We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hadley Bowling Green Inn
Nearby Hotels
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Droitwich(Droitwich)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$74
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Grafton Manor(Bromsgrove)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
529 results
Traveler rating
347
136
32
4
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
347
136
32
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubvaried menuquiet locationbeautiful countrysidegreat place to stayfish and chipsopen firelovely foodsunday lunchwine listgood nights sleepmain coursean evening mealstayed one nightenjoyable stayweekend breakfull english
Filter
Updating list...
497 - 502 of 529 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We visited The Bowling Green Inn after hearing an excellent comment from a friend and reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. This is an objective review and so there are both good and critical points. The yardstick on which we base our assessment is derived from a comparison to the best value restaurant in North Worcestershire - The Granary at Shenstone. The Bowling Green Inn has been refurbished and is now under new management. They do things well in that the Inn is very pleasant and well designed, both inside and out. It has a very agreeable ambience. The dining area is excellent and the welcome from all the staff, warm and friendly. However, the attention is a little overbearing at times and members of our group found the patronising comments of "love " at the end of sentences very annoying. When you are in your 60's, the comments can be just over the top. In our opinion, the prices of courses on the menu were rather overinflated and the quality of the cooking was not up to the standard of the Granary. We had a bottle of Chilean Sauvignon Blanc at nearly £15 and it was decidedly of only average quality. The starters were all at nearly £6 each and these were, again, nothing special. A Mackerel Pate had just been removed from the fridge and was rather bland and solid. The toast served with it was much too thin and so brittle it fell apart. Another starter of chicken salad was again only of par quality. In the main courses, the gammon was rather thin and over grilled. It was served with just a few large chips which tasted like the oven variety. There were also a few thin rocket salad leaves. Another meal was basically sausage and mash under a pretentious title while a fish and chips serving was unfinished as the batter was too thick. A fourth main course of Thai curry was, on the other hand, excellent, even if the serving was rather small for the price paid.
So in conclusion, The Bowling Green Inn is a very pleasant place to go to for lunch. The welcome is friendly and the service very good, if patronising at times. Comparing the Inn to the Granary, you would score the Shenston AA Two starred restaurant at 10 out of 10, and the Bowling Green Inn at 7 out of 10. Both places have very similar menus but the deciding factor is the basic quality of cooking. If you were to ask, "Would you recommend a friend to visit the Bowling Green Inn for lunch or dinner", we would say "Yes.". Would we return for another meal ? - the answer is probably "No." In the competition for status among Worcestershire restaurants, little things matter a lot to some diners.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Canoldir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBGManager, General Manager at Hadley Bowling Green Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for your comments on your experience with us. I would like to say we have had an almost entire team turn around and set our standards and service to the next stage. So hopefully if given another chance I am more than sure of being able to convince you, that we have brought the Hadley forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This Hotel has recentley been refurbished by Wadsworth Brewery to a very high standard, whilst keeping rates competitive against other hotels in the area
The Restaurant Menu & Wine list is very good
Staff are eficient, friendly and courteous.

Room Tip: The Superior Rooms as expected are very large
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesdolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBGManager, General Manager at Hadley Bowling Green Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope of you returning to us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This will be my first five blob score and I think that it is totally deserved. I could write reams but I'll stick to the core elements of what made it great for us.

We stayed for one night as an anniversary treat. We got an excellent deal and found the recently renovated bedroom to be large and well appointed. Plenty of towels, lots of hot water and a delivery of fresh milk which was offered by the splendid lady who showed us to our room. Only downside was that we were near to the kitchen extractor so there was some noise, but it went off predictably at around 23:00hrs.

We booked at table in the restaurant and enjoyed three excellent courses of well cooked food. Being a country pub, there was a good selection of real ales on offer too, which I felt it would be rude not to sample. They were great. Wine was also well selected and priced reasonably (although if you want Wetherspoons prices, go to Wetherspoons). Service was excellent from a very young team of waiters and waitresses. It was informal and friendly and in keeping with the character of the place so we were very happy. We paid roughly £60.00 for three courses and a couple of drinks each and for what we had I thought this was good value, the quality of the produce was really good and this had been cooked and not microwaved so you get what you pay for. The following morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the separate breakfast room. It was a bit gluttonous to do so, but it was too good to pass up on.

Summing up, the pub is a gorgeous country retreat set in beautiful countryside but only 10 - 15 minutes outside of Worcester. We found the staff fantastic, the rooms comfortable and the food gorgeous. I'd recommend this place in a heartbeat.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBGManager, General Manager at Hadley Bowling Green Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

I am ever so glad that we were able to make your stay with us complete, and your kind words have been feedback to the staff who are delighted in your comments. Thank you and hopefully see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My partner and I have been coming to the Hadley bowling green for many years. Since it has re- opened it has been superb. My only disappointment was on the menu for Sunday lunch it stated with roast potatoes but only came with mash, I guess they had ran out in the kitchen, but little things like this, the waiting service should mention when taking order. I know this sounds terribly picky but when you don't like mash potatoe it's disappointing!

However we did return again on Sunday and i had a beef dinner with plenty of roast potatoes, plenty of fresh vege, ten out of ten simply delicious!

Wonderful food, great new decor and dog freindly. We do miss the the play area for the children though!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Fruity123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBGManager, General Manager at Hadley Bowling Green Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

I am glad that we redeemed ourselves on the roast potato front, also there is a rumour that we will be putting a childrens area in, but when i cannot say as such yet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Booked a table for 19 for my hubby's birthday after previously visiting and seeing a table set up for a large group. All starters and main courses came out together and food was cooked to perfection. I could not of asked for any more. (Thank you Donna for all your organisation)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank debbieparish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBGManager, General Manager at Hadley Bowling Green Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

We at the Hadley are ever so glad we managed to make a special day special. See you before the next birthday hopefully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews