coming months.

i would also like to remind visitors that if you are a CAMRA member with a valid membership card, you will get 10% OFF all real ales and real cider.

Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Love this pub, great choice of food, friendly staff, food is fresh and very nice, lovely atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Thank SueC571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCockInn, Owner at Old Cock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive review.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit with us.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were a party of 12 travelling on the canal by barge and booked our table and food choices in advance. We were very pleased with the warm welcome and particularly pleased to be seated on a large square table, ideal for a party such as ours. Whilst being nothing exceptional the food was all nicely presented and of good pub quality. We were pleasantly surprised at the value for money and would return if in the area again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EssexSpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCockInn, Owner at Old Cock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Many thanks for your review and we are very happy to hear that you found us to be good value and that you enjoyed your experience with us.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was quite disappointed when we walked in as it looked lovely and cosy from the outside, 2pm on a Sunday it was very quiet and freezing! There was no fire on despite the snow outside, so we sat in our coats whilst we looked at the menu. It was very uninspiring (there was nothing special about the Specials either - I probably could have cooked them all myself) so we decided to go elsewhere. A good point - fantastic ale. The EPA was absolutely lovely. It's sad that we ended up going to a chain pub as I'd rather support independent places but this other pub was warm and had lovely food. There's the answer!

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
2  Thank PortuFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCockInn, Owner at Old Cock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your review, it is such a shame that your experience was not what you expected, usually we would have the fire on, in fact its been on virtually every day from the start of November till recently, and as you may be able to appreciate, running this is quite expensive, our last batch of fuel/logs all went a week ago and we did hope that we wouldn't need any more, but the good old British weather hey. We do however have the heating on constantly which does warm the building throughout.

We are sorry that you were not inspired by the menu choices, however we believe our menu reflects what the majority of our customers want and is proving very very popular.

So happy that you enjoyed your real ale, we do pride ourselves in good quality real ales and at competitive prices.

I do hope that the problems of a very unseasonable cold day and your choice to not eat with us does not put you off visiting us in the future.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Cock Inn also viewed

Droitwich, Worcestershire
 
Droitwich, Worcestershire
 

Been to Old Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing