We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hadley Bowling Green Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Droitwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Thank you staff”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

You made it all a worthwhile and pleasant trip. Here on business but the place is a delight for anyone. Recently refurbished the rooms are lovely, I had room 1 which must be the biggest, beautiful. Food was excellent and hot too. The staff were tremendous, really attentive and knew their stuff. One bad point the shower over the bath is great but the bath was really narrow and difficult to stand in. £85 for a room for b and b, great value!!

Room Tip: Room 1 is huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessicasarah209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBGManager, General Manager at Hadley Bowling Green Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We at the Hadley are ever so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    104
    25
    3
    7
See reviews for
85
186
8
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for one night and it was absolutely fantastic. We booked through Late Rooms and paid £59 for one night's accommodation including breakfast. As previous reviewers have stated this place has recently been refurbished and is under new management and I can honestly say it is the best room we have ever had including 4 star hotels that we have stayed at where we have paid twice as much. The room was massive and very tastefully decorated. The staff were all very friendly and we had a lovely evening meal in the restaurant which was quite reasonably priced. Our only regret is that we only stayed for one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeallyEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBGManager, General Manager at Hadley Bowling Green Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your positive feed back, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We also do hope that next time you do stay for more than one night. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just spent 2 nights and cannot rate the standard of the accomodation highly enough. It has just been recently refurbished and what a great job they have done. The room was beautifully decorated and spacious with a very large and comfy bed. The pub itself was superb, with a range of quality beers and great food. The staff and Chris, the manager, were all very friendly and helpful.The location, just out of Worcester, was peaceful and quiet but only a short drive away. We will definately be returning but will bring our walking boots next time as there are footpaths all around.
Better than a 5 * hotel !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grenada080211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBGManager, General Manager at Hadley Bowling Green Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
So happy that you got bowled over, when you bring your boots next time, do not forget your compass and map, as there are lots of ields and walk ways to get lost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We've just stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The room was really nice with an extremely comfortable bed. We dined in on the first night and the food and wine was wonderful. Great selection and service at breakfast. A great place to stay just outside Worcester and we were mae to feel very welcome. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelturkey22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBGManager, General Manager at Hadley Bowling Green Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
I am happy you had a great experience, we also look forward to your repeat visit, thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We visited The Bowling Green Inn after hearing an excellent comment from a friend and reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. This is an objective review and so there are both good and critical points. The yardstick on which we base our assessment is derived from a comparison to the best value restaurant in North Worcestershire - The Granary at Shenstone. The Bowling Green Inn has been refurbished and is now under new management. They do things well in that the Inn is very pleasant and well designed, both inside and out. It has a very agreeable ambience. The dining area is excellent and the welcome from all the staff, warm and friendly. However, the attention is a little overbearing at times and members of our group found the patronising comments of "love " at the end of sentences very annoying. When you are in your 60's, the comments can be just over the top. In our opinion, the prices of courses on the menu were rather overinflated and the quality of the cooking was not up to the standard of the Granary. We had a bottle of Chilean Sauvignon Blanc at nearly £15 and it was decidedly of only average quality. The starters were all at nearly £6 each and these were, again, nothing special. A Mackerel Pate had just been removed from the fridge and was rather bland and solid. The toast served with it was much too thin and so brittle it fell apart. Another starter of chicken salad was again only of par quality. In the main courses, the gammon was rather thin and over grilled. It was served with just a few large chips which tasted like the oven variety. There were also a few thin rocket salad leaves. Another meal was basically sausage and mash under a pretentious title while a fish and chips serving was unfinished as the batter was too thick. A fourth main course of Thai curry was, on the other hand, excellent, even if the serving was rather small for the price paid.
So in conclusion, The Bowling Green Inn is a very pleasant place to go to for lunch. The welcome is friendly and the service very good, if patronising at times. Comparing the Inn to the Granary, you would score the Shenston AA Two starred restaurant at 10 out of 10, and the Bowling Green Inn at 7 out of 10. Both places have very similar menus but the deciding factor is the basic quality of cooking. If you were to ask, "Would you recommend a friend to visit the Bowling Green Inn for lunch or dinner", we would say "Yes.". Would we return for another meal ? - the answer is probably "No." In the competition for status among Worcestershire restaurants, little things matter a lot to some diners.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canoldir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBGManager, General Manager at Hadley Bowling Green Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your experience with us. I would like to say we have had an almost entire team turn around and set our standards and service to the next stage. So hopefully if given another chance I am more than sure of being able to convince you, that we have brought the Hadley forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This Hotel has recentley been refurbished by Wadsworth Brewery to a very high standard, whilst keeping rates competitive against other hotels in the area
The Restaurant Menu & Wine list is very good
Staff are eficient, friendly and courteous.

Room Tip: The Superior Rooms as expected are very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesdolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBGManager, General Manager at Hadley Bowling Green Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope of you returning to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This will be my first five blob score and I think that it is totally deserved. I could write reams but I'll stick to the core elements of what made it great for us.

We stayed for one night as an anniversary treat. We got an excellent deal and found the recently renovated bedroom to be large and well appointed. Plenty of towels, lots of hot water and a delivery of fresh milk which was offered by the splendid lady who showed us to our room. Only downside was that we were near to the kitchen extractor so there was some noise, but it went off predictably at around 23:00hrs.

We booked at table in the restaurant and enjoyed three excellent courses of well cooked food. Being a country pub, there was a good selection of real ales on offer too, which I felt it would be rude not to sample. They were great. Wine was also well selected and priced reasonably (although if you want Wetherspoons prices, go to Wetherspoons). Service was excellent from a very young team of waiters and waitresses. It was informal and friendly and in keeping with the character of the place so we were very happy. We paid roughly £60.00 for three courses and a couple of drinks each and for what we had I thought this was good value, the quality of the produce was really good and this had been cooked and not microwaved so you get what you pay for. The following morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the separate breakfast room. It was a bit gluttonous to do so, but it was too good to pass up on.

Summing up, the pub is a gorgeous country retreat set in beautiful countryside but only 10 - 15 minutes outside of Worcester. We found the staff fantastic, the rooms comfortable and the food gorgeous. I'd recommend this place in a heartbeat.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBGManager, General Manager at Hadley Bowling Green Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
I am ever so glad that we were able to make your stay with us complete, and your kind words have been feedback to the staff who are delighted in your comments. Thank you and hopefully see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Droitwich
3.2 mi away
Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre
2.1 mi away
St Andrews Town Hotel
St Andrews Town Hotel
#2 of 4 in Droitwich
466 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Droitwich M5, Jct 5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport on Severn
830 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
4.4 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadley Bowling Green Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadley Bowling Green Inn

Property: Hadley Bowling Green Inn
Address: Hadley Heath, Droitwich WR9 0AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Droitwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Droitwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hadley Bowling Green Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hadley Bowling Green Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadley Bowling Green Hotel Worcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing