We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Woolworth reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Droitwich
durham uk
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Woolworth reunion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed over there last night after a very nice reunion dinner. The hotel is under major refurbishment ,and will be lovely when finished. Even so the service and food were excellent .The staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent, especially the sausages Mmm.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank villan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review of Chateau Impney. We are delighted you enjoyed the reunion event and our staff will be very happy to hear your kind comments.

We are excited about all the refurbishment going on at the Chateau and hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    314
    189
    108
    100
See reviews for
189
442
25
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked the Hotel as part of my Wifes birthday present as we were also going to Chelteham races the next day.
I had used the Hotel previously and found it to be first class, but not on this occasion.
We had booked a room in the Chateau, but on arrival we were informed that these rooms were not availible due to a problem with a bioler.
We were given a suite which was not at all what we wanted and was outside of the main Hotel.
It had two bathrooms which were very old and dated.
One of the tiolets had sioled dirty tiolet tissue in it - vile!!
This was reprted to reception that evening and also in the morning before we left.
A duty manager was supposed to call me, but no one ever has.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were sorry to read your recent review of your stay with us. Our manager Peter was available, per your request to speak with prior to departure and was disappointed that you departed before being able to do so. In speaking with Peter over the phone, we were under the impression that you had gladly accepted the compensation offered and were satisfied with the outcome, however it appears from our staff that you were determined to post a negative review from the start, regardless of all of our efforts to handle the situation.

Kind regards,

Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Droitwich hotels

Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

After dining at Jason's Carvery for many years, I have found it to be slightly disappoining on recent visits. The food is still delicious but the portions have decreased somewhat. Also, the desserts were always brought to your table on a sweet trolley which allowed you to see the desserts before choosing. This feature added something a little different to the meal. The service is brilliant as always and the setting is idyllic. Lovely place for a special meal! Coffee is served in the lounge whilst a pianist plays background music.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallyann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the carvery at Chateau Impney. We have made some changes to the way we serve our desserts, but we have passed your feedback onto our chef and food and beverage manager.

We are delighted you enjoyed the service from our staff as always and look forward to serving you again in the carvery soon.

Kind regards,

Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

When booking for this hotel (at short notice due to a funeral I had to attend in nearby Worcester) the hotels pictures really sold me, the main building looks very impressive and the hotel is set in wonderful grounds however, the lower tier rooms are actually away from the main building and an uphill stroll across the (fairly large) car park in a seperate building.
Truth be told, for the rate I paid (not far off a guest house rate I suppose) I didn't expect much more but I was advised that wifi would be available in this part of the hotel - it was not so ended up burning a fair bit of 3G allowance on email/browsing.

Room decor is basic but pleasant, TV, PowerPoint and a comfortable bed (firm as my preference), ensuite bathroom was well appointed, surfaces were clean, a few cobwebs about but that happens, only concern was the bathroom floor which was carpeted, including the area around the w/c.. less than ideal from a hygiene perspective.

The main building is currently undergoing some TLC, reception area was baron of wall decor but the reception staff were very pleasant and eager to please, clearly very proud of the establishment.

Cooked breakfast carries a £10 surcharge, not unreasonable and for the evenings, the bar rates are very reasonable, living in Brighton I am only too aware of what a spirit & mixer can run to in a hotel bar, here I was pleasantly surprised!

Overall a great hotel, not enough to score a genuine "excellent" across the board (the staff deserved my 5) but I think a spread of 4's is very fair.

Would I stay again? Definitely though I'd probably stump up the extra to stay in the main building.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macdan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Chateau Impney. We were particularly pleased with your score of 5 out of 5 for our staff, who take great pride in working at the Chateau. We do have plans in the works to upgrade all areas of the property and are thrilled that our beautiful new rooms in the Chateau building are now on sale.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

After 34 years of first seeing this hotel,i booked us in.It was a relaxing experience,our room was clean fresh and modern.I stupidly read the reviews and was dreading it!.So please read my review it was so relaxing for us the chateau is just beautiful.We had a meal in the evening and breakfast both were enjoyable.I also bought a fab handbag and necklace set from the display cabinets.We will be returning in the summer,i would imagine with all the trees and flowers in full bloom it will look magical.Thank you for a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Our room was 601,it was just right for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review of Chateau Impney. We are delighted you enjoyed your room, your dining and even a little retail therapy while you were with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon – the Chateau is particularly beautiful when everything is in full bloom.

Kind regards,

Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

When living in the Midlands I passed the hotel on many occaisions and thought what a wonderful building and must stay there sometime. Well 28 years later and now livivng in Surrey I had occaision to stay the weekend at the Chateu. My partner was a little dubious following reading some of the reviews but I insisted that we give it a try.

The hotel, without a doubt, is a magnificent building with a beautiful main staircase leading to the upper floors. We were given a room with 4 poster bed which in the end was too soft for my partner and so the staff kindly moved us to another room grand room. Yes the bathrooms are dated but functional.

The hotel is going through a refurbishment at the time of our stay and we just happen to be a nosey pair and had a look at the work being undertaken. All I can say is I can't wait to stay in one of those refubished rooms - If I can afford it.

Staff couldn't do enough for us - Thankyou.

Tony Colledge

Room Tip: Aske for a refurbished room on the first floor in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TC1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stunning building and grounds and we found the interior quirky and fun. It does need a lot of money spending on it but for sheer atmosphere we loved it. Staff are friendly and helpful, service is good, only took breakfast but it was very good. Rooms are where the money needs to be spent as they are old fashioned which is fine, but a little tired. Bathroom was seventies avocado but clean and fully functioning. Common areas are a litle old fashioned too but we didnt mind, the sheet atmosphere of the place carries it along. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Chateau Impney. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the grandeur of the Chateau and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay in one of our newly renovated rooms very soon.

Kind regards,

Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Droitwich
1.2 mi away
St Andrews Town Hotel
St Andrews Town Hotel
#2 of 4 in Droitwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Droitwich M5, Jct 5
8.1 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
7.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport on Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Crown by Marston's Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre

Property: Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre
Address: Bromsgrove Road, Droitwich WR9 0BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Droitwich
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Droitwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Impney Hotel Droitwich
Chateau Impney Droitwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing